We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Most disgusting place I have ever stayed!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocracoke Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocracoke Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most disgusting place I have ever stayed!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

This place is ant and bug infested! There were ants everywhere and flying bugs in our room. My husband literally killed two dozen bugs before bedtime. I was so grossed out I went outside to sleep in our van. It was too late at that point to go anywhere else or even complain to the office since they leave at 9:00 pm. They have offered to give us a partial refund which they didn't do when we checked out b/c the mgr wasn't in the office - we'll see.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Becky1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
byron m, Manager at Ocracoke Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
I am the manager of The Ocracoke Harbor Inn and in response to this post i will admit the room did have ants that night and the bugs were mosquitos due to their leaving the door of the room open that night.The island is in drought conditions and the ant are coming inside looking for water and our pest control company has been dealing with this issue and has it under control.We did issue a partial refun on the day of checkout for the ants but as to the mosquitos i do not have control over someone leaving the door open at night.We stand by our claim to be one of the cleanest inns on the island and previous reviews attest to that.This is in no way an excuse just an explanation of a situation that unfortunately happened
Byron Miller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    105
    26
    9
    6
See reviews for
115
259
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wilmington,DE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

The wife and I have stayed in many hotels in Ocracoke and we've settled on the Ocracoke Harbor Inn as our favorite. The rooms are clean, well appointed and everything works. It's nice to have a kitchen and full sized fridge. It's a great location, they rent bikes and golf carts and you can even charter their boat for fishing.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balto., Md.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We visit almost every year, for two or three days, before heading to Myrtle Beach, SC.
We ride bikes around the island, shop in the little stores dotted throughout the place, and try different restaurants while there too. Fishing on the ocean, or in the sound has been fun.
Golf carts were a big thing this year instead of bikes!! It's a Small fishing island, no resort area, if thats what your looking for,, just family time, which is what I enjoy!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank destin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I been coming to this hotel for the last 10 yrs. The views, sunrises & sunsets are spectacular.
I love the sounds of the ferries coming & going---breathtaking--simply beautiful!

Great for sitting on the deck/balcony rocking in your chairs sipping wine--relaxing your cares away!
Rooms are clean, comfortable, and the staff is very welcoming.

I cannot wait til our next visit!

Room Tip: Call in advance during the summer, but FALL is the best time to be in Ocracoke--very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Staff not very friendly. Poor customer service. "Guy in charge" seemed more concerned about things around the village than the hotel. Lady at the desk seemed to be annoyed with me coming into the office.

We love Ocracoke, but probably won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Nice view......but a smile from the staff doesn't cost anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sethsdad5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
29.3 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
30.4 km away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
29.1 km away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices

Been to Ocracoke Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocracoke Harbor Inn

Property: Ocracoke Harbor Inn
Address: 135 Silver Lake Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Price range (per night): RM357 - RM1,071
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocracoke Harbor Inn overlooks picturesque Silver Lake Harbor in the heart of the Village. Enjoy the scenery from your private deck or relax at water's edge on the docks. The Inn's beautifully appointed 16 rooms and 7 suites provide for a delightful and relaxing vacation surrounded in uncompromising luxury. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast on the waterfront deck and watch the fishing boats depart for the day. Then kick off your shoes and enjoy the laid-back atmosphere of the Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocracoke Harbor Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing