We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overbooked!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2017

They hadn't got the room we booked. My husband and I are on a honeymoon traveling around australia. We were planning to stay a night in Robe. We checked TripAdvisor and we saw they offered a nice price for a room, but for some extra dollars they had a room whit jetted tub available. We decided to go for the room whit the jetted tub. When we arrived we got the key and the manager didn't mention anything. When we were in the room we discovered there was no jetted tub. We went back to the manager and he told us he was overbooked. He didn't offer us anything to make up the mistake, he pointed to the website and mentioned we should contact them. Then we checked their own website and even on their own website they said the only had a room whit a jetted tub left, which was still available to book. We decided not to go back to the manager, because it was clear we weren't getting the room whit the jetted tub and probably we would get only a fight out of it. But we decided we won't leave it unmentioned so here is our review on TripAdvisor!

Room Tip: Choose the cheapest room, you probably won't get wat you booked, so paying more isn't worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raponsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWRMM, Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

first of all your room situation was explained at check in, that somehow your room was available on line, but in fact it was booked. This is a computer or channel manager issue via expedia, there system had not updated our information. I offered an upgrade to a two bedroom apartment which are bigger rooms or a refund,since the room whit the jetted spa was not available.
I do apologies that you did not get the room you asked for, but it was out of our hands as mentioned it was a computer issue, at which I have contacted to resolve. I am sorry that it was disappointing for yourself but you were offered a refund and we did give you another room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2017

We stayed overnight in a 2 bedroom self contained apartment which was perfect for our needs.
The layout is excellent as the kitchen and lounge room separate the 2 bedrooms. Yes it is a bit dated but spotlessly clean and very functional. It is definitely big enough for an extended stay as there is everything you'd need including a dining table, sofa, TV and large bathroom.
I'm glad I chose this motel for our stay as the location is perfect and I can recommend the chinese restaurant across the road for a meal.
For travellers like us driving from Adelaide to the Great Ocean Road, this is an ideal first night stop.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank PJswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWRMM, Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Thanks so much for your lovely review it is really appreciated and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one Sunday night as we passed through. The room had two bedroom and a living area and was a good size. Clean but in need of updated fittings.
Location is right in the heart of the beach, restaurants, and activities and they have a large free DVD loan service which is a big help! Would stay again.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWRMM, Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thanks for the review, we will start a refurbishment in the winter this year, the process will take some time as busy tourism seasons restrict the time frames to get all the jobs done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

A standard motel, staff friendly but room very cramped and basic with a small ensuite with a sliding bathroom door that was not on a runner so flapped about, back of front door plywood and just generally not great. Breakfast was included, instant co0ffee and a slice of white bread and jam, toaster set off smoke alarm! Don't bother, go elsewhere

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelmsfordPhilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWRMM, Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

thankyou for your kind words,next time you need assistance in making some toast without burning it please don't hesitate to ask,enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We had booked the Melaleuca for an overnight stay travelling from Melbourne to Adelaide via the Great Ocean Road. It's true to say that the place has seen better days- the toilet and shower area were about the same size as our caravan, I couldn't open the wardrobe door as it was off its rails BUT it was very clean and the bed was beautifully comfortable with bedside tables and lamps on both sides (which is often not the case!). Tea and coffee were supplied and the reception was extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again for an overnighter!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuneWiliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWRMM, Manager at Best Western Melaleuca Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Thanks for your response, feedback is always appreciated.
Current owners have organised for a refurbishment in the winter of 2017 in the standard motel rooms. Unfortunately the size of the bathrooms in the standard motels we are not able to change but with a refurbishment we may be able to make them appear larger.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future and as mentioned the rooms may have been upgraded by your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robe
38.8 km away
Kingston Lobster Motel
Kingston Lobster Motel
#2 of 2 in Kingston SE
55 reviews
1.3 km away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
374 reviews
0.5 km away
Harbour View Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
0.7 km away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 7 in Robe
179 reviews
0.3 km away
Robe Haven Motel
Robe Haven Motel
#6 of 7 in Robe
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Melaleuca Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Melaleuca Motel

Address: 20 Smillie St, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia (Formerly Best Western Melaleuca Motel & Apartments)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Price Range: RM374 - RM585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Melaleuca Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION! LOCATION! LOCATION! Arguably in the best position in Robe with a short walk to the CBD, beach & restaurants we have rooms to suit all travelers from our standard rooms to spacious family 1 and 2 bedroom suites. All rooms have FREE WIFI, FREE Fox sports, FREE DVD Library, queen sized beds & air-conditioning; some with spa baths. Get in quick & come and stay at the best location in Robe; it’s so easy to walk everywhere from here! Rated number 1 in Robe by TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Melaleuca Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Robe
Robe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing