We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot!”

Buxton Munch Company
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$14
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Serving Locals & Visitors since 1999. We specialize in over 30 Gourmet Wraps & Quesadillas. Oven-Toasted Subs & Sammies. Big Salads in Edible Tortilla Bowls. Fresh-daily-hand-pressed Angus Burgers & Freakingood Fries! They say we have the Best Fish Tacos and Shrimp Tacos on the Beach! And our Crabby Pattie Crabcake has been a best-seller for over 18 years! And the Blackened Fish Wrap or Sub/Sandwich is killer-good! Lots of Apps & Sides. Fresh French Roast Coffee. Nice selection of Hot Teas. Daily-brewed Sweet Tea and Unsweet Tea. Bottled beverages & Sodas. Beer & Wine. But please realize one thing - We are NOT a fast food joint. And if we are busy, then of course there will be a wait, as in any restaurant. We make it Real. We make it Fresh. Feed your body real stuff. "A Groovy Little Place With A Whole Lotta Taste!" PEACE.
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We climbed Hatteras Lighthouse, yes all 250 steps, then promptly went to TripAdvisor for lunch recommendations. Buxton Munch came up as #1, it was very close, so we decided to try it. Very good! Thank you TripAdvisor! We had blackened fish tacos and crabby avocado wrap. Spent some time chatting with the owner too! Great stop for lunch!

Thank kmcnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M and M M, Owner at Buxton Munch Company, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thank you very much for your 5-Star Review! And guess what? You actually climbed 268 steps to the top of the lighthouse, so hats off to you for that! And we thank you (and Trip Advisor) for deciding to stop in for some lunch afterward. We're delighted that you liked our Blackened Fish Tacos and Crabby Avocado Wrap! It was my pleasure to chat with you awhile. I enjoy talking with our guests very much. We hope you will stop in again on your next visit. See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

I got the veggie quesadilla and my husband got the tuna sandwich. Both were good. Even though we went during the lunch rush it didn't take too long and the staff were very attentive. I'd choose not to go during the rush next time, but that's only because I don't like crowds. The crowd dissapated really quickly and people didn't have to wait more than 15 minutes for a table even though the line was almost out the door. I'm surprised they don't have a better location because it would be even more popular! Maybe an outdoor area next to the beach or at least a view of it?

Thank elmtacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M and M M, Owner at Buxton Munch Company, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thank you for your 4-Star Review! We're so glad you liked our Veggie Quesadilla and Tuna Salad Sandwich. It has been a very busy week, and yes, we do have quite a lunch rush each day! We're happy you didn't have to wait long and that you found our staff to be very attentive. We would love to have a location like you described, however, there are no such places available. And when the water rises across the island from storms, we are oh, so grateful to be up as high as we are to prevent damage from flooding. Maybe someday we can attain a bigger place, but for now, it is what it is, and we're so pleased that you liked it! Hope to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Luv the blackened black fish grilled tacos and eat half there and take the other half for another meal what a bargain... A pet peeve of mine is food that is not really hot and they do deliver here so watch out u don't burn your mouth... Had to cut the jalapeno poppers in half to cool them a little.. but love food delivered to the table this way especially french fries.. who wants luke warm fries.. Look forward to visiting this restaurant every time we r at the outer banks and they delivered again.. go a little off hours if u can because it is a busy smaller restaurant .. we were there about 2.. If we don't there again this yr will b back the next time we camp on the Outer Banks...Luv this place..

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zelda911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M and M M, Owner at Buxton Munch Company, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Zelda, Thank you very much for your 5-Star Review! We're so glad you liked our Blackened Fish Tacos, Jalapeno Poppers and Fries! We understand your pet peeve about food arriving at the table at the wrong temperature. Our team knows we are super picky about getting the food out ASAP, and we're delighted you were pleased. How wonderful to hear that you look forward to visiting us during your future OBX trips! And it will be our pleasure to serve you again and again! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Just finished eating lunch at Buxton Munch and it was great! Special of the day was shrimp and corn chowder with a grill cheese sandwich it was awesome! Lunch menu is extensive and it all looks delicious. The cafe is very colorful and eclectic filled with the chatter of happy customers. Your loss if you don't stop by for a meal! Grumpy unhappy people should avoid this place as only happy people fine here

Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M and M M, Owner at Buxton Munch Company, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Barry, We LOVE the title of your wonderful 5-Star Review, and we thank you for that! We're so pleased that you liked our Shrimp Corn Chowder! And with over 75 items on our huge lunch menu, we hope you will come back soon so you can try some of our other popular munchies! We are also happy that you enjoyed our bright and colorful dining room. (And we love all that chatter of happy customers, too!) So glad you were one of them! We hope to serve you again on your next visit to the OBX!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

The food was great and the service was great. We will surely make this a place we visit each time we come to Buxton. A must if you are in the area

Thank Pbarger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M and M M, Owner at Buxton Munch Company, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you so much for your 5-Star Review! Great service and great food is every restaurant owner's goal and we thank you for appreciating that. How nice to know that you will add us to your annual list of places to go to! And we thank you for your recommendation to others. Hurry back so we can do it all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buxton Munch Company also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Buxton Munch Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing