We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Carter Lodge(Chimney Rock)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hickory Falls Guesthouse(Chimney Rock)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chimney Rock Inn(Chimney Rock)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Riverside Lodge at Chimney Rock(Chimney Rock)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Quality Inn(Black Mountain)
US$115
US$95
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hendersonville Inn(Hendersonville)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 49% below average rates

The price you found is 49% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Broad River Inn(Chimney Rock)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveller rating
500
94
15
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
500
94
15
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake lureair hockeyoutdoor fireplacebroad riverchimney rock parklarge hot tubterrace roomshrimp and gritspicnic lunchdirty dancingfront porchget awayrocking chairstroutowners and staffmodern amenitiesguest rooms
Filter
Updating list...
462 - 467 of 638 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We spent one night. The rooms are a little small, no desk, and only one chair to sit in. However, the furnishings are first class. There is a large lounge area that you can use if you need a desk. The restaurant meal was outstanding. We were warned ahead of time that they did not serve alcohol and it is several miles to the closest place that sells wine. The state liquor store is a little closer for the hard stuff. A very nice porch with rocking chairs to sit on while enjoying your beverages. Nice outside fire pit and the hotel supplied "smores baskets". Clearly the best place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJinANP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a great review! It's true, some of the rooms are not large, but we think that is part of their charm. We find most guests spend most of their time enjoying the mountains and when at the Inn, the Lounge, Front Porch and Spa Patio areas are favorite spots to relax. The S'mores help!

I believe we have the best restaurant in the Hickory Nut Gorge! Chef Josh is wonderful. We are very fortunate to have such a great kitchen staff. We look forward to the time when we can offer our own select wine list, but until then, the Brown Bag permit allows guests to bring their favorite wine, beer or spirits to enjoy with a great meal.

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This hotel seems to have had a complete rebuild over the last 20 yrs or so and the quality of the fit out reflects the high standard of rebuild. The owners maintain that standards throughout the service offering. The quality of food is excellent (no alcohol sold in the hotel, so BYO only). Rooms are very impressive with big comfortable beds. In the hotel grounds there is a large jacuzzi which is very soothing at the end of a days trekking. Also, there is an open fireplace with a seating area which is a very atmospheric place to sit at the end of the day for a relaxed conversation.

Room Tip: Bring your favourite wine with you as the local bye laws prevent alcohol sales. The hotel will charge an acceptable corkage fee. Weirdly, wine and cheese are provided free at four in the afternoon.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lackavra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Thank you for the great review! The Inn was rebuilt after a fire that leveled it in 1997. We believe a standard of excellence should be the norm in all areas of service.

I'm glad you enjoyed The Restaurant. We are very fortunate to have Chef Josh with us. He and his staff do a great job! Watch our website for some menu changes in the fall!

We are allowed to offer a glass of wine to all who enter, but cannot sell it. We find most of our diners are content to bring their favorite alcoholic beverage with them. Hopefully, in the future we will be able to offer our own select wine list.

The Jacuzzi and fireplace are very popular with our guests. Did you have the S'mores Survival Kit?

We hope you'll return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife and I spent a night here last week. The property has been re-built following a fire in the 1990's, but retains its rustuc look and feel. The check-in was smooth and easy. We took the elevator to the room. It was nicely appointed, if a little small. The bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows. The lines were top notch. There was a flat screen TV with satellite, although we spent a good part of the evening taking in the views rocking on the 2nd floor porch.
The bathroom was clean and had top quality toiletries. We might have liked a garden tub, but it was not a problem and one may have been available in a premium room.

We enjoyed breakfast on the patio outdoors the next morning. The menu had a nice variety of choices and the food was tasteful and nicely prepared, but perhaps a little slow coming out of the kitchen.

I would have given five stars but the $219 price seemed a little high for the size of the room. As there are not a lot of other choices at this level in the immediate area, I suppose it is supply and demand. I would, however, recommend The Esmeralda, and would probably stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptrb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to write a great review! When the Inn was rebuilt, we tried to keep the flavor of the old Inn. It's rustic, but with the modern conveniences travelers enjoy.
The Mountain View Queen rooms are not large, but we think that is part of their charm. It sounds like you found some of the great public areas! Next time, check out the 18 person Jacuzzi and patio area. The outdoor fireplace is especially nice!

The Inn was rebuilt on the same footprint as the original building, but now each room has a private bath, which was not the case in the old Inn. All of the baths are basically the same.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you'll return soon and often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This is a real gem. A lovely hotel, very comfortable, great staff, great rooms, great food, great value, and in one of the loveliest spots in NC if not the USA. Hurry, make a booking!
(extras include a huge hot tub and a very atmospheric late evening outdoor fire).

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank BallaghMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review! It sounds like you had a great time!

The Hickory Nut Gorge area is one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen. You should come in the Spring when everything is blooming. Or in the Fall when the leaves are changing color.
Any time of year is good!

The outdoor fireplace is popular year round. You should try the S'mores Survival Kit next time you visit.

We look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Esmeralda Inn. The place is very quaint. The rooms are not big but they are plenty comfortable (the bed is very comfortable). Nice TV/DVR in the rooms. We ate a very tasty breakfast both days, with wonderful atmosphere and very nice servers. The hot tub is excellent (sits out next to an outdoor fireplace on the patio. The hotel is very convenient to the lake and other attractions. The owners are super nice.

We would definitely recommend the Esmeralda, and plan on staying there during our next visit to Lake Lure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. Some of the rooms are not large, but we think that is part of their charm! The beds are wonderful.

I'm glad you enjoyed the Jacuzzi and patio area. It's a great place to relax at the end of a day of hiking, shopping or exploring the Gorge. Next time, try the S'mores Survival Kit!

You're right, we're in a perfect location. It's not far to go horseback riding, boating on the Lake, hiking Chimney Rock Park or exploring Asheville. And the views aren't bad either!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews