We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“4X4 BEACH + LUXURY HOUSE= ONE OF A KIND VACATION”
The Hemingway Front View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hemingway Front View
The Hemingway Facing The Ocean
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
The Hemingway Front View
The Hemingway Facing The Ocean
My Favorite Ernest Hemingway Book is Featured Here
The Man Who Inspired This Beautiful House
Kitchen with Viking  Applinces & Granite Tops
Lots of Open Space Throughout This Home
Viking Rangetop and Beautiful Tumbled Stone Splash
Plenty of Seating for All Our Guests
The Game Room Bar
Captains Watch Library
Example of Wainscoting Throughout House
Bedroom #1, King, Ground Floor
Bedroom #2, King, Ground Floor Ocean Side
Bedroom #3, Queen, Ground Floor
Bedroom #4, King, Ground Floor Ocean Side
Bedroom #5, Tri-Bunk. Room Connects to BRm #3
Bedroom #6, King, Ground Floor Ocean Side
Bedroom #7, King, 2nd Main Floor
Bedroom #8, King, Main Middle Floor
Bedroom #9, Queen, Oceanside, 2nd Main Floor
Bedroom #10, King, Oceanside, 2nd Main Floor
Bedroom #11, Queen, Oceanside, 3rd Floor
Bedroom #12, King, Oceanside 3rd Floor
Bedroom #13, King, 3rd Floor
Bedroom #14, King, 3rd FL, Master Suite
'WILD HORSES' Frequent the Beach Out Front
What Other Landscape Offers This Daily Site?
Not A Bad Spot for a Wedding
You'll Enjoy Spending Time Under the Gazebo
Awe Shucks, Don't You Just Hate The Beach!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
14 Bedrooms, 14 Bathrooms, Sleeps 29
Corolla, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
josh a
2 reviews
“4X4 BEACH + LUXURY HOUSE= ONE OF A KIND VACATION”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have been coming to the OBX for going on 8 years now we started off in Hatteras and have been moving north over the last seven years so we have got to experience all types of homes and owners. We started renting the Hemingway 2 years ago and we were very hesitant on booking on 4x4 beach you hear alot about it due to being on a secluded stretch of beach with no roads but we pulled the trigger and rented the Hemingway and let me tell you it took us 6 years to find the gem and we now call the Hemingway home for one week out of the year and will continue to return year after year.

The Hemingway is everything and more the pics and videos don't do justice for this place the owner keeps everything to high standards only thing people need to understand is that these homes are in a very harsh environment and the owner keeps all 3 of his homes in very good conditon.

PROS
Ocean front
Private beach access
Awesome amenities
Private pool & hot tubwith Tiki Bar (aka our second home lol)
Large decks plenty of room to play Cornhole and Layout
You hear alot about the well water being bad due to shallow wells and being on secluded beach the owner has gone to the highest standards with his water filtration system i got to check out the whole operation thanks to the Maintenance Man (Shane) and i was very impressed with the filtration system the water is great and with 25 plus people in our group not a issue one.
Last but not least the horses are surrounding this house everyday we laugh most people have to drive and find them but we get to sit and drink coffee and watch the wild horse just feet away from the decks.

Cons:
Our first year i noticed a flat top grill in a picture and once we check in i looked everywhere for this grill but due to the harsh environment they no longer had it but we did have 2 nice gas grills but this will show you what type of owner that owns this house we returned our second year and Shane said well i got a a surprise for you i know last year we didnt have the flat top grill so the owner went out and bought one and im putting it together and i will deliver it today. It wasn't about the grill it was him caring enough about his guest to remember a year later about something that most rental agencies would care less about and for that I thank him. The only negative thing i can say is that one week a year just is not enough and we look forward to making many more memories at the Hemingway in years to come. I also want to give major props to Shane you wont find a better property manager in the OBX......

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your review! We do work hard and it's so nice to know that our guests see and enjoy the fruits of our hard work. That's the payoff, when our guests enjoy this home and the secluded, quiet and rustic environment. We are happy you and your wonderful group will be returning for a 3rd year at The Hemingway! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
familytra...
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful House on the Beach" Pool area wins hands down!”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our large extended family loved this house so much last year, we are headed back this year! The first time in 6 years we are staying in the same house. The pool area/deck is our main reason for loving this place. The area is removed from the house a bit so it makes it safer for the young ones and offers a little quiet for those staying in the house. The bar is wonderful area. The house itself is nice, The kitchen is small for the size of the house with only one oven. However, refrigerator space is nice. All bedrooms have their own bathroom except the queen/duo on the first floor that share. Not all bedrooms have tvs which is a source of contention in my family! There is a bit of traffic on the beach since you are only 2 miles down on the beach. The horses freely roam the area.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brielle
Reviewed 23 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jul 2013
Thank You Joe, appreciate your kind words and so happy you had a Great Time... Come Back Soon!
Chuck
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Charleston, SC & New York, NY USA
Reviewed 1 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$3,495
/ Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing