We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older place but very comfortable”
Review of The Acorn

The Acorn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Acorn
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Don't just drive by this older motel. Not much to look at, although it is well maintained on the inside and out. Very clean!! Plenty of room! Comfortable beds. Excellent Price! Will stay here again! New TV, wifi, great water pressure, microwave and mini fridge. Staff was extremely pleasant!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyddybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Very comfortable basic room for a great price compared to other local lodging. Freshly painted and clean, new king bed, great shower, air worked well. I've paid a lot more and gotten a lot less. Friendly manager. Across the street from best coffee and breakfast shop in town, but arrive early! Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Great rate. King-size bed (comfortable and apparently new) clean and new carpet, new bedspread, new tv. Very clean room and new towels. Fridge and microwave. This is an older motel, much older, but we had zero complaints. I believe owners may have read some of the criticisms and addressed them all at least in our room. The linoleum and grout in bathroom are older as to be expected and no cool showerhead but great water pressure. A/C worked well too Major bang for buck and we were very happy with every aspect of room. Friendly customer service and front desk. Repeatedly asked if we were happy, needed anything etc. The highly rated Blue Ridge Biscuit is a walk across the street. The quaint and fun Dairy King is less than a block away and downtown is a 1 minute ride. So great location and also easy access to Asheville.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lpb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

I was on my way to Cherokee for vacation and between the rain, darkness, cold weather and crazy cagers I needed a place to crash. Most hotels were booked or $125+ so I pulled into the Acorn. Parked my bike right in front of my room and slept. It is an older facility and dated but the price is more than agreeable, I saw the owners up bright and early cleaning the rooms so it is being taken care of. Woke up, grabbed a motorcycle map "they have really good maps" and left. Thank you to the woman at the desk who gave me her only bottle of water btw.

Biker Friendly

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Biker_Jon90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016

This is my first stay at the Acorn. It was clean, neat, the tiled shower was gianormous. Water pressure very good. Will stay here again good value and close to all activities downtown. The room was made up quickly while we were across the street having breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Malcolm I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Black Mountain hotels
1.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
138 reviews
1.6 km away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
579 reviews
0.7 km away
Black Mountain Inn
Black Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Black Mountain
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Hotel
#4 of 8 in Black Mountain
218 reviews
2.6 km away
My Place Inn
My Place Inn
#5 of 8 in Black Mountain
8 reviews
0.6 km away
Arbor House of Black Mountain
Arbor House of Black Mountain
#1 of 8 in Black Mountain
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Acorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Acorn

Address: 600 W State St, Black Mountain, NC 28711-2748
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Black Mountain
Price Range: RM262 - RM266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Acorn 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Acorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing