We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious and up to date in the heart of Chapel Hill”
Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carolina Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York suburbs
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gracious and up to date in the heart of Chapel Hill”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We decided to treat ourselves when taking our daughter to visit The University of North Carolina as a prospective applicant. The staff was courteous and efficient, our double standard room was generously sized and well appointed, and the buffet breakfasts were wonderful. The old fashioned charm is there, but it is completely up to date and not stuffy at all. Best feature for us was the short scenic walk to UNC's Admissions Office and major campus buildings. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our first floor room was quiet and well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    981
    216
    65
    20
    17
See reviews for
475
256
65
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed one night with my son on UNC admissions tour. Excellent hotel facility, walking distance to restaurants, shops and admissions building. Very comfortable bed, charming southern atmosphere, helpful staff. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nf0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I stayed one night here and it was fantastic. It is such a cool old building and really did not feel like a hotel at all. The room I had was not large but felt very "homey". The bed was actually very comfortable and not a hard brick at all. For being so old, it was not very loud or anything. I was able to sleep very well (something I do not do easily or often). The free cookie at check in was very good as well, I did not expect much from a free cookie but it was very tasty. One piece of advice, book early if you will be there doing the UNC/dook basketball game and expect to pay 2-3x the normal nightly rate. I stayed the night of the game, but it was worth it to be on campus and a reasonable walking distance to anything on campus. Hopefully next time UNC will win the game!! All in all a great stay and a really cool place!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjj5278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Once again, this place never fails to amaze. The Carolina Inn is a wonderfully run exhibit of Southern Hospitality located within walking distance of everything you could want in Chapel Hill. This time, I ate at the restaurant in the hotel, Crossroads Carolina, and was wowed by the food. Locally sourced and adhering to sustainable practices, the food was truly great. I'd stay here again any time I could.

Room Tip: Corner king suites really have a nice feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillytarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This past stay was the 2nd time I've stayed at The Carolina Inn. I usually tag along when my husband has a meetings somewhere that I find interesting. This time I jumped at the chance just because it was The Carolina Inn.

I especially love the lobby with all the yellows and beautiful flower and plant arrangements.

The hotel is right in the center of Univ of NC @ Chapel Hill. It's a very convenient location and very easy walk to area attractions (like the museum that is 2 block away) and the ton's of shopping and dining choices.

All the staff members (valet, front desk, cleaning staff, restaurant staff) were attentive and kind.

The room was on the 3rd floor, by the elevator, but that didn't impact our sleep - as the area was quiet. There is a rather large seating area just outside our hallway and I could tell there were others on the same floor - I don't know if thats the case in the other floors.

The gym was well appointed and clean. Even a Duke punching bag :-).

the restaurant is not typical hotel dining. This restaurant could stand alone - great food and atmospher and professional staff.

I look forward to return visits - keeping my fingers crossed.

Room Tip: This time we were given a room on the 3rd floor right by the elevator and I was a bit concerned, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
2.9 km away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.5 km away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
431 reviews
0.5 km away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
461 reviews
6.5 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Property: The Carolina Inn
Address: 211 Pittsboro St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516-2739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price range (per night): RM737 - RM1,381
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing