We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$187
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$179
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Arrowhead Inn(Durham)
US$209
US$149
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
64
63
28
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
63
28
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdurham performing arts centeramerican tobaccobaseball stadiumtobacco roadgreat locationadjacent garageloud hornfree coffee in the morningsound sleepball parkwater towerloud trainhotel accesssliding doordriving homewithin walking distanceshower and toilet
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This hotel is very different from anyplace I've been before. The lobby is open and bright, with modern, trendy, vibrant decor.. A ticker tape on the wall is a highlight, as are the decorations and the casual "front desk" in the middle of everything. A bar and lounge with a pool table are to one side. This was not a lobby where you could relax quietly.

The rooms are quite large and comfortable, with excellent beds, a large desk/dresser and a sofa. The two part bathroom was very modern in style, with a large glassed in shower stall.

There are no bellhops and no room service, and only basic supplies are provided in the bathroom. A self serve store is located off the lobby, and fresh omelets are available at breakfast. There is an outdoor covered pool.

Overall it was a nice place to stay in a very good location, but I would have preferred something a little more cozy and traditional.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tag1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesar S, General Manager at Aloft Durham Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

tag1000 - We are indeed a little different - as we say 'by design' - and glad that Aloft Durham Downtown was accommodating overall during your visit. For some of the amenities that may not be provided directly, such as luggage assistance, any member of our Talent are more than happy to assist - simply request with us at any time. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Caesar Swift | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

I stayed here for a wedding. This location is close to Duke and lots of restaurants and points of interest. The decor is funky. Sort of memorabilia meets millinenial. We had a huge room. 2 queens and good size siting area. Free coffee in the lobby. There is not a real restaurant but you can order food and buy microwaveable stuff. I will look for Alofts in other places when traveling

Room Tip: Ask for a sitting area, upper floors too
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmosvisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesar S, General Manager at Aloft Durham Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel while staying in Durham for a wedding, Cosmosvisit. It sounds like you were in a Savvy room with 2 Queen Beds - one of my faves in the hotel! This location does have larger rooms than a "traditional" Aloft and it's great to be able to offer that for those wishing to have a little extra space. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

Caesar Swift | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

This is our second visit to the Aloft, having stayed here in June and now August 2017. The Aloft is a very modern and trendy hotel that we have truly enjoyed. The rooms are spacious and state of the art. Other hotels that we usually frequent just seem okay after staying here! It is also so close to the Bulls Stadium where we enjoyed a game and to DPAC where we hope to see a show soon. We will be back!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesar S, General Manager at Aloft Durham Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Linda G - Please do seek us out when you are back for a show at DPAC. The '17-'18 season is looking exciting with many top performances already scheduled. So glad that your visits have been accommodating. See you soon!

Caesar Swift | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

This is a terrific location. But aloft hotels are short on amenities....no room service or bellmen-but they make up for it with a great front desk staff.
Uber is readily available all over town and the restaurants are all terrific.
The hotel is next door to the performing arts center and a wonderful restaurant called Nanasteak. Best fried okra ad heirloom tomato salad I've ever had!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesar S, General Manager at Aloft Durham Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Tina C - NanaSteak does it right for sure and having them right next door to us is a great amenity for guests. Thanks for recognizing our Talent and hope your college tour went well! There are plenty of incredible Universities nearby.

Caesar Swift | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

I loved this hotel. The room was designed really well, and had super high ceilings which made it feel spacious and loft-like. The bar was cute, and offers outdoor seating, and the lobby super nice/arty. Everything feels brand new. I had a great interaction with the staff also.

The location was awesome. There is so much to walk to around there! I mean, a LOT of restaurants, bars, cool shops and more. I wish we could have stayed another couple of nights honestly. Durham has a lot of cool stuff going on.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesar S, General Manager at Aloft Durham Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thanks for spending some time with us, MWVanderbilt. Durham does have so much to offer and we are happy that you were able to explore our incredible City.

Caesar Swift | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews