We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain Jane”
Review of The Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chandler Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 June 2015

We spent two nights there...gas fireplace did not work, no decorations on the mantle so room was really bare, no shade on the window facing the bed so we woke at first light, and no housekeeping! Bed not made, trash never picked up. Breakfast was tasty (even though you had to get your own plates, forks and knives), bed was comfortable and parking was plentiful. Though it didn't bother us, the innkeeper's language at breakfast might have been bothersome to others. We debated for awhile between poor and average as a rating but went with average due to previous reviews that raved about it. Also note that all the rooms are in a separate building, and not like a typical B&B house.

Room Tip: No housekeeping, so be prepared to make your own bed and keep towels off the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank popup40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2015

The Chandler Inn is amazing. The rooms are single rooms with private baths. They are very accommodating. My husband and I were due in very late, but they left our room open for us and everything even though we did not get in until after midnight. It felt as if we were family when we were talking with the people. The rooms and setting is very rustic and like you are in the middle of the mountains when truthfully you are only about 3 blocks from downtown Highlands. My husband and I Walked to downtown and all the night life. We loved the B&B. We come to the area yearly, but this is now going to be our only location we will stay at! It is amazing!!!

Room Tip: Parking in the back makes it more secluded! and less traffic from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015 via mobile

Just visited this charming Inn again. Everything was as comfortable and clean as always. We missed seeing Randy, but Letti was her usual warm lovely Host. Her breakfast casserole keeps us coming back. Can't wait to visit again next month with our family. This is our Summer escape year after year.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2015

A friend and I stayed with Randy & Letty on a motorcycle ride through the Highlands. It was like we were staying with good friends instead of a hotel. Rooms were very clean and comfortable (probably the most comfortable bed I have slept in), and rates very reasonable for this area. The breakfast that was included in the rate was also incredible. We even got to see black bears walking into town that evening. Great trip.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2015

The Chandler B&B is a lovely place to stay. We purchased a discount deal via Groupon. We had a two night stay in a King bed room with a fireplace. However the fireplace was turned off due to the season. The room was cozy and comfortable. A wonderful breakfast was provided for the two days we were there. The B&B is within walking distance of the main town. All personnel were very friendly. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Breakfast is between (9am to 10AM). Call a day before to arrange your check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woofie551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.7 km away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
225 reviews
0.7 km away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
178 reviews
2.4 km away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
13.5 km away
Fire Mountain Inn
Fire Mountain Inn
#1 of 7 in Highlands
469 reviews
0.6 km away
Main Street Inn Highlands
Main Street Inn Highlands
#6 of 7 in Highlands
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chandler Inn

Address: 790 North 4th St., P.O. Box 2156, Highlands, NC 28741
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range: RM671 - RM946 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chandler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn has the ambiance and charm of a Bed & Breakfast with all the amenities of a Country Inn. The Chandler Inn is located a pleasant five minute walk from Main Street Highlands. Surrounded by trees and nature, the Inn includes three barn-sided buildings grouped around a brick courtyard. Porches with swings and rocking chairs, hanging baskets and plenty of bird feeders create a rustic and relaxing ambiance. Gourmet Breakfast and Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing