We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Marlin Apartments
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights in March 17. When making the booking, I specifically chose Room 8 as it seemed to offer the best waterfront views - most of the available rooms are to the rear of the main building, hence they have restricted views.

Viv the owner was very helpful and friendly - could not do enough for us. Although views of the sea are restricted even from Room 8, we had the use of the balcony at the front, so had glorious uninterrupted views across the bay. We were lucky with the weather and spent quite a lot of time out there.

The room was well presented and well equipped. Easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivienne s, Manager at Blue Marlin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you for your review. A holiday is always enhanced when the weather is fabulous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at the Blue Marlin Apartment. We had booked an upstairs room with a view over the water. It was a very nice spacious room with a king size bed and sitting area, well-sized kitchen and a large bathroom. The weather was nice and hot when we arrived and the first night we really enjoyed sleeping with the windows open and listening to the waves coming to shore.
The landlady was very nice and helpful. We arrived late and she had written several notes to us explaining where to find our room and encouraging us to use the deck chairs in front of the room.
Whitianga is a smaller, nice town with nice restaurants. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kfalch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivienne s, Owner at Blue Marlin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review. Pleased you enjoyed our little piece of paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

We stayed 5 days, and chose this place for its location. The facilities were good, except that there were no bedside lamps for reading in bed. We were told that "the electrician said they weren't needed". An electrician that does not read would say that. The host is very helpful in every respect.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the front, the views and proximity to the beach are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mennito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivienne s, Owner at Blue Marlin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Nice to see you arrived home safe and and sound.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

This is one of multiple 'new' holiday apartment blocks that have sprung up along the beach front in Whitianga. We rented an apartment here for a couple of days whilst touring the area & the location is ideal being just over the road from the beach & an easy walk into town & the wharf area with it's numerous restaurants & bars.
Whilst the bed was large & comfortable the advertised 'sea views' were a peak through a corner window at best. The apartment itself was quite small with a very small kitchen with no hot plate just a small microwave & no Sky Sport on the TV. Overall 3* at best but with 4* prices.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivienne s, Owner at Blue Marlin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thanks for your review Chris. When checking out our website you will see our units all have different configurations - some are studios - which is what you had while others have separate bedrooms with full kitchen facilities. We try to portray clearly what each unit has as far a sea views are concerned as not every one can be right on the beach front. Hope you enjoyed the Coromandel area while you were here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

I rented an apartment for 2 nights and had a lovely stay. The apartment was spacious, modern and impeccably clean. Only a short walk into town and directly across the road from the water, I would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank chant1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivienne s, Owner at Blue Marlin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.1 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
518 reviews
0.5 km away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
88 reviews
1.2 km away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
19.9 km away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.9 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Apartments

Address: 4 Buffalo Beach Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand (Formerly Blue Water Holiday Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range: RM409 - RM715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Marlin Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Marlin Apartments is situated on Buffalo Beach Road. We have one and two bedroom apartments and studio rooms.Apartments one and two have beautiful unobstructed sea views.Apartments 7, 9 and 13 have some sea views.All one and two bedroom apartments are self contained with kitchens and en-suites.We are a five minute stroll to the shops on Albert Street and the Wharf and restaurants are just down the road. We will service your room daily and change your bathroom linen if required.Free WiFi is available with unlimited use. Park your car and enjoy walks on the beach which is directly across the road or wander in to town to one of the many restaurants or cafes on offer. Sit on the deck and read a book or The Lost Spring Day Spa if just behind us if you want to enjoy some pampering. The choice is yours.We welcome you to our lovely piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Marlin Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing