We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and cozy”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hidden Valley Motel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We spent 2 nights here recently and loved the place. We stayed in room #1. This is a mom and pop motel and very clean and comfortable. They do a great job maintaining a flower garden out front. The rooms are decorated very cute and cozy. We had a view of Grandfather Mountain out our back window. We will definitely be staying here again when we're in the Boone area.

Room Tip: Room #1 has a swing outside the door plus it's on the end. I would choose this room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Car0l100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimBoone, Owner at Hidden Valley Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thanks Car0l100 for staying with us and taking the time to write your review. Mom (Maxine) gets all the credit for the garden, does all that hard work, my flowers are on the bath walls, no weeds to pull, once and done. Thanks again and see you next time, Jim & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017

We traveled to the area over Labor Day weekend to hike Grandfather Mountain. This motel is conveniently located near the Profile view trailhead. The hotel is comfortable and had all the needed amenities. The owners are friendly and helpful. Each room has its own style of decor. We enjoyed the family photos on the wall. We enjoyed a meals at Grandview Inn and Peddling Pig before and after our hike. This is a nice place to stay when in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank family0f6traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimBoone, Owner at Hidden Valley Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thanks family0f6traveler for taking the time to write a review, glad you enjoyed your stay and the meals in the area. Jim & Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

When traveling we usually avoid the small independents because the quality is so variable.

This place had a good reference in a hiking guide - it's not far from the MST - so we tried it in July while we were hiking and ended up staying four days. And we came back for another couple of nights a month later to hike on Grandfather Mountain.

It's clean, reasonably appointed, priced right, pretty quiet and we had no problem getting a room at the last minute.

Jim takes care of the paperwork and his wife takes care of the garden and cleaning the rooms.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimBoone, Owner at Hidden Valley Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thanks Henry W for taking the time to give us a review. I consider reviews important to us because as you say they do give folks an idea of what to expect at a small independent motel and we are going to try to provide a pleasant stay for our guests.

One comment for the benefit of potential future guests, while there are those times when you can drive up and find the room of your choice, there are also times that find us quite busy, if a guest has an advance plan for a specific date a reservation can work in their favor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Nice comfortable rooms ( not cookie cutter) each one different. Beautiful garden that you can walk through or just sit down and relax. If you are looking for a place to just be laid back, this is it. A very nice couple and their daughter run the place.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank SunnyHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimBoone, Owner at Hidden Valley Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thanks SunnyHam for your review, we try to offer a nice place to stay and hope you will visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Travelled in July 2017 to the Grandfather Mountain Highland Games and reserved a room here. I was very skeptical because I like to stay in name brand hotels. We wanted to save money to we decided to stay here. I live in Wisconsin so I'm not used to southern heat so I think I was a bit annoying in emailing the owners to make sure the AC worked. They were very patient with me. It's a little hard to find but after 2 passes we found it. When we checked in the owner told me he just checked earlier to make sure the AC was working and turned it on for us. (Very thankful) This place is not the Ritz so if that's what you are looking for look else where. Everything was clean and homey. There are only about 10 units but several of the patrons there were returning customers. That tells you something about the property and the owners. We will definitely stay here again when we return to the games in a few years.
(Only complaint is that the towels were a bit rough.)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lert84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimBoone, Owner at Hidden Valley Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thanks Lert84 for your review. Reviews help new folks know what to expect, hopefully good, and even a negative item becomes a learning tool so that hopefully we change for the better.

You can be sure that I don't like southern heat either, moved here from further south to run away from hot weather so I do try to notice the AC units work, its going to run when I'm working up a sweat cleaning the rooms, and yes the owner does the cleaning.

We are facing highway 105 in the Foscoe Community, but as an 8 unit motel we are a small property and traffic at times moves quickly, while not a large or imposing property hopefully you might find some features, large garden, antiques in rooms, that you wouldn't find in those large new properties, our other Wisconsin guest for the games has returned for the last 20 years, hopefully if I get a visitor once I'll earn their business on the next trip to the area.

Towels are definitely on my wish list for this year's updates, its just a bit of a balancing act between trying to maintain reasonable pricing and adding quality to our offerings.

Thanks again for the review, Jim & Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boone
11 km away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
12 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
9 km away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 km away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#4 of 18 in Boone
418 reviews
9.8 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 18 in Boone
419 reviews
10.9 km away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#3 of 18 in Boone
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Motel

Address: 8725 NC Hwy 105 South, Boone, NC 28607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boone
#1 Best Value Hotel in Boone
#1 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range: RM 352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small mom and pop motel on Hwy 105 half way between Boone and Banner Elk. Enjoy birds, blooms and butterflies in our country garden. Convenient to area attractions. Near the ski slopes for winter fun. We hope you enjoy your visit ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Hotel Boone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing