We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food and atmosphere ”

Buxton Munch Company
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$14
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Serving Locals & Visitors since 1999. We specialize in over 30 Gourmet Wraps & Quesadillas. Oven-Toasted Subs & Sammies. Big Salads in Edible Tortilla Bowls. Fresh-daily-hand-pressed Angus Burgers & Freakingood Fries! They say we have the Best Fish Tacos and Shrimp Tacos on the Beach! And our Crabby Pattie Crabcake has been a best-seller for over 18 years! And the Blackened Fish Wrap or Sub/Sandwich is killer-good! Lots of Apps & Sides. Fresh French Roast Coffee. Nice selection of Hot Teas. Daily-brewed Sweet Tea and Unsweet Tea. Bottled beverages & Sodas. Beer & Wine. But please realize one thing - We are NOT a fast food joint. And if we are busy, then of course there will be a wait, as in any restaurant. We make it Real. We make it Fresh. Feed your body real stuff. "A Groovy Little Place With A Whole Lotta Taste!" PEACE.
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We had read about this place on TripAdvisor and so had it on our list.
We went for lunch and we were a bit put off by the exterior- DON'T BE PUT OFF!
On entering, it was like going into another world, a super fabulous world.
The decor is brilliant and the place has a bubbly, happy vibe.
We had to wait, not too long, as the place was packed and there was a waiting list.
We were seated at the bar which was brilliant, ask to be at the bar if you can, it's really cool and you can talk to the owner and staff AND, because they make all their food fresh it takes a little time to get your meal, they have card games at the bar so you can pass the time. We had fun playing Trivial Pursuit, haven't done that in ages.
When our food arrived it was soo good. Fresh salad, rice, beans, amazing grilled prawns and an awesome crab cake.
The servings are huge, you will not go hungry.
The woman who owns the place works there and seriously there is no better advertisement for a place if the owner is prepared to be the face of the restaurant.
She was right about everything and we all had fabulous meals.
We really did have an awesome time and have to admit that we are still talking about it. Wish we had a place just like that were we live, we would be in there all the time.
Some of the best food we had on our holiday.
Buxton is a very lucky little town to have such a fantastic eatery.

Thank Che08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M and M M, Owner at Buxton Munch Company, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

WOW!!! Thank you so much for your 5-Star Review! First of all, we are so glad you looked past our humble exterior and entered into our groovy eatery. We love your description of our interior -- thank you for that! And we thank you for your patience as you waited for your food on such a busy day. We are so happy that you liked our Shrimp Tacos and Crabby Patties Crabcakes! Thank you for noticing our attention to quality and freshness of our food. That is what we built our business on and we will continue that always. I appreciate your kind words about me, the owner, as I was going about my day, keeping things organized and running smoothly in the dining room. My husband is the chef and we both are always there to operate our restaurant, as we are very picky about all the details of running the business over the past 18 years. Your review is one of the best we have received and we are ever so grateful to you for your high recommendation! We hope to serve you again the next time you are here! Thank you and God bless!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

The homemade tuna salad & the homemade Corn & Shrimp chowder where off the charts excellent. The best chowder we've ever had. The freshest Tuna Salad we've ever had!!!!!! Don't leave Buxton without stopping in for lunch!!!

Thank MontyUSA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M and M M, Owner at Buxton Munch Company, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Monty, Thank you very much for your 5-Star Review! We're so glad you found us in our small little shopping center. And we love that you enjoyed our homemade Yellowfin Tuna Salad and homemade Shrimp Corn Chowder! We really like your phrase that our food was "Off the charts excellent!" WOW!!! That is so nice to hear! Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Food is always excellent and service is always delivered with smiles! Overall the absolute best place to eat on Hatteras Island!

Thank waaaaaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M and M M, Owner at Buxton Munch Company, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you very much for your 5-Star Review! It's so nice to hear you say that our food is always excellent and that our service is always with smiles! And we are thrilled that you think we are the best place to eat on Hatteras Island! WOW! Thank you so much! See you next time! Peace & Love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Believe the 5 star reviews. The food here is outstanding. We liked it so much, we came back 3 times! We loved the staff, they were so attentive and accommodating. They made great suggestions. We really enjoyed the fish and shrimp tacos, the crabby Patty wrap and the shrimp and corn chowder. Everything is so fresh and delicious. Yes, you may have to wait if they are busy, but you will find it is well worth the wait.

Thank Càrol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M and M M, Owner at Buxton Munch Company, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Carol, Thank you so much for your 5-Star Review! And we are rejoicing over your description of us as the "Best Restaurant on the Outer Banks!" THANK YOU FOR THAT!!! And how grateful we are that you dined with us so many times during your stay! Thank you for the shout-out to our fabulous staff - they love hearing good stuff about themselves, too! We're so glad you liked our Fish & Shrimp Tacos and Crabby Patties and Shrimp Corn Chowder. We are so pleased that you think we are worth the wait during our busy times. We can't wait to serve you again soon! God bless you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Every visit to the Buxton Munch has been a memorable experience, with Great food and Friendly service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Guruvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M and M M, Owner at Buxton Munch Company, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Guruvey, We love your user name! And we love that you gave us a 5-Star Review! Thank you so much! It's nice to know that each visit with us has been a memorable one and that you approve of our great food and friendly service. We look forward to your next visit so we can do it all over again! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buxton Munch Company also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 
Avon, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Buxton Munch Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing