We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving Meal Experience”
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2017

I have emailed the owner/manager twice concerning our meal on Thanksgiving Day and got the same generic response from her that she posted on here to another patron who was disappointed. I don't even know where to begin, except we were corralled in and waited in line for 30 mins with elderly parents whom can't stand for long periods, we were told we had a reservation at 2:00 PM, but was not allowed into the Inn until 2:45 PM, then we were placed in the very back of a dining room at 2 separate tables for our family of 10 and they told us we'd be notified when the buffet was ready and when we were it was 95% empty, we had to wait an additional 15 mins on refills, and an extra 15 mins just on turkey, while the staff seemed very overwhelmed. Didn't get drink refills, I asked 2 wait staff members to speak with a manager and both requests were ignored, so I emailed Kim Cason twice and still have not had the issue resolved, so I thought it'd be best if I left my review here for Ms. Cason. Maybe then there will be some resolution. It was an absolute flop, very, very disappointing experience from the beginning to the end.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Deanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2017

We had a good traditional meal at the Esmeralda last night - crowd was large and staff exhausted from 2 previous sittings during the day. Food was fine - sweet potatoes awesome even. However, we waited almost 40 minutes once we had finished our meal to get our check and only got it then because I went to the front desk and complained. I've noticed that the folks that own the Esmeralda comment on posts on TripAdvisor so I thought the best way to get feedback to them is here - knowing how many people you had booked for Thanksgiving should give you a clue that everyone will be paying at some point. I'm sorry to say that will probably keep us from returning, certainly for a big event.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInnkeeper, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We wish any complaints would have been brought to our attention at the time of service, so we could properly handle this matter. As one of the few establishments open in the area on this holiday we did our best to accommodate everyone. We were able to serve around 350 guests but unfortunately still had a waiting list with over 150 guests. Our entire staff chose to forfeit their thanksgiving holiday with their families to serve the community. Many of the guests were grateful for that sacrifice and enjoyed their experience. However, we are aware we were not able to meet everyone's expectations and we apologize for those shortcomings. we ask that for you not to judge us on the busiest day of the year for our restaurant and dine with us again on a standard service evening. We are continually working on improvements to better serve our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

River running just outside window makes this property an ideal retreat for relaxation and beauty. Dinner on the Inn's porch was wonderful.
The location is amazing with beautiful views of the mountains and close to Asheville and Blue Ridge Parkway.
The TV area in cabin could be improved by adding another comfortable couch.
The staff were accommodating and gracious.

Room Tip: Mountainside cabin is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mellowood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInnkeeper, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We hope that you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Back for our second anniversary and really enjoyed it!

My wife and I made our first stop on our honeymoon at the Esmeralda back in 2015 and have been back several times a year since. This trip was especially special because we are pregnant with our first baby!

The entire inn is always incredibly clean in every aspect.
I'm never let down by how comfortably clean our room is on every visit, this particular visit was no exception. It is also worth noting that the restaurant boasts a 100% sanitation rating.

Honestly, I feel at home at The Esmeralda Inn. My wife and I sneak down to the inn several times a year to relax and get away from the day to day hustle and bustle of day to day life. We leave the inn each time discussing when we want to make our next reservation.

The only thing that seems to have changed this visit is the restaurant. We were disappointed to read that the chef had changed since our last visit and just didn't find the new menu to be quite as good as the menu we were accustomed to. Our disappointment is solely found in the new variety as it does not meet our taste like the old menu. Overall, the restaurant is still a nice amenity, it is just not something that I enjoyed as much as usual.

In summation, we're already planning our next trip before baby is born. We've never stayed at another place in Chimney Rock, and we don't plan to. It is a fantastic retreat and holds a special place in our hearts.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LordOfTheDance1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInnkeeper, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We are always glad when you return for another visit at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We will look forward to your return visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

This is a great place to stay near Chimney Rock and Lake Lure. Accommodations are very nice and the restaurant is excellent. We visit our son who is staying in the area and will keep returning to the Inn. We have found the staff very pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tom-H-USF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInnkeeper, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that we can be accommodating to your needs when you are in town to visit your son. We will look forward to your visit with you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimney Rock
3.3 km away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
2.4 km away
Chimney Rock Inn
Chimney Rock Inn
#4 of 4 in Chimney Rock
32 reviews
28.9 km away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
20.4 km away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#3 of 6 in Flat Rock
336 reviews
31.2 km away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Address: 910 Main St, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range: RM650 - RM2,249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esmeralda Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing