We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“nice place to stay when visiting Hot Springs.”
other travellers have booked this property
The Chestnut Log Cabin, a rare treasure, handcrafted from the Chestnut trees from yesteryear.  On the AT
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Chestnut Log Cabin, a rare treasure, handcrafted from the Chestnut trees from yesteryear.  On the AT
open living room/dining room. Original hardwood floors throughout, beautiful detailed woodwork Spacious living area, satellite TV, DVD player, video library, Futon sleeper sofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
The Chestnut Log Cabin, a rare treasure, handcrafted from the Chestnut trees from yesteryear.  On the AT
open living room/dining room. Original hardwood floors throughout, beautiful detailed woodwork
Spacious living area, satellite TV, DVD player, video library, Futon sleeper sofa
Enjoy the romantic dinner or room enough for family game time.Antique sideboard and dining table
Vintage kitchen, original cabinets, full size fridge, coffeemaker, mw, range, toaster and 40's table
Inviting entrance desk, do some old fashioned writing at a 1920's original desk.
Master bedroom features queen size bed, quilted bedding, Arts & Crafts style furniture.
Dancing Bear bedroom.  Bunk beds, blanket chest, desk and chair, luggage rack.
Sunroom with garden view, yet another nook to escape in.
Private outdoor hot tub, steps outside your back door.  Charcoal grill, private garden.
Large outdoor firering for endless smores and campfire songs
Mountain view from your rocking chair.
Original country sink, original cabinets, large variety of cookware, dishes, pots & pans
Vintage bathroom, original soaking tub with shower option, original sink, black & white tile
Your reading/napping nook looking out to a private garden
Ivy draped stone front steps. Enter back door for ground level entrance.
Hot Spring sidewalk embeded with proff you are hiking the Appalachian Trail
This is what you came for! Rocking chair front porch...your decompression chamber...ahhh!
Wicker seating just off kitchen.  Just outside your back door awaits your hot tub.  Enjoy!
Step outside the Chestnut Log Cabin and you are hiking the Appalachian Trail
Linen dried in the Hot Springs solar dryer...sweet dreams!
The Chestnut Log Cabin and town of Hot Springs sign by City Sign Artisans, Seneca SC
Front porch reading nook.
Decor reflects the serene mountain magic
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hot Springs, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa K C
1 review
“nice place to stay when visiting Hot Springs.”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

great location. walking distance to everything in town. private back yard with hot tub was very relaxing. rocking chairs on front porch is a nice touch also. we will stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Thanks for enjoying our special Chestnut Log Cabin and noting your favorite things you enjoyed about our property. The private outdoor hot tub, steps from your back door is one of our most requested features! The spacious rocking chair front porch with mountain views is a favorite spot for relaxing. Chestnut Log Cabin is directly off the Appalachian Trail and a close walk to Town and all Hot Springs attractions. Thanks for your visit and return soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullen R
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pictures look good, house is falling apart. Got a terrible rash from hot tub.”
Reviewed 28 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We went for a getaway in December. We were just trying to grab a quick place between the holiday stress of running between my SO's and my families. We arrived and the place smelled a bit musty. The first thing we noticed was the plaster peeling off the walls in the very barren dining room. Then we walked into the kitchen, nothing special but not bad. Then there is a sitting room in the back of the house that looks like a little love has gone into it (perhaps the only spot in the house). Then we walked into the bunk room/bedroom and there are whole sections of the wall falling out onto one of the bunks. The walls were in desperate need of repair. Then we walked into the bathroom, it's a disastrous shade of pink and looks like something out of the Shining and then there is a pretty plain bedroom. Then den is nice but the "futon" requires you to sleep w/ your feet on a stool. The recliner was non-functioning. At this point my SO and I decided that we would try to make the best of it.

We thought hey, we've got a hot tub. We went out to the hot tub and found it warm enough, but the water level was a bit low and the water had a sort of white film on top.

As we walked back in we noticed that the recycling and the trash hadn't been emptied in quite some time, they were both overflowing.

Overall it was a bit of a disappointment but we stayed anyways and had a little mini Xmas there. On the last day after spending a 2 nights there and spending a good amount of time in the hot tub in the back the night before, myself and my SO both developed skin rashes. Mine was around my neck, it was super gross, nothing a little athletes foot medicine didn't clear up but that was kind of the straw that ruined the trip.

When I explained this to Melanie, she didn't seem to care at all. As this was my first Airbnb experience it really put me off of Airbnb, also Airbnb won't let you post pictures, I wanted to share mine of the rash I got. Notice the picture is from inside the cabin bathroom.

I would say, if you're just looking for a cabin to do some drinking w/ some friends, this is for you. If you want a romantic getaway with your girl or guy, this is not the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximity to Hot Springs
Liked least: The cabin
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2015
Thanks for noticing ALL the love we put into this original Arts & Crafts structure, built in the 1920's. The only section that is newer (15 years old) is the sun room which we successfully tied into the original. We bought this cabin about 20 years ago as a second home prior to moving to Hot Springs and carefully retained as much of the original details as possible. The Chestnut Log Cabin is still a very special property to us. The outdoor hot tub is new, of course, but one of the most requested features of rental properties. We have invested in quality tubs, check that the water is pristine and balanced.
Many reviewers have loved the decor and its reflection of the Arts & Crafts theme of function of space and furniture and celebrating the beauty of wood. As a career traveler of 28 years I have always found tasteful, not overcrowded, overdone spaces much more appealing and relaxing. We created the decor and space of Chestnut Log Cabin in tune with her history while leaving the rest of the space for yourself, what you bring to the space and how you want to enjoy your visit.
Chestnut Log Cabin, a jewel example of Arts & Crafts structure , is restored leaving as much of the history as possible. You can see in the dining room where plaster skim coating (1/4" thickness) has cracked and we left the space. What would you rather have, Joan Rivers, repaired beyond recognition, or Maggie Smith with her character & structure shining through to display authenticity? The Dancing Bear Room (bunk beds) is slated to have bead board placed on top of the plaster as this is a sleeping room. We always check the sections of plaster, as does housekeeping.
The bathroom tile, alas is not original to this antique cabin, but neither was the bathroom! You have to admit that indoor plumbing is great! The pink tile is a novelty but tile none the less, hate to waste.
Thanks for the good words on the futon, Sims Futon of Asheville is great for helping with providing a high quality futon with a style that fits the decor. Sorry about the recycling cans, the Girl Scouts must have been on holiday as well! All back on schedule now.
 
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohheyjenn...
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cabin, can't wait to come back!”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Chestnut for our anniversary last weekend, and we couldn't have stayed anywhere more perfect! It was extremely close to town (walking distance), and very close to some great hiking trails and the river. The house was very clean, and beautiful decorated. We enjoyed the hot tub, and made great use of the well equipped kitchen! Not to mention the beautiful view from the front porch! We can't wait for our next trip to Hot Springs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2015
Thank you for choosing Chestnut Log Cabin. This property has become a favorite romantic, mountain getaway for couples on their honeymoon,anniversaries and that special time together. Glad you appreciated the full size/fully equipped kitchen, just in case you wanted to stay in! Short walk to town restaurants and taverns, return home to the private, outdoor hot tub!. Some guests new leave the rocking chair front porch! We welcome your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
51bobbia
Herod
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice cabin”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Loved our stay in The Chestnut Log Cabin, very peaceful and laid back area. Just the fact that the Chestnut Log Cabin is 94 years old is increasable! Being a Forester, the word "Chestnut" sold me! Owners are very responsive and the cabin is furnished nicely. The drive way is a little tricky, but by the end of the trip, we had that mastered! Thank you for allowing us to stay in your cabin.
The local bars and restaurants are fun!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub and front porch sitting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2015
Thank you for staying at our Chestnut Log Cabin. So glad you enjoyed our authentic Arts & Crafts cabin and all the history in keeping with the town of Hot Springs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dlakindc
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quaint but MOLDY”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
6
people found this review helpful

While we had a great visit as old friends catching up always do, Chestnut Log Cabin had a few issues. The cabin itself had good amenities - wi-fi, well stocked kitchen, dvd player with movies available, nice outdoor hot tub. But the mold was hard to get past. The bathroom had mold on the ceiling, around the window, on the tile, and on the shower curtain. There was even a small furry patch of mold growing on the living room wall. The plaster is falling off the walls in nearly every room. The kitchen sink backs up every time the shower is used or the toilet flushed. So while this could be a really quaint vacation spot, it needs some help at the present time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mold!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$140
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing