We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a motorcycle rider in the mountains”
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2012

on my birthday i wanted to go to lake lure/ chimney rock to ride from columbia sc. in the middle of my ride the rain poured so i came down the mountain and walked in this little place soak and wet. an "angel" name Scout was there to help me get a room and shared all the information i needed to help me through this adventure. this went from a omg what do i do situation to a great evening at the inn and the little town i love.

thanks again,

marshall

Room Tip: any room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marshall P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Marshall, thank you for the great review! Scout is a jewel. We stole her from the Dining Room because of her great personality!

I'm so glad you found us! We always welcome walk-ins, soaking wet or not. This is such a beautiful area, many bikers pass through here and many stay with us.

We hope you'll return soon and stay longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

429 - 433 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

We spent one night. The rooms are a little small, no desk, and only one chair to sit in. However, the furnishings are first class. There is a large lounge area that you can use if you need a desk. The restaurant meal was outstanding. We were warned ahead of time that they did not serve alcohol and it is several miles to the closest place that sells wine. The state liquor store is a little closer for the hard stuff. A very nice porch with rocking chairs to sit on while enjoying your beverages. Nice outside fire pit and the hotel supplied "smores baskets". Clearly the best place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJinANP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a great review! It's true, some of the rooms are not large, but we think that is part of their charm. We find most guests spend most of their time enjoying the mountains and when at the Inn, the Lounge, Front Porch and Spa Patio areas are favorite spots to relax. The S'mores help!

I believe we have the best restaurant in the Hickory Nut Gorge! Chef Josh is wonderful. We are very fortunate to have such a great kitchen staff. We look forward to the time when we can offer our own select wine list, but until then, the Brown Bag permit allows guests to bring their favorite wine, beer or spirits to enjoy with a great meal.

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This hotel seems to have had a complete rebuild over the last 20 yrs or so and the quality of the fit out reflects the high standard of rebuild. The owners maintain that standards throughout the service offering. The quality of food is excellent (no alcohol sold in the hotel, so BYO only). Rooms are very impressive with big comfortable beds. In the hotel grounds there is a large jacuzzi which is very soothing at the end of a days trekking. Also, there is an open fireplace with a seating area which is a very atmospheric place to sit at the end of the day for a relaxed conversation.

Room Tip: Bring your favourite wine with you as the local bye laws prevent alcohol sales. The hotel will charg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lackavra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Thank you for the great review! The Inn was rebuilt after a fire that leveled it in 1997. We believe a standard of excellence should be the norm in all areas of service.

I'm glad you enjoyed The Restaurant. We are very fortunate to have Chef Josh with us. He and his staff do a great job! Watch our website for some menu changes in the fall!

We are allowed to offer a glass of wine to all who enter, but cannot sell it. We find most of our diners are content to bring their favorite alcoholic beverage with them. Hopefully, in the future we will be able to offer our own select wine list.

The Jacuzzi and fireplace are very popular with our guests. Did you have the S'mores Survival Kit?

We hope you'll return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife and I spent a night here last week. The property has been re-built following a fire in the 1990's, but retains its rustuc look and feel. The check-in was smooth and easy. We took the elevator to the room. It was nicely appointed, if a little small. The bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows. The lines were top notch. There was a flat screen TV with satellite, although we spent a good part of the evening taking in the views rocking on the 2nd floor porch.
The bathroom was clean and had top quality toiletries. We might have liked a garden tub, but it was not a problem and one may have been available in a premium room.

We enjoyed breakfast on the patio outdoors the next morning. The menu had a nice variety of choices and the food was tasteful and nicely prepared, but perhaps a little slow coming out of the kitchen.

I would have given five stars but the $219 price seemed a little high for the size of the room. As there are not a lot of other choices at this level in the immediate area, I suppose it is supply and demand. I would, however, recommend The Esmeralda, and would probably stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptrb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to write a great review! When the Inn was rebuilt, we tried to keep the flavor of the old Inn. It's rustic, but with the modern conveniences travelers enjoy.
The Mountain View Queen rooms are not large, but we think that is part of their charm. It sounds like you found some of the great public areas! Next time, check out the 18 person Jacuzzi and patio area. The outdoor fireplace is especially nice!

The Inn was rebuilt on the same footprint as the original building, but now each room has a private bath, which was not the case in the old Inn. All of the baths are basically the same.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you'll return soon and often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This is a real gem. A lovely hotel, very comfortable, great staff, great rooms, great food, great value, and in one of the loveliest spots in NC if not the USA. Hurry, make a booking!
(extras include a huge hot tub and a very atmospheric late evening outdoor fire).

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank BallaghMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review! It sounds like you had a great time!

The Hickory Nut Gorge area is one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen. You should come in the Spring when everything is blooming. Or in the Fall when the leaves are changing color.
Any time of year is good!

The outdoor fireplace is popular year round. You should try the S'mores Survival Kit next time you visit.

We look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
3.3 km away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
1.9 km away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
28.9 km away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 km away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
19.3 km away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
794 reviews
7.1 km away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Address: 910 Main St, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range: RM723 - RM1,814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Esmeralda Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing