We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rodos Star Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Georgia Apartments(Afandou)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villa Olive Grove(Afandou)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karmik Concept Pension(Afandou)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Golden Days Hotel(Afandou)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$72
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes(Afandou)(Great Value!)
US$298
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$311
US$265
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,129)
Filter reviews
1,129 results
Traveller rating
583
309
141
52
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
309
141
52
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillair congreek nightold blockpool barnext yearbrother and sistergyrostake your timerhodes townmain bargreat holidaythe hotel shophotel ownercleaning ladiesa family run hotelboat trip to lindos
Filter
Updating list...
546 - 551 of 1,129 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2014

We came back last week after spending a week at this peaceful hotel. This is a small family run hotel and if you want to stay away from the usual holiday crowds, this is the place to be. It was mainly grown ups during our stay not to mention that it was school time so this probably helped. The service was good and all the staff were very kind who would do anything to ensure your holiday is enjoyable and this rubbed off on most guests. Don't want to sound like a character in "little Britain" saying he was the only gay in the village but we were the only blacks during our stay and were made to feel very welcome. Nick at the bar will crack you up with funny jokes and the atmosphere is great all around. Regarding the Mosquitos all we did was closing the doors and windows before 6pm and I can confirm was not attacked by any Mosquitos in our room.
The trips were nice and the hilly walk was our daily and only exercise which one needed after all the good food from the lovely young chef.
Will definitely return.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in 212 facing the hills off Afanduo. Nice views
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2014

From reading previous reviews on this hotel, we did our research so we sort of knew what to expect. Was a little apprehensive on arrival as it was late but as soon as we arrived and shown our room, I wasn't disappointed. We managed to get a nice drink in the bar and speak to some other people and found out about nearby places.
The next morning the views were lovely from our room on the second floor, went down for breakfast where there were lots of choices and the staff were happy and helpful. We were greeted by Mos who runs the hotel and advised us trips etc.
The pool was nice and clean, bit cold but once you were in it was ok. There was always plenty of sun beds.
The food was good at all mealtimes, plenty of choices and the waitresses Mimi and Demi worked very hard, as did all the staff within the hotel. The cleaners made our beds and we had clean towels everyday.
The Greek night was very good and also had singers another night, the rest of the week we enjoyed drinks and laughs with the other people we made friends with.
We walked down the steep hill to Afandou village which took about ten minutes and it was a lovely little Greek village and we made regular visits throughout the week. The bus stop is in the village and cheap to visit nearby places.
With the reviews we read we knew about the steep hill everyone was going on about.....yes it is very steep but walkable if you are fit, we did it a few times no problems.
It is a 3 star hotel so you get what you pay for but we had no complaints.
We had a fab holiday and met some lovely people over the week and would definitely return to the Rodos Star Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Vanessa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2014

Yes it has got a steep hill but that's the point of trip advisor you know about it before you go ,we went up and down it so many times and had no trouble and knowing there was a ice cold all inclusive lager waiting for us got us up there.
what we loved about the rodos star hotel is its a small family run hotel it's amazing what they do with such a small team ,and they are friendly and eager to help at all times.especially mimi the waitress .i have heard some reviews saying it's not so good but what do you expect for the price you pay for this holiday it's 3 star not 5 go to a massive impersonal hotel instead .highlight of the holiday was the Greek night on the Friday we was there ,and our little trips down to afandou the lovely little friendly village,and a boat trip to beautiful Lindos.all in all we would definitely go again to rodos star

Room Tip: Don't miss the Greek night
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greatyar69danno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2014

this is the first time I have ever criticised a hotel.i have been going to Greece for 25years.this hotel was very poor.the bathroom was filthy,i had no hot water for 5days with which they fobbed me off with anything they could think of.i found dirty towels under the bed from the last occupants.the taps in the bathroom were also filthy and the bed linen had not been changed the whole time I was there.when we arrived there was nothing to offer us in the line of snacks so we had to buy some pringles because we were so hungry when we arrived.there was very basic drinks on offer and no icecreams on offer even to sell.this is not really an all iclusive hotel and it is run on a shoestring.i have been to Rhodes 3times and all so I,ve been to many other islands and all to mainland Greece so I know what to expect,but this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.avoid like the plague

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
16  Thank Alison Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2014

I suppose the Rodos Star is a little like Marmite. You either love it or hate it (as can be seen in some of the other reviews). Fortunately like the vast majority of people here, we loved it.
Sure it is not the most luxurious hotel in the world (to be honest at the price we paid for our weeks holiday it was a lot better than I expected) and it is a little ragged around the edges and has a few silly rules about drinks and it is on a hill, but I prefer to see these minor things as charms that add to it's unique character and quirkiness. If it wasn't on a hill, for example, you would not get the superb views across the bay or the fabulous sunsets over the mountains. If it wasn't for the rules you would not get to cross swords with the indomitable Nick behind the bar or get the entertainment of watching others try (he is lovely really, honest).
The hotel is exactly what Moskoula or Mos as she prefers, the joint owner, will tell you, a family run Greek hotel. These means you are guaranteed a very warm welcome, you will be treated like one of the family, the place will be spotlessly clean, but, as this is Greece a country to which I am no stranger, you will notice some certain quirkiness or charm or niggles or whatever you want to call them. How you reconcile these two certainties is up to you. Personally I suggest you just relax, kick back and go with the flow in true Greek style and you will be rewarded by a lovely stay.
The food was good, maybe not lots of variety, but certainly edible (especially the Chinese Sweet and Sour Pork and the Souvalaki wraps) and it is cooked fresh. The drinks had the desired effect and the Greek night was very memorable (even I danced, now that is a rarity), especially at the end when we all danced with Mos, her dad, her brother (the other owner) and other members of the family.
As for the town of Afandou it is lovely. Don't expect a tourist town, full of burger joints and tacky souvenir shops. Afandou is a working Greek village and if you venture down to the main square, expect to see more locals than tourists. Oh and expect to say morning or Kalimera, to virtually everyone you meet. I can recommend the cafes in the main square, especially Mikes Cocktail Bar (the one with the orange chairs) on a Sunday afternoon. Although the beach is a 30 minute walk from the hotel, do try and get down at least once during your stay, as it is clean and the sea very swimmable in (don't forget the waiter shoes as it is pebbly as you go in). The little white bar just before you go onto the beach is a great place to chill and enjoy the view.
If you get itchy feet then the bus from Afandou to Rhodes Town is very convenient and Rhodes town well worth a visit. Also try Lindos, either by bus or ask Mos to book you on the boat trip from Kolymbia. Lindos is a must.
Well that is all I have to say. If you do decide to give the Rodos Star a try I hope you have a great stay, just as we did (September 13th to 20th 2014).

Room Tip: Just relax and enjoy yourselves. I can recommend a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor if you want to enjoy the views.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martintravels9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews