We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
110
32
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
32
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmom and popflower gardengrandfather mountainfamily photosnice ownerscookie cuttername brand hotelsbanner elk areanice couplehand paintedhappily stay here againcute placequeen size bedroom was cleanstay there againsmall fridgethe north carolina mountains
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2017

This quiet little motel is a "hidden" gem in the North Carolina mountains. The atmosphere is peaceful and the views in the area are beautiful.We have stayed here several times and will certainly be back when we can. Jim and his family provide a lovely place to rest and relax while being close to Boone, Grandfather Mountain and other mountain attractions. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1969pl2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimBoone, Owner at Hidden Valley Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thanks 1969pl2017 for being our guest and writing a review of your stay. It is always our goal to provide a nice place for guests to visit and to do my best to solve any problems that may arise, thanks again, Jim & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Hidden Valley Motel has much more personality than any chain you could choose to stay at in Boone. I love the individually painted rooms and the grounds and garden have plenty of personality. No pool, no spa, no exercise equipment but you don't come to the mountains to require all these modern necessities. Their t.v. had more channels than I have at home. I am certain that we will be back.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank ccreel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimBoone, Owner at Hidden Valley Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thanks ccreel67 for your review and visiting with us at a Hidden Valley Motel. So true, no pool, no spa, like one might find at a large property, but then we do offer our own unique features like the porch, gardens or the owners the personally cleaned you room. Thanks again, Jim & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We stopped here after reading reviews on travel advisor; we don’t like big chains on interstates or downtown, we like private motels and off the beaten path places; all rooms were hand decorated with antique pictures, cans and dishes; half the price of the chain motels, just as comfortable and cleaner! Nice beds, refrigerator and microwave in rooms; lovely flower garden! Owners were so friendly and welcoming!! This is our kind of place!!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank karenlpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimBoone, Owner at Hidden Valley Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thanks karenlpn for staying with us and writing your review. We always enjoyed the small places when traveling and reviews from past guests help us and future guests. We hope our guests depart with the feeling that they have stayed with friends or family, Jim & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

This is the 3rd time we've stayed here, hubby and I. The motel is a mom and pop place and the owners are readily available to meet and converse with about the gardens or the rooms the Mr. Has hand painted and made the furniture.

It's clean and tidy and a microwave, small fridge, and coffee pot are included.

It's within driving distance of anything you want to do.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimBoone, Owner at Hidden Valley Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thanks Linda S for staying at Hidden Valley Motel and taking the time to review, thanks for being our Facebook friends too, always enjoy our guests, Jim & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We spent 2 nights here recently and loved the place. We stayed in room #1. This is a mom and pop motel and very clean and comfortable. They do a great job maintaining a flower garden out front. The rooms are decorated very cute and cozy. We had a view of Grandfather Mountain out our back window. We will definitely be staying here again when we're in the Boone area.

Room Tip: Room #1 has a swing outside the door plus it's on the end. I would choose this room again.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Car0l100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimBoone, Owner at Hidden Valley Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thanks Car0l100 for staying with us and taking the time to write your review. Mom (Maxine) gets all the credit for the garden, does all that hard work, my flowers are on the bath walls, no weeds to pull, once and done. Thanks again and see you next time, Jim & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews