We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Georgia Apartments(Afandou)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karmik Concept Pension(Afandou)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Days Hotel(Afandou)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iris Hotel(Afandou)
US$107
US$67
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes(Afandou)(Great Value!)
US$291
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$304
US$265
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,207)
Filter reviews
1,207 results
Traveller rating
642
315
149
55
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
642
315
149
55
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillgreek nightpool barnext yearair conbrother and sisterold blocktake your timerhodes towngreat holidaygyrosmain barhotel ownercleaning ladiessmall hotelboat trip to lindosall inclusive drinks
Filter
Updating list...
621 - 626 of 1,207 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2014 via mobile

On reading reviews on here we thought we had found a gem. Not sure if we had gone at the wrong time of year but we had mixed feelings about the hotel. It seemed an inconvenience we were there, staff were tired, some talked others ignorant. Food was ok, but seemed they were emptying freezers out. Rooms seamed nice till you opened bathroom door ( which was easy as door never fitted right and did not lock ). It was disgusting, drains stank, not clean, no sealant round anything, toilet seat to small for it. Brochure from Olympic was a bit misleading, 15 minute walk to the beach, er no, all inclusive - only at certain times. Did we approach the staff about some of the issues yes, to get an answer of ' we only get 11 euros per person per day what more do you expect, let me think a cup of tea when I'd like. Did we complain to rep, ha what rep, an answer phone service.
We did get told the hotel is getting a make over but to be honest we will not be seeing it. Nor will I recommend this to anyone.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Stu g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2014 via mobile

This is family run hotel and all the staff make you feel very welcome from the bar/waitress staff to the reception staff, all made the effort to say hello and greet you with a smile.
The food was nice, especially the homemade pancakes at breakfast. There was always something for everyone.
The rooms were basic but cleaned everyday with fresh towels left.
The pool area always looked clean and there was always plenty of sun loungers.
The only down side is the steep hill the hotel is on. It is very steep!
It's a great little family run hotel, where you can relax and enjoy the peace and quite.
I would defo return to this hotel in the future, as for the money you pay it is a little gem of a hotel :-)

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jazz108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2014

A Fantastic all inclusive family run Hotel and it is a family run Hotel how they do it I don't Know
the two waitresses seem to be every where the cook and I think his wife run the Kitchen one bar man Nick goes non stop and they still manage to have someone at reception all the time.
And every one is smiling and friendly all the time.
The food was perfect The cook makes these Pastry dishes all the time one day Vegetable and cheese anther meat and potato you can tell they are all home made.
They have a couple of special nights one a Greek night with just two Musicians they are fantastic.
About the Hill Yes it is very steep the tip is especially retuning DONT RUSH and take tiny STEPs even my wife's Dad who is in his 80s walked it. There are a lot of hill in this area I do loads of walking I didn't have trouble at all Just remember use the baby steps and you wont even get breathless.
Sad to say the town at the bottom of the hill is not terribly exciting in fact it could do with a bit of cleaning up not many shops either you will have to go to Rhodes city for that.
They also run a Road train from the town down to the beach which is really cheap.
The Hotel will organise trips Taxis etc. just ask.
There is also a good little shop by reception they seem to have most things you may need you just pay at reception.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BabaPlymouthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

We came back last week after spending a week at this peaceful hotel. This is a small family run hotel and if you want to stay away from the usual holiday crowds, this is the place to be. It was mainly grown ups during our stay not to mention that it was school time so this probably helped. The service was good and all the staff were very kind who would do anything to ensure your holiday is enjoyable and this rubbed off on most guests. Don't want to sound like a character in "little Britain" saying he was the only gay in the village but we were the only blacks during our stay and were made to feel very welcome. Nick at the bar will crack you up with funny jokes and the atmosphere is great all around. Regarding the Mosquitos all we did was closing the doors and windows before 6pm and I can confirm was not attacked by any Mosquitos in our room.
The trips were nice and the hilly walk was our daily and only exercise which one needed after all the good food from the lovely young chef.
Will definitely return.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in 212 facing the hills off Afanduo. Nice views
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2014

From reading previous reviews on this hotel, we did our research so we sort of knew what to expect. Was a little apprehensive on arrival as it was late but as soon as we arrived and shown our room, I wasn't disappointed. We managed to get a nice drink in the bar and speak to some other people and found out about nearby places.
The next morning the views were lovely from our room on the second floor, went down for breakfast where there were lots of choices and the staff were happy and helpful. We were greeted by Mos who runs the hotel and advised us trips etc.
The pool was nice and clean, bit cold but once you were in it was ok. There was always plenty of sun beds.
The food was good at all mealtimes, plenty of choices and the waitresses Mimi and Demi worked very hard, as did all the staff within the hotel. The cleaners made our beds and we had clean towels everyday.
The Greek night was very good and also had singers another night, the rest of the week we enjoyed drinks and laughs with the other people we made friends with.
We walked down the steep hill to Afandou village which took about ten minutes and it was a lovely little Greek village and we made regular visits throughout the week. The bus stop is in the village and cheap to visit nearby places.
With the reviews we read we knew about the steep hill everyone was going on about.....yes it is very steep but walkable if you are fit, we did it a few times no problems.
It is a 3 star hotel so you get what you pay for but we had no complaints.
We had a fab holiday and met some lovely people over the week and would definitely return to the Rodos Star Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Vanessa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews