We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Carter Lodge(Chimney Rock)(Great Value!)
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hickory Falls Guesthouse(Chimney Rock)(Great Value!)
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Lodge at Chimney Rock(Chimney Rock)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Evening Shade River Lodge & Cabins(Chimney Rock)(Great Value!)
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Black Mountain)
US$104
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hendersonville Inn(Hendersonville)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Broad River Inn(Chimney Rock)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chimney Rock Inn(Chimney Rock)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveller rating
504
95
16
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
504
95
16
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake lureair hockeyoutdoor fireplacebroad riverchimney rock parkterrace roomshrimp and gritshot tubpicnic lunchfront porchdirty dancingtroutget awaymodern amenitiesplan to returnbed was very comfortablemountain view
Filter
Updating list...
502 - 507 of 644 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at The Esmeralda, the ambiance, the staff, and we loved the food.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a mountain view!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inesrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Thank you for your kind review! It was a pleasure having you both with us. This is a great place for family get-togethers. Lots of things to do in the area as well as here at the Inn.
We hope you'll return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My family and I spent a girls weekend in Chimney Rock for the Easter holiday this year. I found the Esmeralda on google and decided to give it a try. The hotel is amazing and cozy. We got a mountain view room which was worth the extra money. We ate at the hotel restaurant for most of our meals; the food is world class. The staff epitomizes Southern hospitality. I highly recommend the Esmeralda Inn. It's one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarheelrn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review! The views here are hard to beat. I'm so glad you enjoyed the Restaurant and your stay at our Inn. We are very fortunate to have Chef Michael and his staff. I think we have by far, the best Restaurant in the Gorge, but I might be a little prejudiced. It was a pleasure having your family with us. Please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I escaped to the mountains amid end-of-semester craziness at our schools, just needing to slow down and breathe. We could not have been happier with our stay at the Esmeralda Inn. Our room was well-appointed, upscale without being snooty, with a spa-like bathroom and an incredibly comfy bed. The sound of the river from the front porch and the beautiful landscaping added to our experience and provided the serenity we needed. The crowning experience for us, however, was the 9-course tasting menu in the restaurant. We were the first to try it since it had only just been introduced and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for excellent food that appeals to all the senses--each course was beautifully presented and incorporated a variety of tastes, scents, and textures that made the whole event exciting and satisfying. Bring a bottle of wine. The staff members in the hotel and in the restaurant were attentive, friendly, and welcoming. The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant was the perfect retreat for us and for anyone in need of peace. Go. Now. Eat. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are very excited about the 9-Course Tasting Menu. There is nothing else like it in the area. I'm so glad you tried it and enjoyed it. I think it could become a signature feature of The Restaurant. Chef Michael has brought a whole new dimension in dining to the Gorge.

This is such a peaceful area, the river across the street and the little waterfall on the property make for a very relaxing atmosphere. I'm glad you enjoyed all of it!

We hope you'll stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The inn is delightful and offers all mod-cons in a lovely setting. The room we stayed in was super clean and comfortable. The mattress was a ultra comfy. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Bring your own wine as liquor law applies. We've already booked a few rooms for a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HakuTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is our goal to make every guests' stay an enjoyable one. It sounds like we succeeded! We get lots of great comments on our beds. They are wonderful! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and will be returning soon. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Exceeded expectations across the board. We stayed here after it was recommended by another hotel in Lake Lure that was booked. I was impressed. The place was clean and with many thoughtful touches. They don't push a luxury angle / luxury names on, say, everything from the food to the toiletries but the place is luxurious in many delightful little ways. The HVAC is a quiet European unit with no compressors going on and off. (We turned ours off and cracked the window to listen to the river outside.) The continental breakfast has lots of homemade items such as yogurt, coffee cake, and banana nut bread. The staff is professional, courteous, and knowledgeable without being chummy and familiar. I rarely see this kind of well-run establishment in this time but occasionally one runs across a restaurant or hotel where the owner has taken full ownership and pride in their business - and it shows. The Esmeralda is such a place. p.s. the wood floor downstairs was donated from the "Dirty Dancing" gymnasium.

Room Tip: The sound of the River can be heard from the front rooms but the back rooms are probably fine as well.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wireless200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We like to do everything we can to make your stay comfortable and memorable. The location helps! The sound of the river is so much better than air conditioners.

Chef Michael and our Pastry Chef Sharyn do a great job of preparing the foods you enjoyed for breakfast. We are very fortunate to have both of them with us.

We think of The Esmeralda as home and our staff as family. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we all hope you'll return many times!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews