We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
270
179
66
31
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
270
179
66
31
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel chestnut grill eleanor roosevelt murder mystery weekend jimmy stewart made to order breakfast tea room step back in time piano player new owners breakfast was included front porch room was large french toast rocking chairs breakfast each morning modern conveniences
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2017

This place is on a busy street but we didn't hear much for road noise except during the day, when the construction was active. The hotel is clean and quaint. They had tea and coffee available for us.

The best part is that you are across the street from Blowing Rock.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you for reviewing! I'm glad the construction wasn't disruptive, and we do try to place guests away from it as much as possible. I'm happy to know you enjoyed your stay and afternoon tea. I hope you enjoyed your visit to the Blowing Rock, as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night, a Saturday. Upon arrival we were immediately charmed by the gentleman playing piano in the lobby. After changing for dinner, we enjoyed a peaceful glass of wine lounging in the lobby listening to his music. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was delicious and surprisingly inexpensive. Our room was a "superior king" with a balcony which we enjoyed and we loved the cozy robes, what a nice touch! The hotel is obviously still undergoing restoration and still needs a lot of work, however it did not detract from our stay. I hope there are plans for updating the grounds as a stroll would have been great. If you expect it to be in pristine condition you may be disappointed and I would suggest going to a new hotel. We definitely plan on returning!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you for reviewing! As you mentioned, there is a lot of work to be done on this 126 year historic hotel. In fact, over the winter months, we have been able to replace more of the carpeting in the hallways, and renovate the public ladies restroom. We are excited for our next steps! I'm so happy that you had a chance to be charmed by Charlie Ellis on the piano, and that you enjoyed dining with us. We'll look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

A co-worker recommended this 126 year old inn to us and we loved it. My husband and I stayed one night, in a junior sweet. The room was clean, quiet, had a sitting area, a walk in closet and most important, the bed was extremely comfortable. Full breakfast (order off of a menu) was included. The young man at the front desk was very nice and helpful and he also helped in the restaurant in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior sweet, great price.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank couponmom369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you for staying! I'm glad your co-worker recommended us to you, and that you enjoyed yourself and your room while you were here. Thank you for your compliments to our staff, and we'll hope you see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

No Ghosts, just a lovely historic inn! We stayed two nights in a huge room with a comfy bed. We had the complimentary breakfast both mornings and the food was good, coffee not so much. The second evening we also had dinner and it was great. Service was great that night, too. We loved relaxing and listening to Charlie serenade us on the piano Saturday. A lovely stay and we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ginger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

As others have said, a real mixed bag. On the good side, the front areas inside are gorgeous, the restaurant is quaint with good breakfast food, the hotel has a nice character to it and the rooms are spacious and clean if dated. The small of Cedar is perhaps not common these days, but I thought it was sort of cool.

On the flip side, if you stay in the back part of the property, you can't help but notice from the hall windows that the back of the property is still in pretty serious disrepair. Breakfast - they ran out of the same item two days in a row by the time breakfast was half over. They should probably remove things from the menu if they can't afford to stock them amply. Very understaffed - we had the same guy as our desk clerk, restaurant host and restaurant server on three different days and the restaurant was struggling, taking forever to clear tables to seat those waiting. They really need to go to a buffet approach. Attention to detail was off -- wrong breakfast for one of us, wrong number of guests on our breakfast vouchers, wrong # of towels in our room, etc.

All in all, I like the place but it's got work to do to get to what I think it wants to be.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank gmanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews