We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant food.”
Review of The Inn at Hickory

The Inn at Hickory
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at Hickory
Ranked #1 of 4 Hickory B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This is a lovely Inn that provides a great breakfast and snacks. Lots of good advice from a very pleasant and knowledgeable host - Chaz
Some little housekeeping details need attention but really pleasant anyway. Very comfortable and a good location. Great value.

Room Tip: All rooms looked comfortable. We had a room in the front. It was quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KHepburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012

My wife and I recently traveled to Hickory, NC for an overnight business trip. After researching the area hotel price points we decided that a B&B was the way to go. Having the trip scheduled during the week of our anniversay also swayed us to be a little more pampered. This property had great reviews so we decided on the Inn at Hickory, and we were glad we did. The only reason that I didn't give this an 'excellent' rating was that our bathroom was a liitle worn from use (a good thing I guess), and was a bit small and dated (except for the way-cool shower).

We were in the Thomasville room on the first floor, and it was large, very clean and quiet, and the queen bed was comfortable (great pillowtop-but-firm mattress). I always want for a sitting area and this room did not have one, but it did have a chair, an extra large dresser, and plenty of closet space. This was the only room on the first floor and we chose it due to not having to take our luggage and things up the stairs, as well as it having a TV. When we viewed the other rooms, we noticed the upstairs was rather warm on the hot July day and that the three upstais rooms all had window AC units to assist the central system. One of the rooms was to be used that night and the window AC unit was on and the room was perfectly cool. Our first floor room was extra cool, which is just how we like it for sleeping. I believe all of the rooms had ceiling fans.

The in-town lot was large and inviting, but not on a day that approached 100 degrees!!!! My wife went out on the porch to check things out but didn't stay long due to the heat.

Chaz the owner was very helpful and friendly, and is a trained chef, so it's no wonder the breakfasts were the highlight. You won't go hungry no matter how big your appitite is, and everything was excellent. You have many great choices for breakfast, including when and where you eat, so this fact alone should convince people to stay here. And even the coffee was outstanding (usually a weak point wherever we stay). Highlights include pecan or regular waffles, Monte Cristos, sausage fritatas, omlets, eggs any way you want them, bacon and sauage, and hashbrowns. Choices of juices, toast, jellies, etc. continue to show that Chef Chaz knows what he is doing and how to please his guests. Then there is the starter fruit plate with his homemade pastries and breads. Just outstanding in every way other than the effect on the wasitline. Had no lunch that day to make up for it ;-)

Chaz was a great host, made us feel welcomed, and provided everything we desired. We would not hesitate to stay here again if the opportunity presents itself in the future. The other guest and I agreed that sleeping here felt like home. Not sure that I can give much higher praise, even if the bathrooms were a bit dated in this 100 year-old house !!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MuleHead2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

THE HICKORY INN, HICKORY NORTH CAROLINA

Stay 8-10 June 2012.

The Inn is a beautiful old farm home, well maintained and very comfortable. The grounds are lovely to stroll around. A side porch is great for sitting and watching squirrels and birds, or reading and chatting. The house is set back from the road a good 100 feet with a large front yard and huge old trees that make for a great setting.
Chas. the Inn keeper, is very friendly and made an excellent suggestion for dinner on our arrival. He made us feel welcome with his initial briefing about the house and how to use the keyless entry system. He was there when needed to be but not obtrusive. We stayed in the “Thomasville” room which has a queen size bed, a fireplace (which we did not use in June), and private bath on the ground floor. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets and coverings were top notch. The bathroom was large and came equipped with a wiz bang tub and shower that had its own operating manual (a sheet telling you what all the levers and buttons did).
The breakfast was excellent. Coffee is available early and Chas asks the night before what time you would like breakfast. Since there was only one other couple in residence, I don’t know if he staggers times so there is only one couple eating at a time, but we dined alone both mornings. He starts you out with fruit and pastries and a printed menu from which to select your breakfast. A printed menu contained probably 8-10 items that would meet anyone’s desires. The food was presented nicely and of excellent taste. The ham Frittata, ham and cheese omelet, and Pecan waffle we can recommend as that is what we had during our stay. Chas was there checking on any needs we might have, but left us to having our breakfast in private. Overall, our stay at the Hickory Inn was an enjoyable, relaxing experience

Room Tip: The "Thomasville" room is where we stayed. It is the only room on the ground floor. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rossvlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Forty years ago as newlyweds, my husband and I traveled to Hickory, NC to buy our first furniture. Out of nostalgia more than anything else, we decided to stop in Hickory on our way back to Pennsylvania from a Florida vacation and booked one night at the Inn at Hickory.

We had a delightful time in Hickory and hope to come back again when we can spend more than one night.

Traveling from Savannah with GPS guidance, I figured "no problem" to reach our destination but I had entered NW Seventh Street in our GPS by mistake. When I called Chaz to find out why we couldn't find the B&B, I discovered the error but Chaz could not tell us how to get from NW to SW 7th Street. I thought that a little odd until we corrected the address in the GPS and went through a convoluted series of turns and missed turns to arrive at SW 7th Street and the welcome view of the B&B. Visitors unfamiliar with the town probably do need a GPS to navigate, as it has the oddest layout of streets of any town we've ever visited. Chaz gave us a brief history as to why that is....ask him about it if you find yourselves in similar confusion.

The guest rooms are all named after major furniture companies - we chose the Henredon. The entire inn has gorgeous furniture....creating a great deal of "furniture envy"! The Inn was immaculately clean.

Chaz is a chef and as such does breakfast a little differently than other B&B's we've experienced. He has a printed menu of about 6 or 7 different breakfasts from which to choose. While we were enjoying the artfully arranged fruit plate (kiwi, pineapple, cantaloup, oranges) and basket of freshly baked muffins with coffee and the morning newspapers, Chaz prepared our individual choices.

We try to arrange our infrequent travel schedule to spend at least two nights in any given town in order to do more than arrive, go to dinner, sleep, have breakfast and leave. Even though our visit was brief, we have fond memories of our stay and a mental list of things to do for a hoped for return visit.

Room Tip: We chose the Henredon with the bath en suite - we read and used our computer sitting on the bed. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank atleast10hats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed one night at The Inn at Hickory on our way back from the N.C. mountains. We enjoy B&B's and wanted to shop in Hickory the next day and thought this would be a better alternative than your standard hotel room, which it definitey was! This was a very pleasant B&B and we received a warm welcome from our host Chaz, who couldn't have been nicer. Our room was on the 1st floor and was large & comfortable. Chaz was very helpful in suggesting a place for dinner and the inn is also convenient for furniture shopping. The breakfast is made to order and was DELICIOUS! Chaz told us he attended the Culinary Institute so I imagine that's why the food is so good. If I return to Hickory, I'll stay at this B&B again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank StormNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hickory hotels
4.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Hickory
4.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40
3.4 km away
Red Roof Inn Hickory
Red Roof Inn Hickory
#11 of 13 in Hickory
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 13 in Hickory
106 reviews
4.4 km away
Hampton Inn Hickory
Hampton Inn Hickory
#1 of 13 in Hickory
706 reviews
4.2 km away
Best Western Hickory
Best Western Hickory
#3 of 13 in Hickory
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Hickory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Hickory

Address: 464 7th St SW, Hickory, NC 28602-2743 (Formerly Hickory Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > North Carolina > Hickory
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hickory
Price Range: RM451 - RM534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Hickory 3*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing