We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$178
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Forsthaus Hotel(Bad Schandau)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elbhotel Bad Schandau(Bad Schandau)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Lindenhof(Bad Schandau)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Schrammsteinbaude(Bad Schandau)
Booking.com
View Deal
Ferienhaus Ostrauer Hof(Bad Schandau)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Grundmuehle(Bad Schandau)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
91
62
42
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
62
42
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelthe rivercharming townwonderful areafive starnational parktop floormassagebankstouristspaelbecountrysideperformancegermany
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017

This hotel is very old and has been enlarged to on a number of occasions.
It was badly damaged in the 2013 flood and has been refurnished to a reasonable level.
For example the swimming poor on the 4th floor= top floor is good, but the water temperature 28 a little too cold. There is a very nice sauna a steam room.
The breakfast is good quality self service but boring we were there for 12 days all the same and no salad. This is not a 5* hotel breakfast and it costs EUR 25 / person.
On the last morning we had to leave early and asked for a packed breakfast -m one nice sandwich banana, apple cereal bar and a bottle of water does not = EUR 25!

Dinner is good quality but very expensive not 5*
There is no kettle or coffee / tea facilities in the bedroom not 5+

Room Tip: Request an view of River Elbe and a room near a lift
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mervynr49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian L, Manager at Hotel Elbresidenz an der Therme, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay in our hotel.

Your comments concerning the quality of service in our hotel are very helpful. We will be pleased to implement the necessary changes to the best our abilities. Concerning our buffet breakfast, we will be glad to add the components recommended by you and also the packed breakfast.

Again, we would like to thank you for your notes. We would be glad to welcome you again in our hotel.

We wish you all the best as well as health and happiness.

Kind regards,
Christian Lohmann
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

When i changed the pre-ordered room type, the hotel charged me extra 100 Euro per night, and with it doubled the room fee. This happened in spite of agreed 20 Euro extra payment, for the change, when i arrived. This i call a tourist trap.

It was supposed to be a wellness hotel, but practically without any wellness facility. I got a very expensive massage, that was the worst i ever had in my life. The swimming pool is small and filled with people. Very nice fitness, but didn't see anybody uses it, since it is behind the reception of wellness, and not obviously reachable. Otherwise in walking distance is a very nice thermal wellness center, to where the hotel directs the guests, but it is not indoors. Should i count it as the Hotel facility? Probably not.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

This is a well appointed spa hotel in Saxony. Situated on the banks of the Elbe River and close to excellent hiking. Dining rooms are lovely and rooms are very nice. Situated in the middle of the charming town of Bad Schandau.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CRC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Impressive setting right in the water. Large modern rooms.
Swimming pool is only indoors which is a pity on a glorious sunny day.
Restaurant service is very formal ( actually welcome was so rude we walked out, ate next door at Elbe hotel and had a great experience).
Our room at the back was very hot with no AC. Windows open on a busy road, so impossible to sleep. Mattress was a disaster anyway.
If you are under 50 years old, avoid you will feel strange here. Also free wifi didn't work most of the time.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed, together with our friends, for 5 nights at the Elbresidenz. A beautiful hotel, which is right by the river.
The rooms were spacious and decorated to high standard. The breakfast was amazing, there was nothing that wasn't on offer.
Staff were helpful and we had a great time.
The hotel only opened last year, after flood proofing, and there were a couple of minor niggles. None if these spoilt our stay and I'm sure with time these will be ironed out.
The pool area was spotless and the massages we had were outstanding.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MelnNige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews