We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mnemba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
andBeyond Mnemba Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Me and my friend stayed on Mnemba Island in September 2017. If I would choose the best beach in the Zanzibar archipelago, I would definitely go for Mnemba. It gives you the privacy, beauty and exclusivity.

The place is unique and the bandas are unique as well. I saw some complains in reviews regarding the birds, that are disturbing in such an open space. But I think people should remember it is a protected area and it is so special not because of its price or luxurious service. It is special beacuse of the nature around. I loved the sound of birds and felt like I was Robinson Crusoe, but in super comfortable conditions.

The food was great, the chef followed all our requests and was very attentive. Don't forget to try local seafood! I even couldn't refuse to taste the dessert, because it had zanzibari cardamom flavour.

I really loved how they made the bandas. They are attached to the tropical forest and it gives you the feeling you are a part of the wild nature. Beds are really comfortable, no one will disturb you. You might not even see your neighbours during your stay. It is not for party people though:)

I would reccommend this property to people who wants to have a real beach escape far from worries and stress.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
2  Thank Lesia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Was it all a dream? The most exceptional, luxurious and amazing place we've ever been to! From the transfer at the airport and the speed boat to the island you are picked up and transported in luxury. When you arrive you need to pinch yourself it's perfect.
You are made to feel so welcome by Andy, Scott and the rest of their team you feel like you are in a bubble of paradise.
The food is exquisite, fresh and so well made. They catered for gluten and dairy intolerance so well and always made sure we had everything we needed (and more!).
They have thought of everything and it's the small details in the rooms and at your huts that set it apart from anywhere else we've been. Photos don't do it justice as you can't replicate just how amazing the place makes you feel!

Big thanks to Sufi in the dive centre who was THE BEST teacher and so fun to be around!
We were also so lucky to see baby turtles hatching TWICE during our visit!

If you ever get the opportunity to go here - YOU MUST. See it to believe it. This place is as close to heaven as you can get.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

I loved the White Island sands and the clear, clean water. It's absolutely amazing. Couples can have lunch table set up for them. I loved the fact that it wasn't full of people and saw dolphins swimming in a pack it was so lovely to see

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank 967kamol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

I forgot to review this place and wasn't offered the month May 2016. It had just reopened after a refurbishment and all I can say is WOW. This must me the epitome of bare foot chic. Just incredible on every level. The rooms. The service. The food. The laying eggs. The snorkeling. Just felt like I had died and gone to heaven.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Glynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

I would like to thank you all the amazing people that makes this amazing and special place so memorable!!!
The Lodge is wonderful, the rooms so beautiful and clean, the food is delicious and the beach speechless!
The attention to details is so perfect! And you have the impression that you are the only guests in the Island! It is perfect for romance!
Just a special thank you to our butler, Patrice and the amazing therapist that did an amazing Massage during our stay!
Hope to see all you soon!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank renata t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mnemba
15.2 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,683 reviews
14.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
5.8 km away
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
#2 of 6 in Matemwe
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
660 reviews
2.8 km away
Sunshine Marine Lodge
Sunshine Marine Lodge
#3 of 6 in Matemwe
188 reviews
32.6 km away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Mnemba Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Mnemba Island

Address: Zanzibar, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Mnemba
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mnemba
Price Range: RM10,373 - RM13,775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Mnemba Island 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AndBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge is an award-winning barefoot beach paradise just off the northeast coast of Zanzibar. Ten beachside bandas overlook the Mnemba atoll (a scuba diver's delight) at this romantic, private hideaway. From snorkelling, swimming and kayaking to massages on the beach and simply doing nothing at all, andBeyond Mnemba has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mnemba Island Hotel Mnemba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing