We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
74
62
28
17
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
62
28
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast rocking chairs within walking distance main st new flooring sunset drive bagels ski trip two blocks huge bathroom two double beds full kitchen our night stay three nights rooms were very clean close to downtown get away
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2017

This inn is super cute and had continental breakfast, plus a wine and cheese reception from 4:30 to 5:30! The inn was great walking distance from downtown Blowing Rock and short driving distance from Boone and surrounding areas. There is also cute shops downtown and the Tanger Outlets nearby. There are multiple attraction nearby, such as Tweetsie Railroad, the Blue Ridge Parkway, and more.

Room Tip: All rooms are great! (Inn is only one story with additional suites and a cabin.)
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 September 2017

Mary S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our inns are located in a great location that allows our guests to enjoy many different experiences in the area. We also enjoy our wine and cheese reception because it gives us a time to get to know our guests and hear stories of these experiences! Please come back and stay with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

The Hillwinds Inn is an older motel, typical southern brick, kind of cute, and an ok stay.

Quick check in, room was decent sized, not spotless, but clean enough, comfortable, quiet room.

Old style bathroom, but good shower, plenty of hot water, decent towels. There is a small Keurig coffee maker in the room. The TV has lots of channels, but is quite small.

Breakfast ok.....mostly continental, but there are waffles, and premade packaged sausage biscuits in the fridge to heat in the microwave.

Decent stay....most of the lodging options in Blowing Rock are older facilites, so it was about what I expected.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gatorgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 September 2017

Dear Gatorgolfer,

First of all, we want to thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback regarding your recent stay.

Your opinion is really important to us as we strive for excellence in all that we do. We are glad to know there were some aspects you enjoyed from your stay such as our location and easy check-in. Your feedback helps us to improve on a daily basis by identifying our strengths and weaknesses.

We will be sure to pass on your comments to the appropriate hotel team members to ensure that we are providing the best service/environment possible.

We would like to thank you for your feedback and do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back so you can see for yourself our dedication to you as our guest. Until then, take care.

Caroline P
Quality Control Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Starts with not having room ready for check in. No they were not full that first night. After housekeeping in our room for 40 minutes, we were given keys. Arrived and found housekeeper hadn't even made the bed.
The manager made some excuse about being short of linens. Didn;t they know how many sets they would need at 9:00 AM instead of working on it at 3:00 PM.
The manager said he would reduce our rate. We'll keep you updated on when that credit comes through.
They really save money on their advertised free breakfast - they don't start "serving" ie open the continental items until 8:00 by which time most guests have gone elsewhere for breakfast.
One of the nice things they do is the rocking chairs outside each room. This allows guests to meet and mingle and discuss such things as breakfast restaurant choices. Here we also learned that we were lucky to have an air conditioner that worked correctly instead of one that didn't cool or one so loud it woke people up.
Also fun was the shower curtain that blew in and stuck to your body throughout your shower. Once can hope it was changed after doing the some to previous guests. Wouldn't bet on it.
The only reason for a 2 instead of a 1 was that eventually it was clean.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank chenamoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

The Hillwinds Inn is right on Sunset Drive, two blocks from the Blowing Rock park in the center of town. It is up to date and well kept. The staff are impeccable. We loved being within walking distance to the eating and shopping and recreation area, as well as easy to get to the main road to Boone and other places.

We stayed as a family of two adults and two kids. The room was small if we wanted to do more in the room than sleep, but that's all that is needed in a place like Blowing Rock. We were very impressed with how clean and up to date the inn was. We will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Stayed in one of their cottages a few weeks ago. Saw a huge black german shepherd in the adjoining room barking at me on the "freshly made bed". Outside it looked like there no one every cleaned the mats at the door which had tons of dog hair on it. I did have a tiny pet for which I brought a bed and a plastic gate to keep it from roaming around the unit. The room did not smell clean at all. I noticed that the wood floor did not look very clean so I wet a towel and couldn't believe my eyes when it was as black as dirt. Apparently the staff DO NOT mop the floors which was confirmed by the fact that we saw them clean the adjoining room the next day in about 10 minutes. Reported this to the front desk run by young women who really didn't know what to do with this information. Brought the dirty towel with me and all she could do was apologize and say she would mention it to the cleaning mgr who was probably one of the women who sat in the utility room smoking and who was one of the staff who supposedly cleaned the rooms as well. They were very nice but did not do a good job at all. I wanted to report this to management who manages all three hotels but she did not have their information. What a poorly run hotel. Other family members who rented the single rooms also thought the rooms were pretty dirty as well. Next time you go there before you settle in, wipe the floors and see what you find and then think about the sheets and towels you are using and how dirty they may be....just sayin. After almost $500 for three nights all I can say it was a waste. The welcome hour was very nice but it was as hot as h--l. The young girls said it was because the AC was old. Stifling during all hours especially at breakfast and happy hour. Management needs to really go over there and see just how they are cleaning AND using antibacterial cleaners after each pet leaves cause after all, that's what your pet fee is for!!!!!

Room Tip: Wipe the floor before you open your bags and look at the sheets. Pets were on these comforters and they don't wash them after each visit!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, General Manager at The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Hillwinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am truly sorry to hear of your concerns while you stayed with us. We are always looking to improve all aspects of the inn to improve our guests' experience. I can promise you these issues have been addressed. I realize you were traveling with the someone else who previously left a similar review. If possible could you please contact me directly, I'd love to have you back to stay with us again. My email address is sw@thevillageinnsofblowingrock.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews