We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
295
40
12
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
295
40
12
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests dietary requirements sand dunes whale sharks daily activities ningaloo reef luxury tents unique experience rock wallabies national park every guest eco resort per day marine life communal dining fixed menu paired wines
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2019

This really is a very special  place to stay indeed.  The 15 spacious tents all look out onto the ocean and you can walk directly from them out onto the beach where the spectacular coral reef awaits you. The staff cannot do enough to help you - we had an hour long snorkelling lesson to get us going, which is just what we needed to build up some confidence.  Hikes are organised too at sunrise and sunset which gives you a chance to observe the antics of the agile rock wallabies at Mandu Mandu gorge up close.  The cuisine is excellent.  Creative menus are prepared with the freshest of local ingredients.  The breakfast menu is very varied and lunch is a real highlight with three choices.  There is a set menu in the evening with a couple of glasses of paired wines included.  The tents are very comfortable (complete with outdoor hammock) and the bar is open (all inclusive).  Very friendly staff work well together as a team to do everything they can to ensure that your stay is enjoyable. On the downside, it is a digital detox zone (no wi-fi). There is a composting toilet long drop toilet in the little bathroom at the back of the tent, which worked efficiently enough.  Water is restricted to 20 litres a day per person, but we found that more than adequate if you respect the guidelines and are water wise.  If you mind the sound of the sea, you might want to bring your ear plugs. You won't be able to use your hairdryer here, but the vibe is so relaxed, that you really don't need to worry.  NB:  Access is via South Mandu Car Park Road only - they come and pick you up in a buggy from here as the road to the camp is not driveable and it is a 15 minute walk.    Very highly recommended for a truly memorable experience - a real treat. 

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetowander_co_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
salsalisningalooreef, Public Relations Manager at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2019

Wow, what a fantastic review! Thank you so much and we are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2019 via mobile

This place is and absolute dream and I would recommend staying here.

First of all the food is awesome, on arrival I thought that it would be basic because it’s a small eco-resort in the outback, but no the food is almost Michelin-starred quality. The service stands also stands up to the quality of the food, the staff are so friendly and we’re very helpful at pointing out wildlife and just helping us out.

The experience of being in the outback and next to Ningaloo reef is a once in a lifetime experience. Snorkelling and diving in the reef is awesome. Go for more than two nights.

Being an eco-camp the facilities are not great, drop-toilets no service or wifi; however, one should expect this and having a digital detox did me some good.

You have to go! The place is crazy and you won’t be able to experience anything like it anywhere else in the world. At full capacity Ningaloo reef will only have 300 people out on it. In the Great Barrier Reef one boat will contain 300 people. Ningaloo is 280km long.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank isad0reh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
salsalisningalooreef, Public Relations Manager at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2019

Thanks so much for an amazing review. We are so glad you enjoyed the food so much, we will pass that on to the camp kitchen. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2019

Terrific location, food , staff and service but it is a little hard to handle a basic bathroom in a five star resort irrespective of Eco restrictions. The lack of connectivity is unacceptable in this day and age on a mainland Australian Resort . I was awaiting important news and a relative was gravely ill when I visited . I found the isolation problematic /stressful.The tents are beautifully camouflaged, the atmosphere in the Resort is such that a single person soon feels part of a friendly group. The staff are terrific and the food quality is genuinely outstanding for such a remote location.

Room tip: There is one flushing toilet in the main tent so if you d like access to that luxury, chose a tent nearby .
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank osmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
salsalisningalooreef, Public Relations Manager at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2019

We’re so sorry you felt disconnected whilst staying here at Sal Salis. We are very open about the fact we don’t have internet access or phone reception here; as for many people, that’s actually what they’re seeking. Our staff can always help with connecting you with family and friends in those circumstances you mentioned, and I hope they did so for you. We’re so pleased you could still enjoy the Sal Salis way of life and we really hope your family member has made a recovery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2019

This is really a place that provides a unique experience, both the resort itself and the area. The resort: comfortable tents with a mellow ambience, a wonderful relaxed central area and food that is superior. We could not get over what a good job the chefs did in such challenging conditions. Staff gave personal service and were interesting and friendly; the communal dining every night was fun and we met many people from all over the world. Guided tours (snorkeling and hiking) they led everyday were fun and low key. Then, the Ningaloo Reef is really worth seeing with its marine wildlife. (We visited the Great Barrier Reef on the same trip and we thought this was better.) Sal Salis is the place to see it from. We will be back, notwithstanding the stiff cost. Of a month traveling in Australia this visit was our highlight.

Room tip: Tents furthest from the Central dining area were the quietest
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgelineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
salsalisningalooreef, Public Relations Manager at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2019

Wow! What a great review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope the rest of your Australian journey was just as great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019

An amazing experience in a stunning location. If you're looking for somewhere to reconnect with nature with a touch of luxury then this is the place. The team at Sal Salis go out of their way to ensure your stay is personal and uncomplicated. The location of the tents amongst the dunes, with gorgeous sea breezes and views which stretch from the outback to the sea, is amazing. The food is another level in terms of freshness and presentation and is an absolute highligt of staying at Sal Salis.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
salsalisningalooreef, Public Relations Manager at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2019

Thank you so much Mark, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews