We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Again a lovely walk

Good rough path. Along the coast, but not flat, rather it goes up and down a lot. Southern part... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
einarse
,
Bodo, Norway
via mobile
Still amazing

This is the third time that we walk the Fortina Coastal Walk (Sentiero dei Fortini Borbonici) and... read more

Reviewed 19 October 2018
GothenburgProfessor
,
Gothenburg
Read all 166 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Anacapri
from US$168.00
More Info
from US$154.10
More Info
from US$79.90
More Info
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
145
17
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
17
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flora and fauna ups and downs bring water great walk nice swim trail starts sun screen the bus faro lighthouse marked trail blue grotto offers great views flip flops grotta azzurra your eyes scared of heights capri town
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2018

You truly can see forever!
Wear comfortable shoes, it’s quite a treck but worth every step.
We started at the lighthouse and walked toward the Grotto Azzurra, easy to pace yourself and you need to do that so you can drink in the views. You will never forget them!!!!

Date of experience: October 2017
4  Thank Retiredrn365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

We completed this walk in about 2.5 hrs starting at the lighthouse and going to the Blue Grotto.
We loved the variety of the scenery and the spectacular views. It is a great way to get a feel for the west side of the island.
We downloaded the free Avenza map of Capri prior to starting (we do this for all our hiking around the world) as it shows us offline where we are on the map of the area. A couple of times we weren't sure if we were on the right track but with this map it was quickly confirmed or rectified.
We ended with a rowboat ride into the Blue Grotto which we accessed from the road side.

Date of experience: October 2017
4  Thank 36Mega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Quite long walk. Beautiful views and interesting with the old castellos. Bring your best shoes and a lot of sun screen. We were drenched in sweat when we arrived at Faro so bring swimwear so you can have a dip.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

We took note of previous reviews and started our walk from the Faro Lighthouse end, walking toward Grotto Azzurra. We started the walk a little late around 10am. The sun was shining and warm. We took plenty of water.

As with previous reviewers I agree that the path is a little rocky and narrow in some parts. It has lots of ups and downs with staircases and very little rails. Despite this at no time did I feel unsafe. My husband and I are in our mid 50's with reasonable fitness and we walked this track very comfortably.

The plaques along the path are informative and we used our map and these plaques to guide us and we found our way easily.

We did the walk in an hour and 20 minutes, but I fess up that this was because on commencing our walk we checked with the bus driver to confirm the start of the path. Due to our poor Italian I think our bus driver was concerned so told us to jump in the bus & he would take us. This resulted in him dropping us up the hill.

In hindsight we feel we missed a bit of the path and realised that where we thought the start of the path was near the bus stop in Faro was correct.

Despite the rocky & narrow path it wasn't slippery due to the warm summer weather. Some parts of the walk are shaded. We passed about 3 other walkers, young, mature and one with a child of about 4.

Stop to read the beautiful ceramic tile information.

An enjoyable walk I would gladly do again.

The buses to and from Faro and Grotto Azzurra are easy to catch from the main towns on the island.

As other reviewers have said there are spots to take a swim along the way, however they are not easily accessible and we waited and went to the public beach at Grotto Azzurra, which was fabulous.

Date of experience: June 2017
6  Thank Cocowithspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

We got up at 5:00am to take the first bus out to Anacapri at 6:00am. At 6:30am we took a second bus to the blue Grotto. Before 8am and after 5pm, locals swim inside the cave, so we started our day with a short swim. We then found the beginning of the Fortini Walk 10 min up from the blue Grotto. The beginning of this side of the trail was disappointing. It was under short trees, dark, with spider webs. But the last two thirds were great, with amazing views of the cliffs. We did the walk in two hours. Coming back to anacapri , it was still early. We had the Villa St Michel to ourselves, drank coffee and ate lemon-almond cake. By 11am we took the bus back to Capri. By then the streets we mobbed.
A great morning :)

Date of experience: June 2017
3  Thank MiladydeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews