We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$199
US$119
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Inn(Pinehurst)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines(Pinehurst)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$124
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Magnolia Inn(Pinehurst)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
48
33
9
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
33
9
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarolina hotelgolf academypinehurst resorthistoric feelcarolina roomhistoric hotelnice bathroomround of golfsouthern hospitalitydugan's pubbeautiful roomshuttle servicebreakfast buffetcomfortable bedsexcellent staynorth carolinagreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2017

We have enjoyed the Holly Inn for many years and It has always show the Charm it was meant for. The Tavern and 1895 Dinning Room have great selection of wine and food. Great place to stay in the Heart of the Village of Pinehurst.

Room Tip: All have been good for us.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John1149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

If you like historic hotel but do not mind giving up on same of the 21st century amenities, this one is for you. Staff could not have been more friendly. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. However, it was extremely difficult to regulate the temperature in the room. The room was either freezing or extremely hot. We took turns during the night switching between heating the room and cooling the room.

The Pinehurst Spa was first class all the way. We will return to the spa but not this hotel. If I am going to be pampered for a weekend, I want a room to be just as luxurious as rest of the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Fabulous Inn!! The staff were all very friendly. The food for our party was great. The filet was very tender and perfectly cooked. The town is beautiful with lots of cute little shops. Things do shutdown a little early here, so don't wait to walk around town. We did go over to Dugan's Pub at night for some drinks, music and dancing. Music is in the basement and the ceilings are a little low. Really worth the visit.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Chet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

The Holly is part of the Pinehurst Resort. It is a small, quaint old hotel with good Arts&Crafts details. We stayed in room 302. It appeared to have been last updated a number of years ago. Wall paper seams were peeling around the Hvac unit. Poor lighting and no ventilation in the bathroom. TV is small and funky but you came for the golf, right? No coffee or tea in the room and none available except in the bar or restaurant. In spite of these flaws, the room was comfortable. The beds had nice enough linens and duvets. The room was large with 2 closets, a tiny frig, a safe, and USB charging ports. Staff friendly. Shuttle to take you around the resort. Located in the village, it was easy to walk to shopping, restaurants and stroll through the charming residential neighborhoods. I'd always pick the Holly over a soulless chain outside of the village.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank suzanneeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Hi Suzanne,

Thanks for taking the time to review the Holly! We're planning to begin updating the rooms at the beginning of next year. The wallpaper will be fixed and a nice cover is being made for the HVAC unit. We're also adding some additional lighting, new drapery and carpet. We're so glad you enjoy the charm of the Holly and we hope you'll come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

The Pinehurst Resort is terrific for golfers, great courses in every way. Nine eighteen hole courses. We played Nos. 2 (where US Open was played a few years ago), 4, 8 and 9. Each very beautiful, in somewhat different ways. Challenging, interesting, fair, not unduly punitive of stray shots but reward good ones. Beautifully maintained. (By the way, I liked the championship No. 2 less than the other three courses we played. (Playing No. 2 with our package cost $200 extra per golfer.) Excellent practice facilities at each course.

The Resort is first class, perfectly set up for a golf stay. The Resort keeps your clubs after a round and makes sure they are at the right course for your next round. You don't need your car -- the Resort very efficiently provides transportation to anywhere on its grounds -- restaurants, golf, tennis, spa, etc.

We got a package deal, 4 rounds of golf, three breakfasts and three dinners and lodging. Pricey at about $600/day. I think a good value for world class golf, terrific buffet breakfasts, and fine dinners (menu, not buffet) -- very good quality and well prepared steaks, seafood and other dishes.

This is an old resort. The rooms at the Holly were not that special, but very nice, tasteful, comfortable, everything worked. Don't know about the Carolina, which is about $100/day more expensive.

The grounds other than the golf courses are very pretty and impeccably maintained.

The entire staff -- telephone reservations, hotel, golf (great caddies are available at a reasonable price), restaurants -- very professional and nice. Other than the golf staff -- who acted like regular folks -- many staff were sort of corporate-cheerful, which bores me, but as I said, they were very good and seemed like genuinely nice people.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bpk111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews