We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place when you've had enough traditional Beach Seafood.”

Thai Room Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

The Thai room has been nestled in its little strip mall for decades as other businesses have come and gone around it. The locals know this is the place when you're in the mood for some Thai food.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank davidkessler2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2018

Pros:
1. Delicious food.
2. Nice service.
3. Relatively inexpensive.
4. Nice decor.
5. Location.
Cons: None

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Flyingchariot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Came here for lunch with another couple who have been here before. Despite it being the Friday at the start of the Labor Day weekend, there was plenty of room in the restaurant when we arrived just before noon.

The comfortable booths and middle tables in the 'interior' part of the restaurant slowly filled up with customers; yet thanks to good soundproofing and wonderful decorations throughout the restaurant, the overall sound level remained low and conducive to conversation ... a real plus in our ratings of restaurants.

Service was very friendly and polite ... the only one, very minor negative was that an assistant server tried to serve our main lunch selections before we had finished our soups and appetizers and with obviously no room on the table for any more plates.

Our friends had the spring rolls, the chicken with cashews and the pad thai -- all very good. The spring rolls had just come straight from from the deep fat fryer, yet were nice and crispy and without any of the 'greasiness' that sometimes comes when not prepared with care.

We started with two soups: a small bowl of "Hot & Sour" soup ($3.25) and a much larger bowl of the "Shrimp and Lemon Grass" soup ($5.95). Both were very tasty and filled with assorted vegetables. We also had one order of 2 Spring Rolls ($2.50) + one order of 6 small, steamed dumplings ($6.95) which were delicate and went well with the accompanying dipping sauce.

The "winner" was an order of 2, quite large "Summer Rolls" ($4.95) -- quite wonderful, especially as they're served cold & with their own, unique dipping sauce. The 'wrappers' were translucent, light and delicate, surrounding a very tasty combination of shrimps, cucumber, basil, lettuce and rice noodles. We shared one bottle of Singha Thai beer (just $4.75).

We were glad we had not ordered an 'entree' as there was plenty to eat for two with our soups and 3 appetizers!

Total lunch bill before tax was just $27.90 and $30.06 after NC's 7.75% food tax.

The Thai Room is located on NC-12 (the "Beach Road") in a small & unassuming strip of shops with plenty of parking.

We look forward to returning to try some more of the many menu items and enjoy the quiet atmosphere ... or we may just call and do a "Take Out" for our next meal!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Still-Enjoying-Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and I love Thai cuisine. We stopped in for a lunch on our first day in OBX and the food here was far better than any we have had anywhere before.
We started with the fresh spring rolls. We have had these at other Thai restaurants but the layers of flavor in these were something we have never experienced before.
We then had the Thai Room soup and again, the layers of flavor were incredible and very aromatic.
Main course was Pad Thai and they did not disappoint with this one either. We have had Pad Thai and many Thai restaurants but this was the best.
My only regret is that we are only here for a week. This restaurant sets the bar mighty high for Thai Cuisine

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Steve44883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Had lunch here today with a friend. Had the medium spiced pad thai and a cocktail which I never do but it was my day off. I have been eating here for at least 30 years, hands down the best meal I have ever had here. Enough food for 2 meals. Service was amazing, attentive, thank you Boosta, who waited on us with a sweet smile. I will return again and again!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank chupakilldevilhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Room Restaurant also viewed

Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Thai Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing