We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
21
14
5
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
14
5
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2016

From the street not a stricking place, but inside i felt like at home, very cosy and tastefully, a very special place, very good vegan fresh meals with, a great view at the river, in the sunny days i could stay all the day outside trying all the home made icecreams.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank infoJ9725FA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015

This hotel far exceeded my expectations. The food was some of the best I had while in Germany. No fried pork here, also no Wifi (although they will let you use their computer in a pinch), just a great place to detox, unwind and get some GREAT exercise hiking in the exceptional National Park. There are a couple of trail heads right across the street from the hotel. There are serious hikers who go here and weather you want a 3 hour hike or a full day hike the area provides for all. There are many beautiful sandstone rock formations in the area that reward your climb (some can be intense-in a good way!) and the trails are clearly marked. I feel like we were the only non-German tourists in the area which was refreshing and the people we met seemed impressed that we had chosen this hotel for our holiday. Between the pleasant rooms, with tasteful and interesting decor (big images made from old postcards of the area) wonderful hospitality and the very excellent food I can't reccommend this little hotel enough. Oh! And the also have a Naturopath on staff who gives massages and other natural treatments on the top floor of the hotel. If you are looking for a "Bio" (green) experience in this area this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lauraad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel provided the perfect balance at the conclusion of a 1000 km bicycle trip from Hamburg.
Quietly located at the Elbe river surrounded by the famous Elbsandstein Gebirge it offers small but comfortable rooms, a beautiful cosy lounge and fantastic Bio cuisine at the Strandgut restaurant. The chef created a surprise menue for us that was a unique experience.
Romantic seating provided with a Lagerfeuer at the river complemented by Bio cocktails.

The Elbe River Tour is a "must do" experience by bicycle as it showcases the green, friendly and hospitable part of Germany without mass tourism. The York hotel in Hamburg and the Helvetia in Schmilka are good hotels from star to finish.

Room Tip: Ask the chef to compose a bio menue for you. A unique experience unless you are a daily bio eater.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wolfgang13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We have spend 4 days in this wonderful hotel. Located just right on the Czech border, it allows you to explore the both worlds of national park Czech saxon Switzerland. The hotel provides much better value than many of the more expensive hotels on the Czech side. Everything is just wonderful - great breakfast, organic garden, sauna, tasty organic dinner. Nice rooms, privilleged settings just on the bank of river Elbe/Labe, walking/biking/driving disnance to any major attraction. We just had a blast. The only small issue is proximity to railway tracks on the other side of the river - but we both like trains and this was not a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the new building if possible. The rooms in the villa next door are nice as well, but not the same standard (but at lower price).
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clovicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

nice sunlight, safe place, good restaurant, very eco atmosphere, small rooms, soft beds, would go back again. a bit pricy. but worthy. Lamb feeding and catching , loved by my daughter.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews