We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable. But--”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Durham Downtown
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We chose Aloft for our stay because it was close to the Durham baseball park where we were going to see Bulls play for their minor league championship (--and yes, they did win the series, although they lost the one game we watched). Our Aloft mini-suite was well laid out and my wife said the pillows were by far the most comfortable of any of the five hostelries in which we stayed during an 8-day 1,775-mile road trip by car. Yet there were BUTs: --we didn't expect a parking charge for the adjacent garage... --my wife compared the narrow hallway leading to our room to a prison walkway (--possibly an exaggeration; she has never been in prison)... the breakfast offering was unappealing as far as we were concerned; we ate elsewhere... and at one point the next morning, the Wi-Fi was unavailable because too many guests were using it at the same time. So, yes, we would stay there again if going to another Durham Bulls game in the future, but otherwise, not.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oaktownboy_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesar S, General Manager at Aloft Durham Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

oaktownboy_37 - Go Bulls! We appreciate having you as a guest with us on your incredible journey. I can only imagine what an adventure it was traveling that distance in a little over a week. Durham [and specifically downtown] has seen a dramatic positive revitalization over the past decade. One result of this is high demand for parking spaces - from an original constraint to several new hotels, businesses and residential space being introduced to the area. In order to secure and guarantee guest parking spaces, we do need to charge for overnight parking. Having several restaurant options close to the hotel is perfect for those looking for a little bit more than our options at ReFuel. The Wi-Fi should not have had any issues, and that is not normal so I will have our Engineering team look into that. Thank you for bringing that to my attention and additionally for writing in.

Caesar Swift | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

This hotel is very different from anyplace I've been before. The lobby is open and bright, with modern, trendy, vibrant decor.. A ticker tape on the wall is a highlight, as are the decorations and the casual "front desk" in the middle of everything. A bar and lounge with a pool table are to one side. This was not a lobby where you could relax quietly.

The rooms are quite large and comfortable, with excellent beds, a large desk/dresser and a sofa. The two part bathroom was very modern in style, with a large glassed in shower stall.

There are no bellhops and no room service, and only basic supplies are provided in the bathroom. A self serve store is located off the lobby, and fresh omelets are available at breakfast. There is an outdoor covered pool.

Overall it was a nice place to stay in a very good location, but I would have preferred something a little more cozy and traditional.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tag1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesar S, General Manager at Aloft Durham Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

tag1000 - We are indeed a little different - as we say 'by design' - and glad that Aloft Durham Downtown was accommodating overall during your visit. For some of the amenities that may not be provided directly, such as luggage assistance, any member of our Talent are more than happy to assist - simply request with us at any time. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Caesar Swift | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

I stayed here for a wedding. This location is close to Duke and lots of restaurants and points of interest. The decor is funky. Sort of memorabilia meets millinenial. We had a huge room. 2 queens and good size siting area. Free coffee in the lobby. There is not a real restaurant but you can order food and buy microwaveable stuff. I will look for Alofts in other places when traveling

Room Tip: Ask for a sitting area, upper floors too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmosvisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesar S, General Manager at Aloft Durham Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel while staying in Durham for a wedding, Cosmosvisit. It sounds like you were in a Savvy room with 2 Queen Beds - one of my faves in the hotel! This location does have larger rooms than a "traditional" Aloft and it's great to be able to offer that for those wishing to have a little extra space. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

Caesar Swift | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

This is our second visit to the Aloft, having stayed here in June and now August 2017. The Aloft is a very modern and trendy hotel that we have truly enjoyed. The rooms are spacious and state of the art. Other hotels that we usually frequent just seem okay after staying here! It is also so close to the Bulls Stadium where we enjoyed a game and to DPAC where we hope to see a show soon. We will be back!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesar S, General Manager at Aloft Durham Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Linda G - Please do seek us out when you are back for a show at DPAC. The '17-'18 season is looking exciting with many top performances already scheduled. So glad that your visits have been accommodating. See you soon!

Caesar Swift | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

This is a terrific location. But aloft hotels are short on amenities....no room service or bellmen-but they make up for it with a great front desk staff.
Uber is readily available all over town and the restaurants are all terrific.
The hotel is next door to the performing arts center and a wonderful restaurant called Nanasteak. Best fried okra ad heirloom tomato salad I've ever had!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesar S, General Manager at Aloft Durham Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Tina C - NanaSteak does it right for sure and having them right next door to us is a great amenity for guests. Thanks for recognizing our Talent and hope your college tour went well! There are plenty of incredible Universities nearby.

Caesar Swift | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 km away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#21 of 71 in Durham
324 reviews
0.4 km away
Unscripted Durham
Unscripted Durham
#20 of 71 in Durham
229 reviews
0.5 km away
Durham Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
0.5 km away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#3 of 71 in Durham
322 reviews
6.1 km away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Durham Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Durham Downtown

Address: 345 Blackwell St, Durham, NC 27701-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: RM461 - RM972 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Durham Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Durham Downtown, a hip new hotel with easy access to the American Tobacco Historic District's offices, shops, and restaurants. We offer a great location for enjoying the area's universities, arts centers, and sports venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Aloft Durham Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing