We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST STAY HERE”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinehurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

When planning our North Carolina vacation, only had 1 night to stay at Pinehurst....decided to opt for the historic Holly Inn at Pinehurst - charming Inn......easy process to check in - we had a tee time in an hour - they told us they would shuttle us from this point on anywhere we wanted to go - parked our car and never moved it until we left. Room was big, comfortable, very nice bathroom with large shelf to hold all essentials. Nice thing about staying at the Holly Inn was the location - directly across from the Pinehurst Village of shops/bars/restaurants. Shops close at 5 pm, so do your exploring early. Golfed course #5 at Pinehurst - all staff friendly - efficient at getting your golf bags from the shuttle onto your cart, which is in a lower level of the clubhouse. This course wasn't that scenic - older condo's so I assume this is one of the older courses......course condition good. Was really hot day, but enjoyed golfing.....took shuttle to the Carolina Hotel and had drinks/dinner in the Ryder Cup Lounge - very good meal - salmon was outstanding......had delicious champagne cocktail on the large wraparound porch prior to dinner. Had B&B package, so breakfast was included - at either the Holly Inn or the Carolina Room - we opted to shuttle to the Carolina Room - beautiful room - have to say the breakfast was a little disappointing as items were not very hot. Did like the egg personally prepared for me (omelettes/eggs to order station.) Would love to come back to Pinehurst and would for sure stay at The Holly Inn!

Stayed: July 2017
2  Thank WLM1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Comfortable room recently redecorated in the Arts and Crafts style that we love. We were changed from the first room we were shown with no questions asked when we said we preferred a different room. All staff helpful, friendly, and accommodating. Pretty side patio for drinks or lunch. Private clean pool area. Ample parking. Walking distance to the shops and spa and to the Carolina where we also ate, (Wonderful food and great service.) but complimentary and fast shuttle makes it so you don't have to walk if you don't want to. We will return to this relaxing spot.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank debra3472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

The hotel is like walking back in time - but with all the current day conveniences. Our rooms had been recently updated. The staff were very friendly and eager to help. Their restaurant was not open, but the tavern had wonderful food. It was an easy walk to the Carolina Hotel, the spa, the village, and the big swimming pool. Free shuttles were provided to the golf course.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

My husband surprised me with a stay at the Holly Inn as part of a package for Pinehurst Golf Academy. Arriving early on Sunday, the desk attendant Sustainia met me with such a warm welcome and quickly checked me in so I was on time for an early round of golf. Dave cheerfully unloaded my luggage, valeted the car, and put me and my clubs on a shuttle to the club house (that was the last time I saw my car all week!). When I returned later than my dinner reservations, Michael the restaurant manager accommodated me with a later seating so I could shower and change. All-in-all it was a superb introduction to the Holly and a wonderful start to a great week of hospitality at the Holly Inn. The staff was attentive and always greeted me with a smile and an offer to assist with anything.

Golf school kept me busy so I didn't get to take full advantage of Holly's amenities (pool, bar, porches, etc.). My room was on the ground floor. Kingsized bed was very comfortable. The room was nicely decorated, clean, and supplied with lovely products in the bathroom.

I can't say enough about the shuttle service that runs all around the Pinehurst resort area. The staff of friendly drivers were always cheerful and available at a moments notice. It was very easy to get around Pinehurst and I used it 2-4 times a day. Never having to bother with driving or parking made a small tip of $2 each ride the best way to express gratitude for the convenience.

No review of the Holly would be complete without mentioning the 1895 Grill (Holly's restaurant)! The food was part of my package - 3 meals a day! The buffet breakfast was plentiful but special orders were always filled. I never ate lunch here, but the dinners were awesome. Firstly the meals were beautiful, tasty, and cooked perfectly. Secondly there were HUGE! One meal was sufficient for two people to eat and be full. The staff was attentive and friendly.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fawngriffith22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

We have enjoyed the Holly Inn for many years and It has always show the Charm it was meant for. The Tavern and 1895 Dinning Room have great selection of wine and food. Great place to stay in the Heart of the Village of Pinehurst.

Room Tip: All have been good for us.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John1149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinehurst
1.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
2.7 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Pinehurst
82 reviews
3.3 km away
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
#6 of 12 in Southern Pines
86 reviews
5.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#3 of 12 in Southern Pines
145 reviews
4.7 km away
Residence Inn Pinehurst Southern Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Resort

Address: 155 Cherokee Rd, Pinehurst, NC 28374-9269
Region: United States > North Carolina > Pinehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Price Range: RM524 - RM2,148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holly is one of the hotels of Pinehurst Resort, located in the center of the charming Village of Pinehurst. Built in 1895, The Holly was Pinehurst's first hotel. Every detail has been attended to inside and on the spacious grounds. Decorating the walls and floors are a series of natural botanical prints and images reminiscent of times gone by. You'll see the fine touches in every nook from the jewel-toned Tiffany lamps to the reading selection in the library to the comfort of a rocking chair in your guest room. It's no wonder the Holly is a Four-Diamond hotel. The 1895 Grille is the Four-Diamond restaurant inside the Holly. There's also the charming Tavern which offers indoor seating and outdoor dining seasonally. Free resort shuttles will transport you across the resort so there is easy access to golf, spa and all amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Hotel Pinehurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing