We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crows Nest Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercury Bay Holiday Park(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blue Marlin Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiralty Lodge Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albert Number 6(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$61
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Absolute Beachview B & B(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
45
50
25
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
50
25
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswell stocked kitchenquiet locationcontinental breakfastpeaceful staycathedral covehot showertwin bedsnew ownersshort drivehot water beachwashing machineaccommodationmotelsinkrotoruadryerhost
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

This is a very nice place, close to town with heaps of birdsongs around and wonderful to relax. Breakfast selection good. Very friendly and helpful hosts. All very tidy and clean. Rooms with nice decks to enjoy sunshine. Thanks!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Not impressed with the location at all. Far to far out of town.
Literally in the middle of nowhere. No restaurant to dine in on the premises.
And the lady who was on reception really didn't appear very interested at all.
It had a communal kitchen area if you want to cook for yourselves.

Room Tip: Wasn't impressed at all so I wouldn't recommend this hotel
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015

Drove from Auckland along the scenic Coast rd 25 through Coromanel to Whiianga. A wonderful drive and a must do drive. We Stayed here for 2 nights to visit Hot Water Beach Cathedral Cove and Captain Cook Bay.
For around $120 AUD with Breakfast is very good on a budget and would stay again, Nothing special about the place. It was clean and bed comfortable could be noisy if the place was fully booked. On the fringe of town a car is needed to go to the shops.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank TripmanMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile

We came from the US, stayed 3 days at the Aotearoa Lodge in Whitianga NZ and had a personalized tour of the coromandel by Darryl who grew up here and has been guiding for 9 years. Darryl and Lynette were perfect hosts, providing Auckland hotel pickup, lovely breakfasts in the attractive lodge and insider knowledge of the coromandel. This was the highlight of our NZ trip and I highly recommend this tour.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank luckytraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Owner at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2015

Well thank you so much for wonderful review.
Our job is made very easy with lovely people like your self
keen to explore and learn about our magnificent Coromandel.
Darryl / Lynette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

We experienced a warm welcome at the reception desk with a helpful service. They are flexible in terms of early check-in and late check-outs (if the booking situation allows). The standard double bedroom was nicely presented. Seating is available on the decking in front of the room with peaceful garden views. Flat TV available. Bathroom/shower was ok but I'd recommend an upgrade.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank juergena955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Manager at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2015

Many thanks for your review.
We are happy that we could accommadate you on your early checkin always happy to do so if possible.
We hope your stay on the Coromandel was a memorable experience for you.

Many Thanks Lynette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews