We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel!”
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Perfect and friendly service. Comfortable rooms, great restaurant. Worth every dollar.
Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Thank you for your review! We love it when a guest has a good time and wants to come back.
We'll see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 467 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at The Esmeralda, the ambiance, the staff, and we loved the food.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inesrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Thank you for your kind review! It was a pleasure having you both with us. This is a great place for family get-togethers. Lots of things to do in the area as well as here at the Inn.
We hope you'll return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My family and I spent a girls weekend in Chimney Rock for the Easter holiday this year. I found the Esmeralda on google and decided to give it a try. The hotel is amazing and cozy. We got a mountain view room which was worth the extra money. We ate at the hotel restaurant for most of our meals; the food is world class. The staff epitomizes Southern hospitality. I highly recommend the Esmeralda Inn. It's one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarheelrn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review! The views here are hard to beat. I'm so glad you enjoyed the Restaurant and your stay at our Inn. We are very fortunate to have Chef Michael and his staff. I think we have by far, the best Restaurant in the Gorge, but I might be a little prejudiced. It was a pleasure having your family with us. Please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I escaped to the mountains amid end-of-semester craziness at our schools, just needing to slow down and breathe. We could not have been happier with our stay at the Esmeralda Inn. Our room was well-appointed, upscale without being snooty, with a spa-like bathroom and an incredibly comfy bed. The sound of the river from the front porch and the beautiful landscaping added to our experience and provided the serenity we needed. The crowning experience for us, however, was the 9-course tasting menu in the restaurant. We were the first to try it since it had only just been introduced and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for excellent food that appeals to all the senses--each course was beautifully presented and incorporated a variety of tastes, scents, and textures that made the whole event exciting and satisfying. Bring a bottle of wine. The staff members in the hotel and in the restaurant were attentive, friendly, and welcoming. The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant was the perfect retreat for us and for anyone in need of peace. Go. Now. Eat. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are very excited about the 9-Course Tasting Menu. There is nothing else like it in the area. I'm so glad you tried it and enjoyed it. I think it could become a signature feature of The Restaurant. Chef Michael has brought a whole new dimension in dining to the Gorge.

This is such a peaceful area, the river across the street and the little waterfall on the property make for a very relaxing atmosphere. I'm glad you enjoyed all of it!

We hope you'll stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The inn is delightful and offers all mod-cons in a lovely setting. The room we stayed in was super clean and comfortable. The mattress was a ultra comfy. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Bring your own wine as liquor law applies. We've already booked a few rooms for a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HakuTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is our goal to make every guests' stay an enjoyable one. It sounds like we succeeded! We get lots of great comments on our beds. They are wonderful! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and will be returning soon. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
3.3 km away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
1.9 km away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
28.9 km away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 km away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
31.4 km away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
31.2 km away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Address: 910 Main St, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range: RM715 - RM1,854 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Esmeralda Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing