We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem of a hotel!”
Review of Rodos Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodos Star Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2014 via mobile

This is family run hotel and all the staff make you feel very welcome from the bar/waitress staff to the reception staff, all made the effort to say hello and greet you with a smile.
The food was nice, especially the homemade pancakes at breakfast. There was always something for everyone.
The rooms were basic but cleaned everyday with fresh towels left.
The pool area always looked clean and there was always plenty of sun loungers.
The only down side is the steep hill the hotel is on. It is very steep!
It's a great little family run hotel, where you can relax and enjoy the peace and quite.
I would defo return to this hotel in the future, as for the money you pay it is a little gem of a hotel :-)

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jazz108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,012)
There are newer reviews for Rodos Star Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 432 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2014

A Fantastic all inclusive family run Hotel and it is a family run Hotel how they do it I don't Know
the two waitresses seem to be every where the cook and I think his wife run the Kitchen one bar man Nick goes non stop and they still manage to have someone at reception all the time.
And every one is smiling and friendly all the time.
The food was perfect The cook makes these Pastry dishes all the time one day Vegetable and cheese anther meat and potato you can tell they are all home made.
They have a couple of special nights one a Greek night with just two Musicians they are fantastic.
About the Hill Yes it is very steep the tip is especially retuning DONT RUSH and take tiny STEPs even my wife's Dad who is in his 80s walked it. There are a lot of hill in this area I do loads of walking I didn't have trouble at all Just remember use the baby steps and you wont even get breathless.
Sad to say the town at the bottom of the hill is not terribly exciting in fact it could do with a bit of cleaning up not many shops either you will have to go to Rhodes city for that.
They also run a Road train from the town down to the beach which is really cheap.
The Hotel will organise trips Taxis etc. just ask.
There is also a good little shop by reception they seem to have most things you may need you just pay at reception.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BabaPlymouthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

We came back last week after spending a week at this peaceful hotel. This is a small family run hotel and if you want to stay away from the usual holiday crowds, this is the place to be. It was mainly grown ups during our stay not to mention that it was school time so this probably helped. The service was good and all the staff were very kind who would do anything to ensure your holiday is enjoyable and this rubbed off on most guests. Don't want to sound like a character in "little Britain" saying he was the only gay in the village but we were the only blacks during our stay and were made to feel very welcome. Nick at the bar will crack you up with funny jokes and the atmosphere is great all around. Regarding the Mosquitos all we did was closing the doors and windows before 6pm and I can confirm was not attacked by any Mosquitos in our room.
The trips were nice and the hilly walk was our daily and only exercise which one needed after all the good food from the lovely young chef.
Will definitely return.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in 212 facing the hills off Afanduo. Nice views
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2014

From reading previous reviews on this hotel, we did our research so we sort of knew what to expect. Was a little apprehensive on arrival as it was late but as soon as we arrived and shown our room, I wasn't disappointed. We managed to get a nice drink in the bar and speak to some other people and found out about nearby places.
The next morning the views were lovely from our room on the second floor, went down for breakfast where there were lots of choices and the staff were happy and helpful. We were greeted by Mos who runs the hotel and advised us trips etc.
The pool was nice and clean, bit cold but once you were in it was ok. There was always plenty of sun beds.
The food was good at all mealtimes, plenty of choices and the waitresses Mimi and Demi worked very hard, as did all the staff within the hotel. The cleaners made our beds and we had clean towels everyday.
The Greek night was very good and also had singers another night, the rest of the week we enjoyed drinks and laughs with the other people we made friends with.
We walked down the steep hill to Afandou village which took about ten minutes and it was a lovely little Greek village and we made regular visits throughout the week. The bus stop is in the village and cheap to visit nearby places.
With the reviews we read we knew about the steep hill everyone was going on about.....yes it is very steep but walkable if you are fit, we did it a few times no problems.
It is a 3 star hotel so you get what you pay for but we had no complaints.
We had a fab holiday and met some lovely people over the week and would definitely return to the Rodos Star Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Vanessa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2014

Yes it has got a steep hill but that's the point of trip advisor you know about it before you go ,we went up and down it so many times and had no trouble and knowing there was a ice cold all inclusive lager waiting for us got us up there.
what we loved about the rodos star hotel is its a small family run hotel it's amazing what they do with such a small team ,and they are friendly and eager to help at all times.especially mimi the waitress .i have heard some reviews saying it's not so good but what do you expect for the price you pay for this holiday it's 3 star not 5 go to a massive impersonal hotel instead .highlight of the holiday was the Greek night on the Friday we was there ,and our little trips down to afandou the lovely little friendly village,and a boat trip to beautiful Lindos.all in all we would definitely go again to rodos star

Room Tip: Don't miss the Greek night
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greatyar69danno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
1.4 km away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
4.5 km away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
1.3 km away
Rodos Blue Resort
Rodos Blue Resort
#10 of 18 in Afandou
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes
47.6 km away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.3 km away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodos Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodos Star Hotel

Address: Lindos Rhodes, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Afandou
#3 Family Hotel in Afandou
Price Range: RM1,065 - RM1,639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodos Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Rodos Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodos Star Afandou
Hotel Rodos Star
Rodos Star Hotel Afandou, Greece - Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing