We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mercury Bay Holiday Park(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Albert Number 6(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$65
US$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$78
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Admiralty Lodge Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$97
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceans Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$91
US$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aotearoa Lodge(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$74
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Absolute Beachview B & B(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Anchorage Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
24
15
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
15
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrented an apartmentroom numberwithin easy walking distanceenjoyed our staysound of the wavesacross the roadlovely townon arrivalexcellent staylocation is greatcomfy bedthe ground floorthe kitchenclose to townbeach fronttwo nightsviv
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at the Blue Marlin Apartment. We had booked an upstairs room with a view over the water. It was a very nice spacious room with a king size bed and sitting area, well-sized kitchen and a large bathroom. The weather was nice and hot when we arrived and the first night we really enjoyed sleeping with the windows open and listening to the waves coming to shore.
The landlady was very nice and helpful. We arrived late and she had written several notes to us explaining where to find our room and encouraging us to use the deck chairs in front of the room.
Whitianga is a smaller, nice town with nice restaurants. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kfalch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivienne s, Owner at Blue Marlin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review. Pleased you enjoyed our little piece of paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

We stayed 5 days, and chose this place for its location. The facilities were good, except that there were no bedside lamps for reading in bed. We were told that "the electrician said they weren't needed". An electrician that does not read would say that. The host is very helpful in every respect.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the front, the views and proximity to the beach are excellent
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mennito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivienne s, Owner at Blue Marlin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Nice to see you arrived home safe and and sound.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

This is one of multiple 'new' holiday apartment blocks that have sprung up along the beach front in Whitianga. We rented an apartment here for a couple of days whilst touring the area & the location is ideal being just over the road from the beach & an easy walk into town & the wharf area with it's numerous restaurants & bars.
Whilst the bed was large & comfortable the advertised 'sea views' were a peak through a corner window at best. The apartment itself was quite small with a very small kitchen with no hot plate just a small microwave & no Sky Sport on the TV. Overall 3* at best but with 4* prices.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivienne s, Owner at Blue Marlin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thanks for your review Chris. When checking out our website you will see our units all have different configurations - some are studios - which is what you had while others have separate bedrooms with full kitchen facilities. We try to portray clearly what each unit has as far a sea views are concerned as not every one can be right on the beach front. Hope you enjoyed the Coromandel area while you were here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

I rented an apartment for 2 nights and had a lovely stay. The apartment was spacious, modern and impeccably clean. Only a short walk into town and directly across the road from the water, I would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank chant1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivienne s, Owner at Blue Marlin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

It's a brilliant location opposite the beach, within easy walking distance to the wharf and restaurants. Unit 8 is up a short flight of external stairs, with a partial view of the beach, but also has access to a large deck at the front of the property. Perfect for admiring the uninterrupted view of the beach. Comfortable extra large (king) bed with quality pillows. The microwave and fridge were an adequate little kitchen in the spacious unit and it was nice to have daily cleaning. Only minor downside is that Unit 8 is right next door to a residential unit and the walls are very thin, so the sound travels. This felt a bit awkward when we were occasionally aware of conversations next door.

The bathroom is very good, with great shower pressure, generous fluffy towels, as well as spacious vanity and mirrored cabinet.

The manager, Vivian, was particularly helpful and we enjoyed our stay at the Blue Marlin.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front, with access to the deck.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews