We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rodos Star Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes(Afandou)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$61
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
US$154
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Iris Hotel(Afandou)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,070)
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveller rating
549
297
135
49
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
549
297
135
49
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillgreek nightpool barnext yearair conbrother and sisterold blockrhodes townmain bargreat holidayhotel ownercleaning ladiesboat trip to lindosgyrossmall hoteltoastiessmall shop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,070 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

This was our 2nd trip here.. we went the first time before the expansion ..staff remembered us, which was lovely. This hotel is 3 star.. I've been to far worse 3 star.. foods good and I'm fussy. The pool isn't as good as the old one and while we were there several people slipped on the steps.. hope this has been sorted out . The hill... it's steep.. stop moaning about it , if you can't do cardio, go somewhere else.. same as beds.. want a good bed.. get up and get one. We go away 3 times a year.. we like an expensive holiday and then 2 cheaper getaways and this fits our budget.. cheap.. happy and warm.. see you in September 2018

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
11  Thank Diva012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

I visited this hotel last year with family and we had a lovely time. The food was what you would expect from an all inclusive menu, slightly repetitive but there was always plenty to choose from. The staff were amazing - so accommodating and friendly. The bar does get a little busy, but was not a problem as it is understandable when there is only one bar man. Most of the reviews on here mention the hill - yes, it is steep. However, it is not impossible to walk up it and there are taxis available that will take you from the town directly to the hotel. Don't let this put you off!!!!
Rodos Star is a lovely, family run Greek hotel and Rhodes is a beautiful Island. I enjoyed my stay here so much that I have just booked again to go in July!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank holidayreview150321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel 10 years ago and looked forward to a return visit. There were some changes to the hotel but the hill remains the same, steep!! We were greeted by the owner and were lucky enough to stay in the new block which was really nice. The pool had been relocated and looked good. We looked at some rooms in the old block and they appeared a bit dated. The hotel was very good value for money although the dining area looked as though it was due for a refurb. The village of Afandou is a little out of the way but there was a good bus service to most areas on the island.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank alison e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed at rodos star in September 2017 for one week. Overall we enjoyed our stay and were aware of it's location before we arrived - thus we cannot complain there.

However what we do wish to complain about is how we asked the hotel manager/owner about getting tickets to the waterpark (you know, one of the biggest ones in Europe(!). This was sorted for us and we were told to collect our tickets from another hotel Sun Palace (being tourists we thought this a bit odd but went along with it anyway).

So we get to the hotel the next day to pick up our tickets and got given a receipt and were told they were our tickets. We asked where the waterpark actually is from there and the woman behind the till looked at us in a somewhat dumbfounded way and said "it's out there about a 5 minute walk away".

Off we went to find this "waterpark" and we were greeted with the most pathetic sight of about two slides and a wave machine!! We went back to the hotel reception at Sun Palace and explained there had been a mistake and our hotel had booked the wrong "waterpark" tickets for us (which bearing in mind cost us €44)!

We requested a refund as we appeared no more than 5 minutes later after this ticket had been printed and were greeted with an unfriendly lady who told us that a refund would not be possible. This was particularly upsetting as they had left us with barely any spending money left for the last day of our holiday - meaning we had to draw more out.

It baffles me how rodos thought we meant tickets for that pathetic place, when like I said - Rhodes is home to one of Europe's biggest waterparks!!! It put such a downer to the end of our holiday and has put us off ever returning to rodos star.

The only positive thing about that incident is rodos refunded us for the €15 deposit we paid. Although we did not appreciate being robbed the other €30. So if you're looking for an average budget place to stay with decent enough food and in an isolated location - book rodos star - just sort waterpark tickets out yourself!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank UnicornSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

we visited the rodos star in september just gone.
i actually thought it was better than it was portrayed in the photos and reviews.
first of all the hill is not that bad yes it’s a bit steep but take your time and you get there.
the hotel room was nice and comfortable
me and my gf stayed in the old block but it had a sea view great shower and was clean and tidy.
the pool area was great lots of beds
be it you have to get down by 8ish at the latest.
there was a few selfish people who put stuff on the beds near them to ensure they had 4 beds when they only needed 2.
there was a previous review from a couple
who could not say any right or good ignore it as there claim to be on exotic holidays only ever 5 star cannot be believed.
well hey this is a 3 star.
there was nice snacks around the pool area
and lunch and evenings meals there was always a choice.
the bbq meant a great favourite.
coffee with the sun over the sea fantastic.
the only things i would change is the food being hotter you just have to get lucky with that.
and also pints instead of half pints it would save the waiting and be easy for the barman.
moss was really friendly always trying her best to help.
it felt like being part of a family.
all in all it was relaxing and very nice
ideally located for visiting other parts of the island.
we have booked for next year and we will see others who also booked again.
rhodes is a great holiday place.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews