We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So far away”
Review of Aotearoa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aotearoa Lodge
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

We had to wonder why our travel agent had put us here - it's a few kms out of town and quite isolated. Very basic, although adequate for just one night. Clean and fresh but quite minimal in what is offered. Clean big bathroom - laminated not tiled, big mirror and bench and hot shower so that was fine. And there's wifi so that's good but also mandatory these days.
It's adequate- just not so convenient to town.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2017

We understand that this hotel has new owners - they obviously have worked hard to make the hotel clean and appealing and we had a very nice stay there. It's not within walking distance of town but close enough for an easy drive. Our rooms were spacious - a good-sized bedroom, nice bath with shower, well-stocked kitchen, and sitting area. Wish we could have stayed longer! Staff very nice and helpful. There is a church next door and we were serenaded with a hymn or two in early evening - not unpleasant at all.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

I had a one night stay at this small place in Whitianga. Once I reached the place, there was no one at the reception and we had to keep ringing the bell for almost 30 min before somebody appeared. There is a Korean couple who looks after the property. Their language is not readily understood. There is no food available at the lodge and one has to drive to the city centre for the same which is about 3 to 4 kms away. The breakfast also is very measly and you cannot get it before 8 am.
The rooms are small with a very small basic bathroom. No AC. Only a small fan available
The outside gardens are good
It is better to stay near the city centre rather than this place

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Drsabharwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Staff was friendly and check in was easy. Surrounding grounds were nice. Room was quite small, very low to the floor twin beds, no work area, not even a chair. I will add that the wifi was great. Our outside furniture had outlived it's usefulness. We were right next to the kitchen and at times it was a little noisy. Just far enough from town to be inconvenient. I wouldn't recommend to others. Do your homework better than I did.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LLW444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

The room was a good size and very clean. The tv gets only 4 channels but we only sleep in a room. It took us 35 minutes to walk back from town. The bathroom was nice, shower only. I would love to stay again.

The hotel does arrange package deals with tours. We did a tour package that was perfectly managed. I wholeheartedly recommend letting them arrange tours locally and to Rotorua.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob1eddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
1.7 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
514 reviews
1.3 km away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
85 reviews
18.3 km away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
1.7 km away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#11 of 18 in Whitianga
34 reviews
2.1 km away
Peninsula Motel
Peninsula Motel
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aotearoa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotearoa Lodge

Address: 70 Racecourse Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range: RM383 - RM510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aotearoa Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aotearoa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing