We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible customer service and unclean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Ranked #41 of 87 Hotels in Raleigh
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We checked into the hotel and went out with some friends. By the time we were back, it was late and we got in the bed and there was a wet stain in the made bed. We called down and explained what we found and all they did was drop off new sheets for us to change ourselves. The next morning it took 3 front desk conversations to get the female manager to speak with us and all she did was thank us for the information. After pushing further, she said she would call back and was surprised they didn't offer a different room. She promised to call after looking into our problems - rust coming out of the sink, clogged drain, hairs on the floor in the bathroom and the wet stain in the made bed. 2 days later, no call. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to pay for a clean room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaitElizRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 358 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed here for one night while visiting downtown Raleigh. Chose this hotel because it was priced much lower than the other downtown hotels. Our room was on the 16th floor with a nice view of downtown. While the hotel is older and has not been updated, everything was in working condition. Room was ample size, neat and clean. Bed was comfortable. Television was not a new flat screen, but had many channels and HBO. This is a great location right in the center of downtown. Parking was easy and free under the hotel. This hotel is not five star but for the price you don't expect that. If you want a great value downtown, don't hesitate to book this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golfer082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We chose the Clarion for its proximity to NC State University. While the building is showing signs of wear, the room was large, comfortable and clean. Not the newest or best hotel by any means, it serves its purpose and you can't beat the price. Close to lots of restaurants and bars and the state capitol so there's lots to do within walking distance. Staff was very friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kcarrsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This hotel must have really been something special when it was first built - a round hotel within walking distance of the state capitol and downtown! It is still convenient to state capitol buildings,as well as many restaurants and bars but it is showing its age in places, while it sometimes seems to provide a resting place for folks who simply want to hang out a while. Front desk staff are friendly and helpful. Beds are comfortable and clean and bathtubs have been refinished; it's just too bad that's so obvious! Room shape is in keeping with the shape of the hotel and take some getting used to, but chatting with and watching the omelet flipping cook in the restaurant in the morning should put everything in perspective! And when you hear the trains' whistles in the night, consider that downtown-hotel-ambiance. :-) .Hotel parking is free and very convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms up higher may mean the train sounds are less perhaps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandygrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My hubby and I reserved through hotels.com. The people hanging in the lobby were shady at best which should have prepared us for what we were about to see in the rooms. Got to the room. Carpet stained and falling apart all around the room. A tattered ironing board propped up in the tiniest bathroom I have ever seen. The bathtub was stained from years of scummy feet in it. My husband and I couldn't get out fast enough. So, went to the front desk. VERY nice man, David, was apologetic and gave us another room. UGH!!! Go to other room. WORSE! Huge holes in "comforter" stained carpet, used water bottle from previous occupants on ac unit. The mattress and box springs in both rooms were exposed, the fitted sheets barely covered the mattress and the box springs weren't even covered. We called hotels.com who gave us a FULL refund in 5 minutes. PLEASE be warned...do not stay in this filthy rat hole. Not worth the views, location, etc....you may bring home a few friends in the form of bed bugs and fleas!! We were only going to be there for one night and couldn't do it. We have never walked out on a booking before and we have stayed in some dives!! But this took the cake. Heed our warning!

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottsdaleHotmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.8 km away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#31 of 87 in Raleigh
133 reviews
1.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Residence Inn Raleigh Downtown
1.9 km away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#19 of 87 in Raleigh
210 reviews
0.9 km away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown

Address: 320 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27603-1786 (Formerly Clarion Hotel State Capital)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 87 Hotels in Raleigh
Price Range: RM 472 - RM 701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly rebranded to the Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, you will find all of the modern conveniences within our historic building located in the heart of Downtown Raleigh. Just blocks from NC's State Capital, Raleigh's Convention Center, the performing arts, fine dining and nightlife. Our hotel has completed its full renovation including guestrooms, restaurant and lounge, business center, fitness center, exterior entrance and all function space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Raleigh
Clarion State Capital
Clarion Raleigh
Raleigh Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing