We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful day at Mercury Bay”

Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises
Ranked #3 of 19 Tours in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Boat tour cruise of Cathedral Cove, Cooks Beach, Hahei, marine reserve, caves and beaches. includes swimming and snorkelling if conditions suit
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Such a great day out at Mercury Bay.... Ken completely looked after us and ensured we got the absolute most out of our time on the water! A total must do for anyone heading to Whitianga!!

Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thanks for the review. We have had a pretty good ruin of weather lately so winter cruising has been pretty good.

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2017

My husband and I were blown away by this cruise. Ken is such a wonderful guide and he obviously cares about his guests getting the best experience from Mercury Bay. His boat is the perfect size to fit a small group (much more personal than a larger cruise), and it fits into the small caves so you truly get the full experience of the beautiful Orua cave. Ken keeps in touch with you before the trip to keep you apprised of any potential weather issues. Although you should definitely not EXPECT to see whales, we were very lucky to find some playing in the bay. Even without seeing whales, though, this trip is a wonderful mix of breathtaking scenery, cool fish, and interesting history.

Thank shannahkhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thanks for the great review I hope you had a great tour in NZ. I hope you managed to get some pics of the Orca too, as you say very lucky to catch a day when these wonderful mammals are here

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

My husband and I found this tour by accident, and booked at the last minute the night before the tour. It ended up being a highlight of our tour to NZ!

Ken was super-friendly, knowledgeable and we had a great time with him! We learnt so much about the area, and were constantly in awe of our beautiful surroundings! Ken stopped in all the best spots for photos and gopro footage. We can't thank him enough for his personal friendly service. We were smiling for the rest of the day!

We were extra lucky to see a Humpback whale up close!! Apparently this is quite rare, but we were gobsmacked to see a pod of 4 whales breach a few times. It was magical. We also saw lots of marine life on our trip.

A wonderful experience that I cannot recommend highly enough!

Thank TaraTalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thanks for the review - yes probably the lucky passengers of the year, certainly a rare visit by these whales

Safe journey

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

We spent the morning out on the water with Ken yesterday. Thoroughly enjoyed the personal approach. Plenty of time was given to make sure each passenger had that “special take home photo shot” and there are certainly plenty of camera opportunities. Fun way to explore the beautiful region. Thanks Ken, will definitely be recommending you.

Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thanks for the review. Awesome photo shot available I agree I will load another one on our web sometime soon. Spotted and local sea bird eating a Eel - amazing

Thanks again and for your future recommendations

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

From start to finish excellent. Ken the biggest baddest & baldest boat captain made the trip a ton of fun. His knowledge of area was top notch. Boat safe, clean and speedy. Saw all there was to see for a very fair price of NZ$85 pp. Referred to him by competition who was full. Glad it worked out that way.

Thank Drew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley H, Owner at Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

hmmm nice review I think? haha - cant dispute the baldest bit but

glad you had fun

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Cathedral Cove Scenic Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing