We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best place to stay in Makry Gialos!”
other travellers have booked this property
Time to relax
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Time to relax
0nly a few steps to our stunning pool Relax, play games, or watch dvds in our lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Time to relax
0nly a few steps to our stunning pool
Relax, play games, or watch dvds in our lounge
Dine in style
Makrigialos Blue Flag beach - playtime for the children
Enjoy the local taverna hospitality - the sunbeds are yours to use for free
Front balcony - perfect for drinks and pool watching
Private wrap around balcony for sunbathing or watching fantastic sunsets
Sunshine roof terrace with panoramic sea and mountain views
Makrigialos promenade is the place to meet and make friends
Fishing trips from the village harbour; tavernas are willing to cook your catch of the day
It is always a pleasure to return home
Swim to your heart's content
Spacious corner plot
Alfresco dining is wonderful
A home from home for a perfect holiday break
Sitia - a great day out!
Siesta in air conditioned comfort in the master bedroom
Villa Saffia's comfortable twin bedroom
One of our many local beaches for a morning dip
Everything you need for dining at home
Diaskari beach and taverna; a favourite spot for snorkelling
A holiday with memories to treasure
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Makry-Gialos, Lasithi Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jackovsky
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Makry Gialos!”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

So glad we stayed here. A fantastic set of villas and a gorgeous pool and grounds not to mention how lovely it is inside. I wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else in the town with a family. Location is perfect as can walk or drive into the harbour and great restaurants in walking distance too. All amenities are on the doorstep inclusions great bakeries and larger stores a little further away. The owners are great and give you loads of information before you arrive and Rosemary is around when you get here should you need help or advice. The villa is very clean and well equipped. Perfect for a couple or a small family or even friends. You could even rent villa Christina if holidaying with another family. We stayed in May and only 4/5 villas occupied at once so very peaceful (20 in total). No noise from bars but close to the action if you want it. Come here and sample the real Crete not all inclusive resorts killing the tourist industry. You won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate it so much when our guests have a wonderful holiday and want to share it on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you had a great time. Kind regards, Jack and Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ST99
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday at superb Villa”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

From the initial enquiry about dates & cost, to our arrival & week stay, the customer service from Jack & Christine has been excellent. Quick replies to emails, flexibility & car hire all made the overall booking easy & stress free. The villa is of a very good standard, well equipped, with plenty of room for 4 adults. We loved that it's right next to the lovely big pool (which we had to ourselves every day!) & we could just wander in & out for drinks & snacks. Grapevines is perfectly situated for numerous local tavernas & shops, all extremely hospitable with superb food. There is also a fab quiet beach just a 5 min stroll away, again with a great little taverna. We had freshly caught fish & lobster there one lunchtime - superb! The only downside is its quite a drive from the airport, but the roads are very good and the scenery is stunning! We will most definitely be back.....but next time for longer!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are delighted you had such a great holiday at Grapevines and enjoyed the hospitality of Makrigialos so much. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards, Jack and Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ella H
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Villa and Complex”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The villa was everything as advertised in a lovely clean, modern complex with a beautiful large pool. Jack and Christine were a pleasure to deal with as they were very helpful, and Rosemary was always on hand if you needed an answer for any queries. It was nice to sit on the main beach outside Revan's cocktail bar which was also well worth a visit, with cheap snacks and free use of the sun beds all day. Gusto's restaurant was never disappointing - we ate here a few times during our weeks stay and the food was always delicious with great service. We had a lovely relaxing week in the sun!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2014
Thank you for your review of our Villa Saffia. It's great to receive your confirmation that what we advertise is what you actually experienced and enjoyed, i.e. an ideal villa for your holiday in friendly Makrigialos!
Many thanks, Jack and Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MinnieChe...
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Everything you could ask for and more - a perfect end of season break”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We wanted something a little different to our last couple of all-inclusive breaks . Through a personal recommendation, we came across this absolute gem of a modern complex in an authentic picture postcard fishing village setting. Booked flights to Heraklion and a car for the week and it could not have worked out better. The apartments were modern and spotless and the owners obviously place great importance on guest satisfaction. Looking through the guest book, virtually every suggestion from previous guests had already been implemented. Even though we arrived just as some of the bars and restaurants were beginning to close for the season, there was plenty for us to see and do and plenty of choice for eating and drinking out. Stay here and you'll be pointed towards all the right bars, restaurants and day trips by the owners or by the on site manager, Rosemary. Plenty of nearby places to visit for a day or even half a day. We were very pleasantly surprised that such value for money still exists in the Eurozone. Would definitely come again and would recommend to anyone looking for a great apartment in a great location, away from the usual tourist traps.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great villa in a great setting
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2013
Many thanks for your review. It was a pleasure to read your enthusiastic comments about Villa Saffia and the local village. We are delighted you had a great holiday and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave B
Buckingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would recommend you stay at Villa Saffia”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful holiday in Makrigialos.

The villa was perfect, comfortable, spacious, well equipped with extremely efficient air conditioning. The villa is in an excellent location and both the pool and surrounding areas kept clean and tidy.

I would recommend Villa Saffia to anybody who wants to spend a week just chilling out, or as a base for exploring the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location,pool
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review, we appreciate your recommendation
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing