We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good food”
Review of Totopos

Totopos
Reserve with OpenTable
Totopos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 531 Restaurants in Cary
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 June 2018

We go to Totopos at least twice a month and will keep going back. If jus the two of us we sit in the bar where they have tables for two. We usually share a starter and main couse since the portions are large. Depending on the night and crowd the service is usually very good but sometimes can be slow. Once you order the food it comes out pretty fast. If there is a problem with the food prep they always fix the problem right away. This is a high end Mexican meau not the run of the mill. It can be noisy some nights but that is kind of the fun.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Ronald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2018

We started off with being led to a table in back by the busy service area. We asked for a table away from it and got it. My wife started with a small and overpriced house margarita at $9.50. She ordered the chile relleno that came open-faced with black beans and rice. The poblano pepper was fairly tasteless, and she yearned for one of the more flavorful peppers of New Mexico. This seems fairly typical of chile relleno dishes in this area. I had the very large vegetarian enchiladas that was made with blue corn tortillas. It was heavy on sliced green peppers, which became boring to eat after a while. Service was OK.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maas_johnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

It was cinco de mayo so they didn't have their regular menu. I was fine with it, I get it, and they had a few vegetarian options which was nice. The tacos were filling and good, I didn't read the fine print I would have ordered on corn not flour. The only thing that disappointed was the kids were also on a limited menu only because i have picky eaters. So one kids meal was wasted since she didn't like the "look" of the cheese. The Margarita was tasty just wish it was on special for the day. Kids meals came with ice cream which is always a big hit. The service was excellent and we'll be back again when it's not a crazy day.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

Great service and food - so hard to find food that taste clean in a restaurant. Willing to adjust menu to my needs - easy to discern ingredients very helpful.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Great atmosphere and great food. Eight of us for dinner. Service was good and attentive. Make sure you order a margarita, of course you will. Would highly recommend small or big group.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank luv2sunOIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Totopos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing