We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great. Hotel. Period.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shutters on the Banks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shutters on the Banks
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great. Hotel. Period.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We had never visited Kill Devil Hills before, and honestly, for $65 a night at Shutters, we weren't expecting a whole lot when we stayed there between 2/17 and 2/19/12. But we were blown away by how terrific it was! Like others have mentioned, the staff were extremely friendly, the rooms were comfortable (fridge, microwave, Wi-Fi, private balcony, etc.), and the lobby was so clean that you could eat off the floors. Not that you would. They have tables for that. But you could...

Anyhoo, the whole place exudes a quality that belies it's extremely affordable price. I've stayed in hotels that cost twice as much that aren't half as nice. The owners/management clearly take pride in the property. Throw in an amazing ocean view room on the 4th floor and complimentary breakfast (not a big breakfast selection, but considering the price for our stay, it was a nice touch). We couldn't believe our good fortune at finding such a little gem of a hotel -- it really helped make the weekend one to remember.

Room Tip: Pick a 3rd or 4th floor tower room -- ocean views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    312
    110
    37
    18
See reviews for
390
329
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Goode
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We were very satisfied with our stay at the Shutters in late June 2011 when the hotel was packed. Even with the crowds of people, the property was quiet and peaceful. The morning breakfast area was small and crowded requiring us to take our food back to our room on a tray. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Both indoor and outdoor pools are fairly small in size, but the beach is just steps away.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mberank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWitt, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at Shutters this past weekend 2/17 - 2/19/12 and was absolutely thrilled with Shutters. We are long time visitors to the OBX and have stayed at different hotels in the past and was very pleased with the prices and also the room. The staff was awesome and friendly and i will definitely stay there again and refer my friends. thanks Shutters on the Banks for a wonderful weekend!!!

Room Tip: higher floors ie: 3 or 4 in the tower for an oceanview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Tripadvisor reviews led us to stay at Shutters on the Banks & it lived up to the hype! First impressions are everything and the customer service I got when I called to make reservations was excellent! I definitely would advise to make phone reservations instead of booking them yourself online because it sure saved us money. We heeded advice by staying in the tower on the 4th floor and the views were gorgeous! Impressed by the size of the room and amenities (King bed, sofa, flat screen TV, desk, microwave & fridge). While I forgot my swimsuit at home, my other half did enjoy the heated indoor pool. Although many restaurants and things were closed for the Winter the location of Shutters was great. Very short drives to food, grocery store, and the Wright Brothers Monument. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose the 4th floor of the tower for the best beach & oceanview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sphinx130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

This review is long overdue, pretty much on account of me just being lazy and putting it off. Over the summer we (me, my wife and two children) stayed at Shutters for a weekend, we always go down to Kill Devil Hills for a week and rent a house but wanted another couple days later in the summer and chose Shutters based on the reviews here on Trip Advisor. So we rolled down Saturday morning and went to attempt an early check-in. No rooms ready to go yet, but we were told go ahead and park, hit the beach and they would call us as soon as a room was open. So we did, and they called us when we were okay to check-in. I went to get the car from up front and drive to our room and the car wouldn't start. Now let me preface this by saying that this is a new OBX tradition...last summer our car battery died on us while we were down there, and here we were again. I went to the office and asked if maintenance could possibly give us a jump start, they said no problem and 5 minutes later we were jumped and I was off to get our battery tested. It checked out so we were back in action. The battery crapped out that night AGAIN and they gave me another jump so I could go and get a new battery and be done with the nonsense. That's the first thing I wanted to mention, they were so damn accomodating and helped save us a massive amount of headache...pretty much they salvaged my sanity and kept the weekend from being ruined.

Now on to the rest...the room we stayed in (ground floor behind the dunes) was very nice, clean, comfortable, everything we could ask for. Nothing overly-fancy, but we're not overly-fancy so it was perfect. It was nice having the patio area in the back with a couple of chairs to kick back and relax in the evening, and the shutters on the windows are really cool. We slept like champs and the boardwalk leading to the beach made it super easy to get there and back. The pools are great too. Saturday we spent 6 hours on the beach and my kids still wanted more water in the evening, so we hit the outdoor pool until it got dark then moved to the indoor pool. Sunday morning we had a good breakfast there in the office, good selection of stuff and we grubbed real good before we had to get on the road for home.

I just really cannot stress enough what a great experience it was down at Shutters last summer. We will be going as usual for a week and renting a house this summer, but I'm pretty confident we'll be down one or hopefully two weekends on top of that, staying at Shutters. We had previously stayed at the Mariner or the Travelodge when we did one or two day runs down there, but Shutters has got our business without a doubt now. Another nice bonus is being right next to the beach shop so you can get whatever you need right there, pretty damn convenient. I'm rambling so I'll cut it...Shutters staff, if you read this thank you very much and tell the maintenence guy who's a Giants fan good luck against the 49ers this weekend!

Mike Mayer
StreetTeamDC@gmail.com

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank STDC-Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.6 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.3 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
0.8 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
11.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters on the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Banks

Property: Shutters on the Banks
Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7898 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price range (per night): RM337 - RM1,131
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters on the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator, microwave, in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Shutters on the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Kill Devil Hills, NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing