We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the time we were there”
Review of Rodos Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodos Star Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2014

We liked staying at this hotel, yes it definately needs updating, cleaning and a lot of TLC, new towels needed, bathrooms need replacing, patio doors need cleaning, generally the cleaners need a kick up the!!!!, the floors were not cleaned either.

The food was great though we were there for 14 days and dont think we had the same soup or meals twice, and they were all lovely, bit too salty especially the soup, but then that is the Greek way. In the restaurant, they need to put more cutlery on your table for butter, soups, deserts etc, as you forget to take them from the main table and have to keep going back for them.

This is not like your normal all inclusive, there are only certain times for this, ie bar closed at 5pm and not open again till 7pm, no free ice creams etc. We took our own little kettle tea bags, and coffee so restricted times were not a problem to us.

We stayed on the 2nd floor room 306 and when we arrived there was no bracket to fix the shower on the wall, next morning we spoke to Mos and this was sorted out the next day.

Yes the hill is a climb (we were told taxies situated across from the bus stop in a little wooden hut charge between 5 to 7 euros to take you up) but if you take it steady and try walking backwards for a few steps this relieves you legs for a moment or two, especially the steepest part passing the Scala appartments, but the view was lovely once you were at the top, one night from our balcony we saw fireworks in the distance and was even serenaded by Karaoke from the town below. Yes Afandou is very run down, lots of shops closed but you could always buy what you needed from the supermarket. You must call into the little pink cake shop, all sorts of cakes, baclarva, chocolate etc. don't forget you will lose the calories walking up the hill.

You could catch the bus to Rhodes, Faliraki, Lindos and most beaches, but beware to arrive at the bus stop early to be first on as there is usually standing room only, tip keep you bus ticket in case the ticket inspector comes on. 3.20 euros to Lindos and 2.20 to Rhodes. I would hate to go in the busy season, they definately need more buses put on.

When you arrive in Rhodes best to go the to Tourist Information by the old town and harbour and get a street map, another tip if you do not go to the toilets in a cafe, there is a 50cent charge to use the main toilets scattered around.

Don't try and take any shortcut to the beach they don't save any time just keep on the main road, call at the little white cafe for a drink as well. Those of you who like walking take a left at that cafe and keep going till you pass the golf course, head towards the main dual carriagway, passing the old large complex and swimming pool built by the americans which is just desolate, such a shame. If you would like to go on a Jeep tour, Bumpy Rhodes Jeep Safari were great, we contacted them via email and phone, and they picked us up at the Bus stop, another fantastic day out, this tour is not done by hotel or rep at the hotel. Definatley do the boat trip to Lindos through the hotel another lovely day out.

On our last morning all the power went out all over the island, but we still were served with a full breakfast, they did a fantastic job, very well done to you all.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor, room 306 and sun disappeared from the balcony around 5pm, fantastic view o...
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Jan0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
There are newer reviews for Rodos Star Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 427 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2014 via mobile

On reading reviews on here we thought we had found a gem. Not sure if we had gone at the wrong time of year but we had mixed feelings about the hotel. It seemed an inconvenience we were there, staff were tired, some talked others ignorant. Food was ok, but seemed they were emptying freezers out. Rooms seamed nice till you opened bathroom door ( which was easy as door never fitted right and did not lock ). It was disgusting, drains stank, not clean, no sealant round anything, toilet seat to small for it. Brochure from Olympic was a bit misleading, 15 minute walk to the beach, er no, all inclusive - only at certain times. Did we approach the staff about some of the issues yes, to get an answer of ' we only get 11 euros per person per day what more do you expect, let me think a cup of tea when I'd like. Did we complain to rep, ha what rep, an answer phone service.
We did get told the hotel is getting a make over but to be honest we will not be seeing it. Nor will I recommend this to anyone.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Stu g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2014 via mobile

This is family run hotel and all the staff make you feel very welcome from the bar/waitress staff to the reception staff, all made the effort to say hello and greet you with a smile.
The food was nice, especially the homemade pancakes at breakfast. There was always something for everyone.
The rooms were basic but cleaned everyday with fresh towels left.
The pool area always looked clean and there was always plenty of sun loungers.
The only down side is the steep hill the hotel is on. It is very steep!
It's a great little family run hotel, where you can relax and enjoy the peace and quite.
I would defo return to this hotel in the future, as for the money you pay it is a little gem of a hotel :-)

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jazz108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2014

A Fantastic all inclusive family run Hotel and it is a family run Hotel how they do it I don't Know
the two waitresses seem to be every where the cook and I think his wife run the Kitchen one bar man Nick goes non stop and they still manage to have someone at reception all the time.
And every one is smiling and friendly all the time.
The food was perfect The cook makes these Pastry dishes all the time one day Vegetable and cheese anther meat and potato you can tell they are all home made.
They have a couple of special nights one a Greek night with just two Musicians they are fantastic.
About the Hill Yes it is very steep the tip is especially retuning DONT RUSH and take tiny STEPs even my wife's Dad who is in his 80s walked it. There are a lot of hill in this area I do loads of walking I didn't have trouble at all Just remember use the baby steps and you wont even get breathless.
Sad to say the town at the bottom of the hill is not terribly exciting in fact it could do with a bit of cleaning up not many shops either you will have to go to Rhodes city for that.
They also run a Road train from the town down to the beach which is really cheap.
The Hotel will organise trips Taxis etc. just ask.
There is also a good little shop by reception they seem to have most things you may need you just pay at reception.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BabaPlymouthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

We came back last week after spending a week at this peaceful hotel. This is a small family run hotel and if you want to stay away from the usual holiday crowds, this is the place to be. It was mainly grown ups during our stay not to mention that it was school time so this probably helped. The service was good and all the staff were very kind who would do anything to ensure your holiday is enjoyable and this rubbed off on most guests. Don't want to sound like a character in "little Britain" saying he was the only gay in the village but we were the only blacks during our stay and were made to feel very welcome. Nick at the bar will crack you up with funny jokes and the atmosphere is great all around. Regarding the Mosquitos all we did was closing the doors and windows before 6pm and I can confirm was not attacked by any Mosquitos in our room.
The trips were nice and the hilly walk was our daily and only exercise which one needed after all the good food from the lovely young chef.
Will definitely return.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in 212 facing the hills off Afanduo. Nice views
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
1.4 km away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
4.5 km away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
1.3 km away
Rodos Blue Resort
Rodos Blue Resort
#10 of 18 in Afandou
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes
47.6 km away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.3 km away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodos Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodos Star Hotel

Address: Lindos Rhodes, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Afandou
#3 Family Hotel in Afandou
Price Range: RM1,056 - RM1,659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodos Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Rodos Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodos Star Afandou
Hotel Rodos Star
Rodos Star Hotel Afandou, Greece - Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing