We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!”
Review of Red Monkey Tavern

Red Monkey Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Monkey Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #335 of 1,609 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: US$5 - US$100
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

The food is reasonably priced. A nice sized burger and fries was around $10 before tax. The drinks were good as well. Couldn't finish and has to take the rest home.

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank dennikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2018

To start with, it should be a sign when there is at least a 30 minute wait to get into the place next door. Secondly, when we walked in and it was empty, all of the staff were at the bar and stared at us, took a few minutes to get someone to seat us. It took a while for a server to even come take our drink orders, as a matter of fact, we were even ready to place our meal order by this time. After our meals were brought to us, we didn't see our server again, and when we did, my wife ordered another glass of wine. 10 minutes later, we asked for it again, and it never got ordered. After we finished our meals, we wanted to get desert, so we continued to wait to see someone. Finally, my wife got up and took her own meal plate to the kitchen and told them we would like a peice of carrot cake with two forks. That at least arrived in somewhat of a timely fashion. Had to go ask for the check, again, all of the staff continued to stand around the bar while what appeared to be the manager was stuffing his face. Again, this place only had a few patrons, took over 10 minutes to have our credit card run and get my receipt. We spent over an hour and a half in this place when it should have been no more than half the time. By the way, the prepared the wrong dish for the people dining next to us.

Now for a pro: When we did get our stuff, it was delicious.

I should have read the reviews before stepping into this place, would have saved myself the irritation.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

It was so frustrating. We were in the restaurant for an hour for just a burger. Seriously......I have never had such bad service. We were so close to walking out. If our food had not shown up when it did, it would have come to an empty table. It is so sad. The food was great. The atmosphere was amazing. Everything else sucked! Don’t waste your time.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank larals2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

We went there on a Friday night and should have none something was wrong when we walked in and the place was a ghost town. We were seated right away and our drink order was taken a few minutes later, then the waiting game began. 10 mins later our drinks were brought to us and our order was taken, 20-30 mins later our food arrived, then another 20-30 mins went by before our waiter stopped again it was during this time we could hear a shouting match coming from the kitchen. Everyone in the restaurant could hear it, the bartender laughed and said it happens all the time lol. 20-30 more minutes go by and we’re ready to get the heck out of there and our waiter finally stops hands us the bill and vanishes again, by now my wife is pissed and flags down the other waiter so we can pay and leave. 10 mins later our waiter shows up with my card and receipt . Two waiters on a busy Friday night = Slow service, the place is cool looking but they really need to get there act together. Don’t waste your time or money.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Q6950DKjohnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Out waiter was excellent! Very friendly and frequently returned to Chevy to see if we needed anything! Food was very good. A little upscale for lunch with a 4 and 7 year old but they did have a kids menu. Seating is not really comfortable with round booths and chairs. Felt a little closed in.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Red Monkey Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing