We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
US$125
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$144
US$130
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Hickory)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Suites(Hickory)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Hickory(Hickory)
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
US$159
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
14
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
2
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2012

The Inn at Hickory is top notch. We enjoyed our lovely accomodations in this inn located in a quiet neighborhood. Our room was super clean & cozy with attractive decor and even included a fireplace! Chaz, the inn owner, was very hospitable & helpful throughout our stay. The breakfast was outstanding and our only regret was not being able to stay longer so that we could try out ALL the breakfast options! Delicious egg dishes, banana bread, waffles, fruit, hash browns, etc. This is the place to stay if you're ever in Hickory. Excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PTYtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This is a lovely Inn that provides a great breakfast and snacks. Lots of good advice from a very pleasant and knowledgeable host - Chaz
Some little housekeeping details need attention but really pleasant anyway. Very comfortable and a good location. Great value.

Room Tip: All rooms looked comfortable. We had a room in the front. It was quiet and spacious.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KHepburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My wife and I recently traveled to Hickory, NC for an overnight business trip. After researching the area hotel price points we decided that a B&B was the way to go. Having the trip scheduled during the week of our anniversay also swayed us to be a little more pampered. This property had great reviews so we decided on the Inn at Hickory, and we were glad we did. The only reason that I didn't give this an 'excellent' rating was that our bathroom was a liitle worn from use (a good thing I guess), and was a bit small and dated (except for the way-cool shower).

We were in the Thomasville room on the first floor, and it was large, very clean and quiet, and the queen bed was comfortable (great pillowtop-but-firm mattress). I always want for a sitting area and this room did not have one, but it did have a chair, an extra large dresser, and plenty of closet space. This was the only room on the first floor and we chose it due to not having to take our luggage and things up the stairs, as well as it having a TV. When we viewed the other rooms, we noticed the upstairs was rather warm on the hot July day and that the three upstais rooms all had window AC units to assist the central system. One of the rooms was to be used that night and the window AC unit was on and the room was perfectly cool. Our first floor room was extra cool, which is just how we like it for sleeping. I believe all of the rooms had ceiling fans.

The in-town lot was large and inviting, but not on a day that approached 100 degrees!!!! My wife went out on the porch to check things out but didn't stay long due to the heat.

Chaz the owner was very helpful and friendly, and is a trained chef, so it's no wonder the breakfasts were the highlight. You won't go hungry no matter how big your appitite is, and everything was excellent. You have many great choices for breakfast, including when and where you eat, so this fact alone should convince people to stay here. And even the coffee was outstanding (usually a weak point wherever we stay). Highlights include pecan or regular waffles, Monte Cristos, sausage fritatas, omlets, eggs any way you want them, bacon and sauage, and hashbrowns. Choices of juices, toast, jellies, etc. continue to show that Chef Chaz knows what he is doing and how to please his guests. Then there is the starter fruit plate with his homemade pastries and breads. Just outstanding in every way other than the effect on the wasitline. Had no lunch that day to make up for it ;-)

Chaz was a great host, made us feel welcomed, and provided everything we desired. We would not hesitate to stay here again if the opportunity presents itself in the future. The other guest and I agreed that sleeping here felt like home. Not sure that I can give much higher praise, even if the bathrooms were a bit dated in this 100 year-old house !!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MuleHead2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

THE HICKORY INN, HICKORY NORTH CAROLINA

Stay 8-10 June 2012.

The Inn is a beautiful old farm home, well maintained and very comfortable. The grounds are lovely to stroll around. A side porch is great for sitting and watching squirrels and birds, or reading and chatting. The house is set back from the road a good 100 feet with a large front yard and huge old trees that make for a great setting.
Chas. the Inn keeper, is very friendly and made an excellent suggestion for dinner on our arrival. He made us feel welcome with his initial briefing about the house and how to use the keyless entry system. He was there when needed to be but not obtrusive. We stayed in the “Thomasville” room which has a queen size bed, a fireplace (which we did not use in June), and private bath on the ground floor. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets and coverings were top notch. The bathroom was large and came equipped with a wiz bang tub and shower that had its own operating manual (a sheet telling you what all the levers and buttons did).
The breakfast was excellent. Coffee is available early and Chas asks the night before what time you would like breakfast. Since there was only one other couple in residence, I don’t know if he staggers times so there is only one couple eating at a time, but we dined alone both mornings. He starts you out with fruit and pastries and a printed menu from which to select your breakfast. A printed menu contained probably 8-10 items that would meet anyone’s desires. The food was presented nicely and of excellent taste. The ham Frittata, ham and cheese omelet, and Pecan waffle we can recommend as that is what we had during our stay. Chas was there checking on any needs we might have, but left us to having our breakfast in private. Overall, our stay at the Hickory Inn was an enjoyable, relaxing experience

Room Tip: The "Thomasville" room is where we stayed. It is the only room on the ground floor. Very nice.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rossvlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Forty years ago as newlyweds, my husband and I traveled to Hickory, NC to buy our first furniture. Out of nostalgia more than anything else, we decided to stop in Hickory on our way back to Pennsylvania from a Florida vacation and booked one night at the Inn at Hickory.

We had a delightful time in Hickory and hope to come back again when we can spend more than one night.

Traveling from Savannah with GPS guidance, I figured "no problem" to reach our destination but I had entered NW Seventh Street in our GPS by mistake. When I called Chaz to find out why we couldn't find the B&B, I discovered the error but Chaz could not tell us how to get from NW to SW 7th Street. I thought that a little odd until we corrected the address in the GPS and went through a convoluted series of turns and missed turns to arrive at SW 7th Street and the welcome view of the B&B. Visitors unfamiliar with the town probably do need a GPS to navigate, as it has the oddest layout of streets of any town we've ever visited. Chaz gave us a brief history as to why that is....ask him about it if you find yourselves in similar confusion.

The guest rooms are all named after major furniture companies - we chose the Henredon. The entire inn has gorgeous furniture....creating a great deal of "furniture envy"! The Inn was immaculately clean.

Chaz is a chef and as such does breakfast a little differently than other B&B's we've experienced. He has a printed menu of about 6 or 7 different breakfasts from which to choose. While we were enjoying the artfully arranged fruit plate (kiwi, pineapple, cantaloup, oranges) and basket of freshly baked muffins with coffee and the morning newspapers, Chaz prepared our individual choices.

We try to arrange our infrequent travel schedule to spend at least two nights in any given town in order to do more than arrive, go to dinner, sleep, have breakfast and leave. Even though our visit was brief, we have fond memories of our stay and a mental list of things to do for a hoped for return visit.

Room Tip: We chose the Henredon with the bath en suite - we read and used our computer sitting on the bed. There was a hard-back chair as well However, we would probably choose the Baker next time (with the bath across the hall) for more room and sitting options.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank atleast10hats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews