We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best camping ground even for tent camping”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rodanthe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rodanthe Watersports and Campground
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Rodanthe Watersports is the #1 WATERFRONT Campground in the OBX! Tent camping on the sound with the most amazing view, especially sunset! make sure to bring your camera! The Ocean is a hop skip and a jump if you want to surf the waves. The sound is perfect for kids, kayaking, paddleboarding, and my favorite Wave Riding!!! The Jetski was perfect for my son and I, had a blast! My 11 year old son drove the jetski like a motorcycle on the water creating waves! Its a friendly family owned business, you need to make reservations in advance for sure, its not large.. but its one of the best camp sites ever! CLEAN Washrooms, showers indoor and outdoor, hot water, electricity, fire pits... the most amazing adventurous place with discount rentals of kayaking, jetski wave riders, paddle boards, surf boards, etc... list goes on! If you want an amazing camping experience right on the water, then I suggest you head on down to Rodanthe Watersports!

Room Tip: Tent and RV waterfront camping with the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank LaurieSVBnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

This is a great little camping spot on the sound. The campsite is clean, the views are scenic, the staff polite, and it has all the facilities you'd want in a site. The only downside is that it's a small campground so the sites are pretty close. That said, the crowd here has been quiet and noise/privacy have not been an issue. If I were on a trip with a lady friend, however, I may seek a more secluded set up

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank kyle f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

most scenic sunrises/sunset views from the sound. Sites close together, but that didn't matter. Fun wading(?) around the sound side . nice breezes kept the bugs away, but you have to make sure your tent is staked down real well, or else it acts like a sail!Can rent canoes and such on site. Would definitely camp here again!

Stayed: July 2016
Thank jrwest100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

For the money, don't think you can beat it. We, unfortunately were given a side site (next to the cematary), which was ridden with bugs, due to all the foilage behind it. We were eaten alive. The waterfront sites may be less buggy. Showers (outside) I preferred. Could stand a little updating, but definately good for the money

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank charlieboy1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

We have a tiny teardrop and just pulled in and took a chance this place would have space. Even though they set us up with a side site, they came to get us to let us move up to the waterfront when someone left. It is a small campground and that's what we love about it. I've seen the sea of RV's at the bigger establishments down the road and that doesn't interest me. The staff was friendly and the other guests were courteous too. This is on the water's edge of the sound. To complain about the wind at one of the world's premier kitesurfing destinations is a bit ignorant of the geography and your surroundings. If you are tent camping, be prepared with appropriate gear. You may even want to try one of the sites beside the bath house instead of on the water as there's more protection from the wind.

This is the type of place for those who understand what island life is like. It's hot in the summer-it's the south. It's windy-you're on the water on a narrow island. There's bugs (although we've had no problem with them)- you're outside. If you're looking for cozy resort creature comforts, a pool and putt-putt, go down the road. If you're looking for the real deal, chilling out, and watching the wonderful sunset and nightly kitesurfing show, this is for you.

By the way, prices are great!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank PixieSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rodanthe Watersports and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodanthe Watersports and Campground

Address: 24170 Highway 12, Hatteras Island, Rodanthe, NC 27968
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Rodanthe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Rodanthe
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Rodanthe Watersports And Campground Hotel Rodanthe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing