We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Treat!”
Review of Treat

Treat
Ranked #5 of 114 Restaurants in Morganton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$30
Cuisines: American, French, Wine Bar
Description: We believe a TREAT is different for everyone! We offer food to satisfy all cravings and dietary restrictions. We serve cooked to order comfort food. We serve fine wine, crafty and domestic beers and make fresh handcrafted cocktails made with fresh squeezed juices, fresh fruits and herbs. Our gift shop has an ever changing inventory of ladies jewelry and accessories, children's toys, pampering products, home decor, art, homemade soaps and other unique gifts! Find the right gift for that special person in your life or TREAT yourself! We also offer gift wrapping!
Restaurant details
Description: We believe a TREAT is different for everyone! We offer food to satisfy all cravings and dietary restrictions. We serve cooked to order comfort food. We serve fine wine, crafty and domestic beers and make fresh handcrafted cocktails made with fresh squeezed juices, fresh fruits and herbs. Our gift shop has an ever changing inventory of ladies jewelry and accessories, children's toys, pampering products, home decor, art, homemade soaps and other unique gifts! Find the right gift for that special person in your life or TREAT yourself! We also offer gift wrapping!
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Stumbled across this restaurant while in town! We got lucky and were able to get a table but will get reservations in future! Our waiter Keith was amazing and made great food and wine selections! There is also a small gift shop and I bought some gourmet gummies for my daughter! The goat cheese salad was delcious, as werethe lamb chops! Topped it off with a nice red wine that Keith recommended! My companion ordered pasta primavera and said it was amazing! A hidden gem in Morganton!

1  Thank CarolinaGirl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulu R, Manager at Treat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and that Keith treated you so well. Do come back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2017

Food is absolutely amazing, especially the fish tacos! Wow wow! Great atmosphere and small town friendly staff

Thank cj r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulu R, Manager at Treat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such an amazing review, we appreciate your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Love Treat! Always amazing food and cocktails! Super friendly staff! The owner really cares about her customers and is always trying to improve your dining experience. Definitely stop in when in Morganton!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulu R, Manager at Treat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for the amazing review Jennifer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch. Since it was mid afternoon the restaurant was quiet. Our waiter was very personable and did a good job. Unfortunately the kitchen did not reflect or help the waitstaff. I ordered quiche and my partner ordered chicken taco. After about 20 min the waiter apologized for the slowness of the kitchen and said it would just be another couple of minutes. 15 minutes later and a change over of wait staff we were finally served. The quiche was - as advertised - fresh and was very good, as was the side salad as long as you like garlic. My partners chicken taco ended up being a fish taco. We mentioned this to the waitperson who apologized and did offer to replace it with a chicken taco, but at this point we didn’t have the time to wait any longer. It would probably have been good PR for the chef to come out and apologize for the delay and the mix up or for the manager to offer to reduce the bill under the circumstances.

1  Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulu R, Manager at Treat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

We are sorry to hear that you left feeling dismissed. We always to try give the best service possible and unfortunately every once in a while there is a mess up. We try to take all the necessary precautions to make sure orders are translated correctly from the customer to the kitchen and try to fix any issue that is brought to our attention. It is unfortunate that your order was not made correctly and that was actually a mistake on your servers end, that is why a member of the kitchen did not come to your table. The food wait was too long even for a cooked to order menu. We have since hired a new kitchen manager. We once again apologize, we thought we had verbally resolved the situation but we misunderstood and will be more receptive to all customers. Please do come back to give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

After reading several good reviews, we chose to celebrate our anniversary with dinner at this restaurant. What a big mistake. I believe our waiter was new and he was unfamiliar with the menu. We asked if there were any specials and we were told “no, I don’t think so”. We found out this wasn’t true. We each ordered iced tea and an appetizer while trying to decide on our entree’s. We received our drinks and upon tasting them we realized it was unsweet tea. Our waiter then informed us that the restaurant didn’t make sweet tea and he stated “you can just add sugar in it yourself. It’s the same thing”. It took a long time (45 minutes) for our appetizers to arrive and they were lukewarm and average tasting to say the least. Our waiter never returned to our table to take our orders for which dinner entree’s we had decided on. We decided to leave and when we were settling up our bill with the cashier, she asked how everything was and we told her we were truly disappointed- but there were no apologies offered. We went down the street and had a wonderful meal at root and vine. We understand that restaurants can be short staffed and have nights that aren’t up to par - but there is no excuse for the arrogant rude behavior from staff. I doubt we will ever try to eat here again.

Thank IrishLuck88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulu R, Manager at Treat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

We do apologize that you had this experience at our establishment. We have been trying to staff the restaurant with employees that feel the same way we do about customer service, unfortunately that has been a difficult feat. Hearing that you had this kind of service is appalling and we are working hard to fix the issues. We do not sweeten our tea so that each customer can sweeten the tea to their liking, we have good intentions and they were not translated to you correctly. Please do return to give us another shot and allow us to redeem ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Treat also viewed

Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
 
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
 
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Treat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing