We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Lunch in a Lovely Setting”
Review of Nasher Museum Cafe

Nasher Museum Cafe
Ranked #96 of 857 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Anderson
Description: The 100-seat indoor/outdoor Nasher Cafe overlooks the garden and sits adjacent to a Mark Di Suvero sculpture, providing a serene and beautiful ambience. The menu consists of soups, salads, sandwiches, and desserts.
Reviewed 16 June 2017

We visited Nasher Museum Cafe for lunch during the week.The Cafe is located in the museum's atrium with outdoor seating.
Our waitress was very helpful - took our order quickly. Food was a little slow coming out but so worth the wait. We shared a Caesar kale salad and Fried Green Tomato sandwich. Both delicious!

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravlFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2017

The Nasher Cafe has the best brunch in Durham. Their Eggs Benedict are very good, their soups are good, had the best Chicken Tortilla Soup that I have ever eaten last month at Nasher. While very good, there were some fixable flaws: the Eggs Benedict came out at the same time as the soup, would have been nice to have timed the courses, sometimes service is a bit slow. This is a Giorgios Bakatsias
operation and is consistently good.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RJJ6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

Duke University insiders know the Nasher Museum Cafe is a pleasant way to enjoy a snack or lunch break on the Duke campus, just a couple of blocks from the famous and beautiful Duke Gardens. Fresh mushrooms, berries, nuts and vegetables abound in the salads, and soup and sandwiches are also available. Prices are modest (about $11 for a generous, shareable salad or a sandwich plate). The setting is simple and informal (no tablecloths, beautiful forest views) and service is friendly. A hidden gem!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Projournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

The food at the Nasher cafe is good! Highly recommend the Nasher salad! There is outdoor seating available which is very nice and has a good view! The restaurant is easy to find. Service was slow.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sailorchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

My son and I had lunch here midweek and had the place to ourselves. It is considerably busier on week-ends. Nice selection of salads and sandwiches. Generous portions. My son had a spinach salad with apple, blue cheese, candied pecans, and dried cherries -- good dressing, just the right amount. I had a goat cheese and avocado BLT -- it was big! -- which came with a side (I had quinoa, which was a nice light quinoa salad). Plenty of food for the two of us, with half a sandwich leftover. We got a cookie to go -- the other desserts looked good too. Excellent coffee. Service was prompt and attentive but not obtrusive. We sat near a window and had a great view of the giant sculpture outside and the interior of the museum as well. A nice place for lunch while checking out the latest exhibits.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank OyMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Nasher Museum Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing