We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BOOK WITH CAUTION!”
Review of Rodos Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodos Star Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Stayed here for 10 days with my partner. Hotel was lovely and clean and as other reviews have said the owners were very friendly. Unfortunately that is where the positives stop! The drinks were watered down to the point there wasn't any alcohol in them. Then at 11pm alcohol was served if you wanted to pay very inflated prices despite being an all inclusive hotel. Before 11pm there was only one barman serving even though hotel was full meaning huge queues and long waiting times, assumably a ploy by the owner to reduce consumption! Food was OK but a tad repetitive. Many older guests had been misled about the gradient of the hill resulting in them becoming stranded in the hotel or completely reliant on taxis. We had such high hopes for this hotel having read other reviews unfortunately felt completely let down! BOOK WITH CAUTION!!!

Room Tip: Beware the hill if you are neither young or extremely fit!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Vth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
There are newer reviews for Rodos Star Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

I think most people who stay here all have great things to say about the owners and staff and they are all correct. Having doubled the size of the hotel though it is now cramped in the outside seating areas no air conditioning in the bar to speak of and yes be up for 0700 to get a sunbed. In all though a jewel of a place.ypu must try the taverna Flora picked up from hotel and driven back was a delightful real meal. Many thanks to all the staff.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I were looking for a wee last minute, reasonably priced holiday and found a deal with Thomson holidays for an all inclusive week at Rodos Star. I checked out the reviews which were good so decided to book. We arrived at 11pm at night and what a warm welcome we got, we were told that although the all inclusive had finished if we wished to come back down to the bar there would be a complimentary drink for us. We then when to our room and it was lovely (it's a brand new building). The room was spotless and the bed amazingly comfortable, the air con is free in August and worked brilliantly. The maid came in every day to clean and leave fresh towels. The next day we went for breakfast and found the food to be really nice, in fact we ate every meal at the hotel because we just loved the food, even though we had intended to go out for dinner a couple of nights. The hotel is set at the top of a steep hill but we knew that from the reviews and we are both fit enough. We walked down to the little village a few times and didn't find the hill to be that bad.
The pool area was great and the pool snack bar Served toasties and the most addictive pizza ever. As with most hotels there was the usual issue with people reserving loungers with towels, the owner did address this while we were there and asked people not to put towels down before 8am, although we never had an issue getting loungers the whole time we were there. The pool bar man Jordan is lovely and works really hard and the 3 girls who work very very hard in the dining room are just delightful. This is a family run hotel and everyone of the family work incredibly hard to make sure that you have a lovely holiday, especially Muas and her niece (who is just one of the loveliest people I've ever met) Tasaus and Nicos were also very friendly. But one of the highlights of the holiday was Greek night when we had the pleasure of seeing Nicos Snr doing the fire dance, what a nice man.
We had a fabulous holiday but if I was to criticise anything it would be the drinks on the all inclusive, the spirits with a mixer were very weak and the soft drinks were quite flat and syrupy, the wine and beer was ok though. However this didn't really bother us as we felt that what we got for what we paid was really good value for money. We solved this by going to the wee shop across from reception and buying a couple of cans of Diet Coke(€1each) to have with our dinner and then just stuck to the wine and beer.
The only thing we didn't enjoy about our holiday was the airport at Rhodes on our homeward journey, it is chaotic and very badly organised, also the food we bought at the airport was rotten and extortionate, so if like us your transfer is picking you up just before dinner time then try and buy something to eat before you go to the airport and brace yourself for lots of queuing.
If you are thinking of booking this hotel I'd say go for it and have a great holiday.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank lynnthepin2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed from the 2nd august to 9th august. I couldn't fault this hotel it was perfect. It was a beautiful family owned hotel. This was our first holiday alone together. The staff were so hard working and made out holiday. As a young couple the staff were so helpful, moss helped us book too fantastic trips to a water park and also a boat trip to lindos. I would highly recommend you go on this trip.
The food I couldn't fault there was something for everyone no matter what food you like. We are both fussy eaters but we still had full bellys at the end of every meal.
The cleaning staff left the rooms spotless. They came around our room about 10 but we were still asleep so they woke us up by accident but they came back round to clean the room when they knew we had left our room.
We had room 502 one of the newer rooms, it was beautiful and spacious.
We've both decided we'd 100% come back to visit. This hotel shouldn't be a 3 star it should be 4 star.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel is a hidden gem you couldn't fault anything really the food was hot + well cooked at all times. Staff was very helpful.The grounds were kept clean and tidy our room was in the new part of the hotel overlooking the mountains and village below .Must mention Mosh she is very very helpfull. I think the secret is its a family owned + run we will be going back x

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
4  Thank Kath T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
1.4 km away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
4.5 km away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
1.3 km away
Rodos Blue Resort
Rodos Blue Resort
#10 of 18 in Afandou
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes
47.6 km away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.3 km away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodos Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodos Star Hotel

Address: Lindos Rhodes, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Afandou
#3 Family Hotel in Afandou
Price Range: RM1,052 - RM2,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodos Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Rodos Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodos Star Afandou
Hotel Rodos Star
Rodos Star Hotel Afandou, Greece - Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing