We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Black Mountain)
US$99
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Mountain Inn(Black Mountain)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Monte Vista Boutique Hotel(Black Mountain)(Great Value!)
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
My Place Inn(Black Mountain)(Great Value!)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Acorn(Black Mountain)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East(Asheville)(Great Value!)
US$160
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
202
31
9
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
202
31
9
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchcheese gritsapple butterbreakfast buffetbiscuitsattic roomhomemade dessertsblue ridge roomhummingbird cakeelectric fireplacesave room for dessertfrench toastseven sistersfeel right at homeowners and staffthemed roomshis wife
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2018

Very nice place just off downtown in Black Mountain, NC.The owners are nice and warm people (and good cooks). The place is warm, peaceful and easy access. Two naps in one day was beyond wonderful!

Nice parlor to read, easy dining room with inside and outside views.

Rooms are on the second and third floors and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redrocker07, Owner at Red Rocker Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Hi Wesley, It sounds like you received some well-needed rest while you were here. We're so glad we were able to touch your need for peace and quiet while feeding you well. Come back again! Thanks for the nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

This place has charm. The owners and staff are very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are comfortable and there are plenty of spaces to lounge including a large front porch. It is nice they also serve dinner. I recommend The pork chop. The cheese gritts are awsome. Lots of variety for breakfast from a full country breakfast to pastries, granolla and fruit.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank berlchilders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redrocker07, Owner at Red Rocker Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Hello and thank you for the nice review. We certainly appreciate that you took time to write this. Mmmmm, Pork Chop!!! I think that's just about everyone's favorite. So, good choice!
Next time you're in you can try the rib eye steak and see if that's your favorite too. I have a feeling it might be.
Happy Anniversary once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here multiple times, great location, good decor. There have been no TVs in any of the rooms I have stayed in. Plenty of hot water. Good food. Gilchrist & Soames soaps, always my favorite. Usually its a 5 star stay. However it was my first time in the Pisgah room, and disappointingly there was a mold smell. If you are sensitive I recommend avoiding this room.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redrocker07, Owner at Red Rocker Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hi Amy, thank you for taking time to review. We love that you're a repeat guest! We always ask that our guests tell us if there is a problem in our rooms so we can take action to correct it. We're sorry that you didn't bring your concerns to our attention while you were here. Just to mention however, I think that what you might be smelling is the fresh paint in the room (about a week and a half before your visit). We also just installed new tile, vanity, sink and lighting in the bathroom. It really looks sharp now! Thanks again for coming, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Spent a long weekend last month and had a delightful experience. Everything was low key which added to the relaxation factor. Service at dinner and breakfast was exceptional. There aren't any 'dinner specials' each night, but there are enough selections to satisfy your group's taste buds. Mixing and Matching entrees and sides is encouraged. Save room for dessert.

To be truly decadent, check out the attic room. If you do, you won't want to take the short walk 'downtown' to see the sights.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnRDU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redrocker07, Owner at Red Rocker Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Hello John, Thank you for the visit and for writing such a nice review. We sure appreciate that you took the time to do this. Did you stay in the Elizabeth's Attic room? It really is everyone's favorite. Next time you come, be sure to tell us what your favorite dessert is too!
Thank you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

We don't consider ourselves the usual bed and breakfast types. Conversations with complete strangers over breakfast is just not our thing (think "hermits!) but wow, was the Red Rocker great!
We had seen the NC Weekend episode on our local PBS station, so when our daughter visited from California we decided this would be a perfect treat for her and a new experience for us. And we were not disappointed! The room was lovely. The meals were served at individual tables in the dining room (think, no talking to strangers!) and the food was wonderful. The house and grounds were beautiful. I just might be able to talk my husband into another stay!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ribbons55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redrocker07, Owner at Red Rocker Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Ooh, We hope you'll come back for another stay! You are right, though. The nice thing about the meal set-up at The Red Rocker Inn is that those that want a quiet intimate table can easily enjoy that experience while the socialites can always find new friends. Thanks to PBS for airing a spot featuring The Red Rocker Inn on their North Carolina Weekend show. If you want to see it again it is on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews