We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nation's Inn(West Jefferson)
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express West Jefferson(West Jefferson)(Great Value!)
US$95
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New River Inn and Cabins(Glendale Springs)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
15
14
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
14
2
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Great location, easy access off of the parkway, nice quiet location! Showers and toilet a bit small for a larger guy! But, bed was very comfortable, jacuzzi tub added a nice feature. Would stay again, but in larger cabin....

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louco1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

If you are planing a trip to the Blue Ridge parkway with a large group, the Mountain View Lodge is a wonderful place to consider. You have a large lawn for an event and plenty of space inside for meals and gatherings. It has a comfy "home" setting, and you can even bring "Spot" with you. My daughter wed at a cabin near the lodge and this gave us an opportunity to keep all the family and friends together.

Darlene is a wonderful person to talk too and she helped us get transportation to and from Raffaldini vineyards so we could all celebrate in style.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed here in the Pine Cabin while attending Merlefest (Late April in Wilkesboro NC) and thought it perfect for us. The cabin was cute, clean and stocked well enough with pots, pans and utencils for us to cook breakfast, make tea and have a midnight snack when we got back to the accomodation. It was warm, relatively spacious (compared to a hotel room) and quiet, which we needed after our busy, loud, rainy days. The beds were comfortable but the heat in the King bedroom needed some figuring out. My suggestion is to heat up the room (and the bed) when you get in by turning the heat between low and comfort zone, then before you go to bed turn it down to below "Low. " The baseboard radiator is all across and below the headboard which means the bed frame and the mattress get crazy hot and make you sizzle. However, this can be managed. Turn heat in living room to low or below for the sake of the heat rising in the loft bedroom.
The cabins were located 20 miles up a mountain and a ways across the beautiful Blue Ridge Parkway which is dark and sometimes foggy at night-if that matters to you). It took 30-40 minutes from Merlefest in Wilkesboro but, in our minds, it was well worth it for the space, cleanliness and quiet. I liked the cotton sheets, could have used another blanket so I could have slept without any heat, didn't care about the jacuzzi tub, would have preferred soap and another mirror besides the one small one over the sink in the bathroom (A full length behind the bedroom closet door?)
Just so you know, cell service is spotty here and I hear Verizon and a local company are the best. Still, I couldn't get my Verizon "Hot Spot" to connect for internet service. Plan on that if your kids are waiting to hear from you etc.
BTW, reading other reviews, in our case, tthere was someone available for us when we got there who helped us turn up the gas fireplace.
I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lana o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Disaster. We checked into the Virginia cabin at 9 pm to find the fireplace and water heater not working. In Fall, the cabin was simply not habitable without water water and heat from the fireplace. And we had no idea where to go for help. We had cellphone numbers for the owner, but there was no cell service up there in the mountain. Luckily, we were there with another couple and were able to stay at their cabin for the next 2 nights. The fireplace and water heater worked over there perfectly.

On our return, we raised this issue with the owner, but she attributed it to operator error and stopped responding to us after 2 emails. Definitely not going back again.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AtlantaMangosteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We wanted to take a trip to North Carolina to see the fall color and of course the mountains this October. Wow, we packed food to cook. We packed our clothes, DVD's, well it seemed like even the kitchen sink and let me tell you, this place had everything. We could have taken a couple of changes of clothes and some groceries and hopped in the car. The cabin was beautifully clean, full of clean towels and washcloths. They had thoughtfully filled the little kitchen area with pots & pans and dishes and silverware. There's an outside grill, a camp fire by the pond, as well as a stove top and microwave and toaster oven. All this and a porch swing. Who could ask for more? But wait, it's pet friendly. We even took our little 7 lb. shih tzu. This is not a place to go if you want to be in the city, it is a place to go to town for a little while and go back and relax. It even had Direct Tv and a few DVD's set out to watch if we wanted to. These are thoughtful people.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the "pet friendly" cabin if you have a furry member of your family. Bring charcoal if you want to use the grill.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews