We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just go so people will think you're a local”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Food Dudes

Food Dudes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just go so people will think you're a local”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Makes travelers feel like they've been here like old pros...the locals stink anyway, stay a vacationer

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tattersj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    100
    22
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greeensboro, NC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Another wonderful Food Dudes meal!”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Having discovered Food Dudes a couple of years ago, my wife and I stopped by for dinner on our anniversary trip to the Outer Banks. We had been very impressed with the food on our initial visit and really wanted to see if that had been a fluke. It wasn't.

Food Dudes Kitchen is a *small* place with limited seating, but if you are lucky enough to get a seat you're in for a treat. My wife got the Black-n-Blue burger and loved it. I got the Cornmeal Fried Mahi Mahi wrap and it was some of the best seafood I've had in a long time. There was a bottle of Food Dudes Habanero Sauce on the table and I tried it on the wrap....on a drop by drop basis. Good stuff but it will light up your life if you go overboard with it!

I'm not at all sure what the "nothing special" reviews are all about because we love the place and this has become one of our "must eat at" restaurants along with the Jolly Roger and the Thai Room when we get to the Outer Banks.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lowboync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent FRESH Food”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

FRESH FRESH Food from the Food Dudes......Small Restaurant on the Beach Road, but you will love it.
Not Fast Food as they make everything to order......Did I say it was Fresh? I usually order the fresh fish wraps and my wife loves the veggie quesadilla.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Theklug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun surfer-themed cafe with great food”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The name alone made us want to try it. The staff at our hotel also recommended it. It is a small cafe in a strip mall about a block from the beach. It has a lot of surfer decor, and surfing videos played on the TVs. The food was outstanding and reasonably priced. I had a salad with grilled salmon and a peppery dressing that was delicious. My wife had eggs Benedict served southern-style with ham and biscuits, also really good. One son had a great pulled pork BBQ sandwich, the other enjoyed nachos. We're going back again before we head home.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hidden Treat”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Don't let the size or location fool you. This place has a great chef/owner in the kitchen. It's small but if you want to taste something special try Food Dudes. Their daily specials are fantastic and they have the BEST waffle fries on the beach, get them as an appetizer - yummy. The tuna is local and always fresh as is all their local fish. Fish tacos are to die for.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OBX200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Food Dudes also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Food Dudes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing