We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"H" stands for hospitality!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinehurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2017

My husband surprised me with a stay at the Holly Inn as part of a package for Pinehurst Golf Academy. Arriving early on Sunday, the desk attendant Sustainia met me with such a warm welcome and quickly checked me in so I was on time for an early round of golf. Dave cheerfully unloaded my luggage, valeted the car, and put me and my clubs on a shuttle to the club house (that was the last time I saw my car all week!). When I returned later than my dinner reservations, Michael the restaurant manager accommodated me with a later seating so I could shower and change. All-in-all it was a superb introduction to the Holly and a wonderful start to a great week of hospitality at the Holly Inn. The staff was attentive and always greeted me with a smile and an offer to assist with anything.

Golf school kept me busy so I didn't get to take full advantage of Holly's amenities (pool, bar, porches, etc.). My room was on the ground floor. Kingsized bed was very comfortable. The room was nicely decorated, clean, and supplied with lovely products in the bathroom.

I can't say enough about the shuttle service that runs all around the Pinehurst resort area. The staff of friendly drivers were always cheerful and available at a moments notice. It was very easy to get around Pinehurst and I used it 2-4 times a day. Never having to bother with driving or parking made a small tip of $2 each ride the best way to express gratitude for the convenience.

No review of the Holly would be complete without mentioning the 1895 Grill (Holly's restaurant)! The food was part of my package - 3 meals a day! The buffet breakfast was plentiful but special orders were always filled. I never ate lunch here, but the dinners were awesome. Firstly the meals were beautiful, tasty, and cooked perfectly. Secondly there were HUGE! One meal was sufficient for two people to eat and be full. The staff was attentive and friendly.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fawngriffith22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2017

We have enjoyed the Holly Inn for many years and It has always show the Charm it was meant for. The Tavern and 1895 Dinning Room have great selection of wine and food. Great place to stay in the Heart of the Village of Pinehurst.

Room Tip: All have been good for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John1149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

If you like historic hotel but do not mind giving up on same of the 21st century amenities, this one is for you. Staff could not have been more friendly. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. However, it was extremely difficult to regulate the temperature in the room. The room was either freezing or extremely hot. We took turns during the night switching between heating the room and cooling the room.

The Pinehurst Spa was first class all the way. We will return to the spa but not this hotel. If I am going to be pampered for a weekend, I want a room to be just as luxurious as rest of the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Fabulous Inn!! The staff were all very friendly. The food for our party was great. The filet was very tender and perfectly cooked. The town is beautiful with lots of cute little shops. Things do shutdown a little early here, so don't wait to walk around town. We did go over to Dugan's Pub at night for some drinks, music and dancing. Music is in the basement and the ceilings are a little low. Really worth the visit.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Chet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

The Holly is part of the Pinehurst Resort. It is a small, quaint old hotel with good Arts&Crafts details. We stayed in room 302. It appeared to have been last updated a number of years ago. Wall paper seams were peeling around the Hvac unit. Poor lighting and no ventilation in the bathroom. TV is small and funky but you came for the golf, right? No coffee or tea in the room and none available except in the bar or restaurant. In spite of these flaws, the room was comfortable. The beds had nice enough linens and duvets. The room was large with 2 closets, a tiny frig, a safe, and USB charging ports. Staff friendly. Shuttle to take you around the resort. Located in the village, it was easy to walk to shopping, restaurants and stroll through the charming residential neighborhoods. I'd always pick the Holly over a soulless chain outside of the village.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank suzanneeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Hi Suzanne,

Thanks for taking the time to review the Holly! We're planning to begin updating the rooms at the beginning of next year. The wallpaper will be fixed and a nice cover is being made for the HVAC unit. We're also adding some additional lighting, new drapery and carpet. We're so glad you enjoy the charm of the Holly and we hope you'll come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinehurst
1.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
2.7 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Pinehurst
83 reviews
5.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#3 of 12 in Southern Pines
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines
6.9 km away
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
#6 of 12 in Southern Pines
86 reviews
6.2 km away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Southern Pines Aberdeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Resort

Address: 155 Cherokee Rd, Pinehurst, NC 28374-9269
Region: United States > North Carolina > Pinehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Price Range: RM528 - RM2,164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holly is one of the hotels of Pinehurst Resort, located in the center of the charming Village of Pinehurst. Built in 1895, The Holly was Pinehurst's first hotel. Every detail has been attended to inside and on the spacious grounds. Decorating the walls and floors are a series of natural botanical prints and images reminiscent of times gone by. You'll see the fine touches in every nook from the jewel-toned Tiffany lamps to the reading selection in the library to the comfort of a rocking chair in your guest room. It's no wonder the Holly is a Four-Diamond hotel. The 1895 Grille is the Four-Diamond restaurant inside the Holly. There's also the charming Tavern which offers indoor seating and outdoor dining seasonally. Free resort shuttles will transport you across the resort so there is easy access to golf, spa and all amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Hotel Pinehurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing