We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican food”
Review of Prickly Pear

Prickly Pear
Ranked #21 of 287 Restaurants in Mooresville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Harbor Point Village
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Very good for steak or fish meals. Shrimp fajitas, steak fajitas are my favorites. Great margaritas also. Awesome view and outside seating of the lake and music on the lake.
Beautiful place and location.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Viewsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

We go three quite often. New menus which means a better selection. Sitting outside of the lake is wonderful- when it's not so HOT! The staff is extremely friendly.

Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePricklyPear, Owner at Prickly Pear, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

We appreciate your business! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We went to this restaurant for Queen's Feast restaurant week in Charlotte but they did not have any Mexican entrees on the menu. I had scallops which were fine but the presentation left a lot to be desired. We saw other couples ordering Mexican from the main menu and it looked good but there were no choices on the Queen's feast menu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gatorgal1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePricklyPear, Manager at Prickly Pear, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Thank you for your input and for dining with us. As far as the Queen's Feast menu, most of the items are derived from Mexican cuisine. Tamal (tamale), Chilorio, Ceviche are just a few examples. Cocktel de Camaron is just a Mexican version of shrimp cocktail from Acapulco/ As far as the entrees, pistachio and pumpkin seed mole sauces are both Mexican in origin. The snapper was marinated in a "guajillo adobo" which is a traditional marinade or seasoning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

I came here with some co-workers for a quick dinner. The menu was not very expansive and the only thing that looked good to anybody were the Fajitas. The fajitas were decent (nothing to write home about). The view of the lake was a nice touch. The flies and other bugs flying around our table (inside) was not the best touch. Also, for the price you pay, you'd think they would give a table an order of chips or something to snack on while the food is being prepared slowly in the kitchen. There were only 3 tables filled in the restaurant (probably because this place is hard to find from the road!) and it was still a long process. Instead of free chips, we opted to spend the money on chips and queso (which tasted like straight up Velveta cheese).

Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePricklyPear, Owner at Prickly Pear, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Thank you for you comments. I am sorry to hear that you were not able to find anything of interest on our menu other than fajitas. We do have quite a few entrée selections that I can assure you are not available at most area Mexican restaurants. For example, the braised lamb hind shank with a Ancho-Chocolate mole, shrimp with a Mango Mojo Habanero sauce, pork ossobuco with a tomato-chipotle ragout. We do not server any pre-packaged or pre-made items at the restaurant. As far as the Queso con Chile, it is made in house from scratch. The ingredients include whole milk, cream cheese, Monterey Jack cheese, chipotle pepper, roasted red bell pepper. (no Velveta cheese I assure you). I apologize for the issue with bugs or flies. We certainly need to control that problem and have taken further steps to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

I had a large group eat here for a celebration lunch and it was amazing! They catered to us perfectly and the food was absolutely delicious. I had a dish called Manchamanteles, which was a chicken dish coated with a spicy brown sauce and served over a bed of rice and it was very flavorful. They also served us chips and salsa for the appetizer. The location of the restaurant was very beautiful, plenty of opportunities for photos if you are there for a special occasion.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelgirl179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prickly Pear also viewed

 

Been to Prickly Pear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing