We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Accommodating host”

Walnut Island Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Grandy
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Our sincere thanks to Barry and his wife for accommodating our family during the Lammers Life Celebration. Our rooms were neat and clean and we only had to ask if we needed something. Although we didn't get in, we ordered food from the restaurant that was tasty and reasonable. A pretty beautiful spot within an easy distance to beach, and restaurants. Thank you for your southern hospitality.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank loving_STT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for only one night and really hope to revisit this quaint quirky property. Set right on the water, the hotel offers a beautiful and tranquil view and really takes advantage of the water front by offering many seating options. The room was small but had everything I needed and I slept like a baby there. The motel has a restaurant I didn’t get to use but it had ample seating, great decor and the food smelled wonderful. I definitely recommend this site.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank leighanner2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Easy to find. Just turn by the Hardee's in Grandy and head east for a half a mile. Suddenly, it's right in front of you. As we got out of the car, a motorcycle started its twelve thousand horsepower engine and roared off. The first thing that struck me as we entered was the light scent of moth balls. My guess is that the place had been flooded by a recent hurricane (what hasn't) and they are disguising whatever aromas that leaves behind with every old lady's answer to odors.

The menu was decent. We both opted for the broiled oysters, 10 reasonable but not big bi-valves on a very green lettuce leaf, along with two sides and a couple very overdone hushpuppies. The oysters were very good. The cocktail sauce is not shy. Lots of horseradish. Tasted good. And we ended the meal by sharing a slice of banana cream pie. It was sort of fine, but I think Mrs. Smith had a hand in that one!

They do serve alcohol, a plus as the wine queen will not enter a place that does not. But they did not have pinot grigio. She happily accepted chardonnay as a substitute.

The server was very friendly and helpful. The place is rather old. That's OK. There was one or more themes in every dining room I saw. Chicago Bears in one. US Navy and a country singer in another.

Your price of admission gets you a view of the Currituck Sound. And you can dine indoors our outside on the deck ... or porch as southerners like to call it.

The prices were tolerable, but almost as high as we'd just left at the OBX. Will we go back again. Probably, but not overly soon.
PS: Mentioned the place to a friend this AM, and his first comment was ... that's a bikers bar. I noticed in the hotel listing for the place that 2 of the first 3 commenters managed to work the word motorcycle in their descriptions. No problem. That's probably the safest place to be.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Big-Deeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We met here prior to our rental on the OBX it was great. Staff was more than happy to help. Food was great they have so much to choose from. Burgers to steaks. Very cute bar and rooms were decorated in different themes. Our group has found there yearly meeting place.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Big juicey burgers yum! Love the place great view great staff docks in back porch and inside dining picnic tables. Will be back

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walnut Island Motel & Restaurant also viewed

Grandy, North Carolina Coast
Grandy, North Carolina Coast
 
Grandy, North Carolina Coast
Grandy, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Walnut Island Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.