We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-fashioned hamburgers, sweet tea, and ice cream (YUM-YUM)”

Jim's Hot Dog & Hamburger Incorporated
Ranked #10 of 52 Restaurants in Graham
Restaurant details
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Jim's is an institution in Graham. And one that is consistently excellent -- year after year. My sister insists on at least one meal here (eat in or take out) when she treks in from Washington, D.C. a couple of times a year.

Burgers are delicious -- my favorite is with mustard and slaw. So old-fashioned that if you ask for "unsweet tea," you'll get the look that says, "sorry, son, we don't have (ANYTHING) that's not sweet."

Ice cream is soft serve, out of a dispenser. But when hot fudge, gooey nuts, cherry, and whipped cream are added, the sundaes are especially great -- as are milk shakes. (Get one big enough to share; everyone who says they don't want one will renege once they see yours.)

It's sometimes crowded in the limited seating area, but a great place to "people watch," my mother's favorite reason to go in person.

This is quite simply great non-chain fast-food -- before and after fast-food chains came to Graham, and STILL the BEST!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

My family has been eating at Jim's for at least fifty years. By family I mean four generations. My personal favorites are the cheeseburgers and the soft serve ice cream but I have never eaten anything there that was not delicious. Not only is the food great but the owner and the people who work there treat you like family.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Barry1550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Like walking into an old Dairy Queen type environment. A local favorite of all the locals from miles around. Good food from all types of hot dogs, hamburgers and even serve larger meals - limited items. All good. They also have a large selection of ice cream treats. If you do not see it on the menu, ask...
Pricing within anyone's budget!

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Chocolate dipped ice cream cones for desert after a cheese burger and fries or a hotdog all the way. Grilled chicken sandwich and many other items on menu. Fast service and lots of ice cream items. Take the kids for a cone or a quick snack.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dave Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

If you want to experience the authentic North Carolina hotdog, in a vintage location, this is one of the few places left to do that. Every time I visit Graham, where I lived as a child (in the 1950's and 60's), I go here for a hotdog fix and a dose of nostalgia. It was formerly a Tastee-Freez franchise, but always the same owner--Jim Covington--who still serves soft ice cream treats. It's very popular and always crowded at lunchtime. You order at the counter, grab a table if you can, and wait for your order to be called out--usually by the items in it, not a number. Then you pay when you get your food. For the NC hotdog experience, just ask for "hot dogs" (two at least). You get a weiner, chili, mustard, and onions on a steamed bun. That's a hot dog in North Carolina. If you ask for a chili dog you will get a bun with just chili, onions, chili and no weiner. A cheese dog substitutes a stick of American cheese for the weiner, but still with chili, mustard, and onions. The focus of the staff is to get the orders accurate and out fast, not be especially friendly or charming. It's all about the food. If you order a small drink, it is truly small, so order medium or large if you want a substantial amount. The Graham Theater and Jim's Hotdogs are two iconic places in Graham, NC. If you want to get down with the locals, and experience a little piece of historic Graham, don't miss either one.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Abider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jim's Hot Dog & Hamburger Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Jim's Hot Dog & Hamburger Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing